We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel in Tuscaloosa” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Tuscaloosa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wingate by Wyndham Tuscaloosa
Ranked #12 of 35 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
Atlanta, GA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Tuscaloosa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2009

I was lucky enough to get a last minute room here on a Tuscaloosa Home weekend. Most hotels in Tuscaloosa charge a fortune for an older ,scary room on home game weekends. This hotel is a breath of fresh air. The room rate was very reasonable, the hotel was very clean, the room was definitely nicer than most hotel rooms at this rate. Granite countertops, bamboo floors, nice spa and gym area. Service was also exceptional. The GM personally brought us a luggage cart and a blow up air mattress for the kids to sleep on since the room was a King. Breakfast buffet was better than most continental breakfast bars. Other than the Capstone Conf Center (which is double the price and NEVER available), we wouldn't stay anywhere else in Tuscaloosa. Overall, I was very impressed and I am used to staying in nice hotels. Great value.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geofgiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    290
    184
    93
    56
See reviews for
521
131
56
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hooks, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2009

I loved this place. The staff was very friendly. It was such a treat to feel welcomed with my dog to such a nice hotel. The room was clean and nice. Loved the floors (no carpet). The linen and pillows are luxury. I have a friendly Rottweiler that weighs about 100lb, so some hotels that allow pets would exclude her due to size and weight. It is refreshing to be welcomed to a nice hotel even with a large dog. It's all too often that we are forced to stay in less than desirable hotels to bring along our dog. Glad that this place recognizes that pet owners want a nice place to stay too. Will stay here again and recommend to everyone! Stay here, you won't be sorry.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasRottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa AL
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2009

Hotel is new with very nice rooms and grounds. Lots of work going on to be sure everything was perfect. Pool and whirlpool were great for a leisure stay. Best part was the extremely helpful and nice staff. Rather strange location but really convenient to everything as it is just off the interstate.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zaba12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shalimar, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2009

This hotel was exceptional. The rooms were very modern and the beds were EXTREMELY comfortable. They offered a free hot breakfast every morning that was much better than the usual continetal breakfast. The staff was friendly and extremely helpful. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chelle13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2009

My family and I stayed here for one night while traveling home from vacation. We reserved 2 rooms. This is a new hotel, 2 months old. Very nice accomadations. Super breakfast. The pool was sparkly although we didn't get to use it. The pool is backed up to a shop of some kind, but was still nice. The rooms were a nice size, with upscale bedding and furniture. The bathrooms were very nice and clean with granite counters.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suzyqtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wingate_TTown, General manager at Wingate by Wyndham Tuscaloosa, responded to this review, July 23, 2009
Thanks you for your response. Any and all guests comments and concerns help us to offer the best guest experience. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2009

This is a 2-1/2* hotel with 4* rooms and service. It has to be the most upscale property in Tuscaloosa and anywhere else on I-40 from Birmingham to Meridien, MI. This Wingate has been open a month and this is my first stay at this chain. I choose it because it was the only nicer property that accepted pets in western Alabama - for a $20 one time fee that is not listed on the hotel web site. It's on the eastern outskirts of Tuscaloosa off I-40 in a sparse area for other amenities. The King room has dark "hardwood" floors (fake but lovely) and the bathroom is tile and granite with a high vanity. There's no tub-only a large walk-in granite shower. The bath has storage shelves under the sink and ample, high quality towels. The bed is high and dressed with good linens. This room has everything that an expensive city hotel would have - an easy chair , a desk with two chairs (one an adjustable office chair) facing each other, a high granite coffee counter outside the bath, and large closet. The only missing 4* amentity is a bath robe and a second nightstand.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eswarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wingate_TTown, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Tuscaloosa, responded to this review, July 3, 2009
Thanks for your review and patronage!
We are striving to be the best new hotel in Tuscaloosa. The Wingate By Wyndham guest experience is unique and our staff strives to personalize each guest's stay.

Just one clarifing statement, our rooms with Bamboo Flooring are indeed real Bamboo. Our owner looked near and far and was very pleased with the Teragren product that was selected for the majority of our guest rooms (http://www.teragren.com). Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again in the near future!

General Manager
Wingate By Wyndham - Tuscaloosa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tuscaloosa hotels
3.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Tuscaloosa Near University
3.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tuscaloosa
6.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Tuscaloosa Downtown University Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Tuscaloosa - University of Alabama
3.4 mi away
Ramada Tuscaloosa
Ramada Tuscaloosa
#15 of 35 in Tuscaloosa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa -East
Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa -East
#4 of 35 in Tuscaloosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Tuscaloosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Tuscaloosa

Property: Wingate by Wyndham Tuscaloosa
Address: 4918 Skyland Blvd E, Tuscaloosa, AL 35405-3530
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Tuscaloosa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Tuscaloosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Tuscaloosa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Design - Superior Accommodations Each of our over-sized rooms and suites are loaded with many modern conveniences; such as MP3 connectivity with our signature Wyntunes Radio, abundant work space, 32” flat screen televisions, microwave and refrigerator, and complimentary high-speed wired and wireless Internet access. Comforts of home like luxury bedding and carpet or Teragen (tm)Bamboo flooring make it relaxing and productive for business and leisure travelers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Tuscaloosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Tuscaloosa Hotel Tuscaloosa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing