We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be missed”
Review of Epiphany Cafe - CLOSED

Epiphany Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: University Blvd
Southlake, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Here is what we had - small plates of tasty sweet corn blinis, apple and wonderful pork salad with a tangy dressing, pillowy soft ricotta gnocchi with delicious crumbles of sausage in the tomato sauce, two servings of the fresh made brown sugar bread with Berkshire pork whipped butter which we fought over, a heaping plate of crunchy grilled/roasted brussel sprouts and a main dish serving of the veggie lasagna with a velvety cream studded with fresh corn and other green veggies layered with house made crepes rather than noodles, dark chocolate mouse cake with a pistachio smear and tart pomegranate syrup and sweet tea. We shared everything. Our bill for three people who were all quite full was $96.00, including a generous tip for great service. I know the average bill is higher with the addition of alcohol which we did not have but I was amazed to be paying so little for such a terrific, imaginative, locally sourced,thoroughly enjoyable meal. Our waiter, Frank, was funny, helpful and the food came quickly. I intend to go back every time I am in Tuscaloosa to see what new things these folks come up with featuring whatever is fresh at other times of the year. I can hardly wait.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Terri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    24
    10
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“They Dare to Be Innovative”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My wife and I always look for restaurants that feature localvore. She is a vegetarian, and always looks for natural and organic, too. We found it here. But what was best about Epiphany is that it did not serve predictable mass production food. The new lasagna, made from crepes instead of noodles, was a hit with my wife, and I found the chicken schnitzel as really tasty.

The staff was friendly, and always found what we needed. Chef Tres was appreciative of the input we had.

We make an annual trip to T-Town, and will definitely make this place a featured stop.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ThomasPound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach Florida
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“CHEF TRES IS A GENIUS....”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This is a MUST for everyone going to TUSCALOOSA.MAKE A RESERVATION PRIOR TO YOUR ARRIVAL.....OK .this is FARM FRESH...for real!
Just pulled beets, braised, roasted, any which way are perfection.Brussel sprouts roasted and CARMELIZED, cauliflower SOUFFLE with a range free soft boiled egg in the center,
The DUCK is moist, and crispy.The fish, PACIFIC coast salmon, is tender, flavorful.The red fish when available is wonderful...the EGGPLANT "meatless"balls...with VIDALLA onion marmelade is PERFECTION and a treat to eat. Dessert is a taste sensation.
Creme brulee, and the key lime pie...just fabulous.
Water comes in cute bottles, glasses are delicate tumblers.
Coffee is French press fab!...
This is a wonderful location for dates, business, family...just to have dinner!
Whatever comes from the farm is what CHEF TRES will have on the menu...
This is a true epicuriean delight...

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank shop4u18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Level 6 Contributor
428 reviews
287 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Not for the big eater”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This high end restaurant has a very unique menu. It did take our table some time to sort through and find what appealed. I ordered the duck breast but the poor men ordered the steak. When it arrived at the table it was a major disappointment. It was a very petite serving leaving my 2 guests very hungry. A side of potatoes was ordered as well as a dessert to satisfy my hungry companions. The dish should have come under Small Plates rather than entrees. The offerings are nice but we will stick to our regular eateries. Unsuitable for children. Outdoor seating is tight and very close to the road

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 12318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Unique food and excellent service”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Don't miss Epiphany. They have fresh, amazing food and a knowledgeable wait staff. Order absolutely anything and you'll like it, but the bread service is to die for. One note, if you're picky, it may not be for you because they don't like to make substitutions.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Wearywriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Epiphany Cafe also viewed

 
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing