We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious, reasonably priced sushi”

Ichiban Japanese Grill & Sushi
Ranked #117 of 289 Restaurants in Tuscaloosa
Cuisines: Japanese
Description: Business hour: Tues-Sun: Lunch 11:00-2:30 (closed monday lunch) Mon-Thurs: Dinner 5:00-9:00 Fri-Sat: Dinner 5:00- 9:30 Tel: 205-752-8844
Restaurant details
Description: Business hour: Tues-Sun: Lunch 11:00-2:30 (closed monday lunch) Mon-Thurs: Dinner 5:00-9:00 Fri-Sat: Dinner 5:00- 9:30 Tel: 205-752-8844
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious, reasonably priced sushi”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Next to Chuck's, the best sushi in town. Unlike Chuck's, Ichiban is open for lunch and reasonably priced.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Debbi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    4
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
birmingham
2 reviews
“The one”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I go to Ichebon atleast once a week .The staff is very friendly and the food is great! It is a great place to take family and friends! The Sushi is World class

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank daytrippin365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“great food and service”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

walked to this little locally owned restaurant. was kinda apprehensive when i got there as its in an old strip mall and needs some care. i changed my mind once inside. appears to be frequented by local college kids and the greeting from the staff was friendly. had seaweed salad and what a large portion for a really cheap price. saki was good and hot and the sushi was good. service was impeccible and not complaints,. a great experience.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Randyinhsv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Maybe I went before they got the kinks worked out”
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Let me start by saying my one and only experience with Ichiban was fairly early in its existence a couple of years ago. However the experience left me never wanting to give it a second try.They may have worked out the kinks by now, but I can't recommend it on my experience.

The food was extremely bland. The setting was very outdated and, quite honestly, dirty. Our service was mediocre at best. Unfortunately there is just not much good I can say about it. They have stuck around for several years which surprises me based on my experience, so maybe things have improved. For their own sake, I hope so!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TuscaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuscaloosa
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best kept secret in Tuscaloosa”
Reviewed July 19, 2011

This is the most obscure little restaurant in town, but its also the cheapest and best Japanese food you'll find. This place is tiny and you would never notice it if you didn't know where to look! But inside its immaculately clean, with great service and great food. There is no hibachi grill, which is actually preferable if you love Japanese food, but are tired of the entertainment and just want something to eat. Prices are very reasonable.... typical teriyaki chicken or shrimp plate runs about $8. You can get steak, chicken, shrimp, soup, salad, and various sushis. Try the Tuscaloosa roll... cooked shrimp inside and its fabulous! (Side note- they're closed on Mondays!)

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank lyndseyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ichiban Japanese Grill & Sushi also viewed

 
Tuscaloosa, AL
 
Tuscaloosa, AL
 

Been to Ichiban Japanese Grill & Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing