We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Wings Around”

Archibald & Woodrow's Barbeque
Ranked #12 of 289 Restaurants in Tuscaloosa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
Description: 205 333 3622
Restaurant details
Description: 205 333 3622
Charlotte
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best Wings Around”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Please don't worry about the look from the outside. Park your car and go inside. What you will find is the friendliest staff, and great food. Wings were delicious. As was the pork. Can't wait to go back next time we are in town.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daja607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    49
    14
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Awesome pork butt, friendly southern hospitality.”
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Had lunch here on a rainy day. The place was very crowded. We ordered ribs, and pork butt. We've eaten at the other BBQ places in T-town, and we think this is the best!
The ribs and sauce were superb! The pork butt was moist, tender and had excellent flavor! We had sides-collard greens needed a bit more seasoning, fried green tomatoes were good, but could have been crispier, black-eyed peas were delicious. Our waitress was happy, friendly and glad to be at work. The pit master here is doing a fabulous job. Definitely will return. Roll Tide!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rancher4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best. Barbeque. Ever.”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Don't be put off by the dilapidated outside. Just go in and order, and there you will find some of the nicest people on earth. They'll even help you figure out how much to order if you're not sure, and they are always right. The ribs don't need any sauce, they're perfect as is. Of course, if you're into gilding the lily, go right ahead because the sauce is fabulous. I cannot wait to go back. Your best bet will be to eat at one of the outside picnic tables. The inside is very, very small.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelgirl12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southlake, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“You know it's good bbq when . . .”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

The building is tiny . . . and you wonder if you are in the right spot . . .
But the smoke coming from the roof tells you something great is cooking inside . . .
There is a steady stream coming in for takeout . . .

The ribs were fall off the bone . . . with the more vinegary sauce that is characteristic of the south.
The beans were great, as were the mashed potatoes . . . and the banana pudding. Huge portions, and several pieces of bread to soak up the bbq sauce leftover!

We made the rounds of bbq joints in a two day trip to Tuscaloosa - and this was by far one of the most authentic. I love little hole in the wall places, and we were not disappointed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VAfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, PA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“True Southern BBQ”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Just stopped here for lunch. I ordered the small mix plate which comes with ribs & pulled pork. This BBQ has just the right amount of spice to the sauce and the smoke rings on the ribs go all the way through the meat. Don't forget the sweet tea!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Archibald & Woodrow's Barbeque also viewed

 
 

Been to Archibald & Woodrow's Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing