We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay for a good price!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ambassador Inn&Suites Tuscaloosa
Ranked #22 of 35 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stay for a good price!”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Pleasantly surprised at how nice this inn was. Stayed here as a stopover for one night- clean rooms w/ a very comfortable bed and nice pillows. The inn looks new and was really nice. There was a great array of food available for the continental breakfast. Would definitely stay here if I found myself in town again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    23
    13
    5
    7
See reviews for
25
25
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jackson MS
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Our room had five lamps and good lighting in the foyer and the bathroom - much better lighting than what we usually see in hotels. The bed had a nice assortment of pillows - not all super stuffed like we normally find. When you first sit on one of the beds, you might say "uh oh!" because it seems to be a hard ridge around the edge of the bed and a squashy middle. Nevertheless, we thought the bed slept very well. If you need a very firm mattress you probably wouldn't like it. I don't know about other room doors but we always had to pull hard and slam to get ours to lock when we were going out. The shower has what is supposed to be anti-slip strips but an older traveler would still want to be careful getting in and out of the shower.

We thought the breakfast area was nice and clean - it has a sink, too - makes perfect sense to me but you don't find that in all hotel breakfast areas. Laundry area is nice, parking is very convenient to use and all the staff members we met were very nice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmc223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida Panhandle
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Stayed for 3 nights. Overall was happy. rooms clean, spacious, refrig/micro and staff was friendly. Good hotels in Tuscaloosa are very limited. Most everything is budget. The Ambassador is a nice new addition. However, they are a new mini chain, and they need to focus.
Here are my suggestions for improvement.
1) Business center. Ok, there is one computer. That's ok, but there is only 1 chair. Buy another $59 office supply store chair, please? Hotel has tacky signs up like "You break You buy" if you sit on the desk. Well, think about it hotel, why are people sitting on the counter - because there is not a second chair ! Many couples check their email together. Solution is so easy. Also would be nice place for people to use their notebook computer in lobby, because otherwise there is no table to put it on.
2) Breakfast center. Poor design. Most new hotels make this a side area off the lobby that is open all the time. Then they have locking cabinets below where the staff stashes all the breakfast items after breakfast. Instead this hotel chooses to cram it in a small room and lock the room except during breakfast hours. Many times, one guest in the party wants to take a nap, so it is nice to be able to go down to lobby and sit in breakfast area and do some work on notebook computer (to hotels credit, they did nicely open the breakfast area for me on request - maybe they can't trust their guests? It was not like I was gonna steal some Frosted Flakes.
3) Breakfast. Get some proteins. Breakfast was all carbs. Eggs and/or Yogurt would have been nice, and are not that expensive.
4) Lobby Closed 1030pm-630am, even to hotel guests.

Maybe I am being too critical,but I think this hotel has potential, they just need to make a few easy changes (mainly buy a second business center chair and keep the breakfast center open 24 hours and just lock up the breakfast items)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KARSTENfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed September 27, 2011

I have stayed here every year since they opened. The room is always clean the staff is friendly. Since there is no bar or restaurant on site, it is a nice, quiet place to rest. However the are many restaurants close by (every thing from McDonalds to Lone Star). I have stayed in some high end hotels in Tuscaloosa, but they are only more expensive and not any nicer.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pineville
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Clean, conveniently located. Great price. Only down was they had on their Alziers or whatever News channel. This is the US

Room Tip: Use coupons
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Funnybamagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joe
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

The hotel is very well kept. The bedding, carpet and rooms in general are just fine. Internet CAT5 in every room it appears, WIFI is present, but I use a cable most of the time. Staff was friendly. Breakfast was there for those who want it.

If you are sensitive to perfumes, you may want to seek a room elsewhere. The cleaning staff it appears, is using a LOT of coverup spray or scent in the rooms. It may be way too overpowering for some people. It was borderline for me even. Im not sure why they are doing this in non-smoking room. I will make note of it on the way out to the staff so they know they are going overboard with it during cleaning. If this was not an issue for me, this would be a 4 star rating as everything else is great.

If the scent in the rooms is not an issue for you, dont hesitate to stay here. Hopefully the cleaning staff backs off on the perfume!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TX-1096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marsing, Idaho
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We were there for graduation on 5 August 2011. The hotel was clean, but way overpriced for a two star hotel. The breakfast room was tiny and choices sparse. It was extremely quiet which is a real plus.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roundupready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tuscaloosa hotels
0.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Tuscaloosa
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#23 of 35 in Tuscaloosa
74 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ramada Tuscaloosa
Ramada Tuscaloosa
#12 of 35 in Tuscaloosa
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tuscaloosa
1.0 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Tuscaloosa - University of Alabama
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#20 of 35 in Tuscaloosa
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Inn&Suites Tuscaloosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Inn&Suites Tuscaloosa

Property: Ambassador Inn&Suites Tuscaloosa
Address: 230 Skyland Blvd, Tuscaloosa, AL 35405-4017
Location: United States > Alabama > Tuscaloosa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 35 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ambassador Inn&Suites Tuscaloosa 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Ambassador Inn&Suites Tuscaloosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing