We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Tuscaloosa
Ranked #21 of 35 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
Reviewed June 30, 2013

this place does the standard american hotel/motel well. free breakfast of waffles, toast, cereal and juice. free wifi and if your into the bars of this college town then its about a 15 buck cab ride into the strip. overall not bad

Room Tip: stay on the top floor, you might get a view of the stadium!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karlosthebref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

841 - 847 of 1,135 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2013

We just completed a week of college visits, staying a 5 different hotels. This was, by far, one of the worst hotels I have stayed in lately. The entire hotel is dirty from the elevator to the lobby to the spa. The spa area smelled like a dirty mop was used to clean the floor. The towels looks like rags. The front desk was apathetic. The room had hardwood floors that appeared to have been installed fairly recently, but when we wiped up a spill, the dirt on the floor was unbelievable. The moldings had not been completely installed. The air conditioner leaked and when we woke in the morning, there was water all over the floor. The pillows were lumpy and the covers felt like they were dirty. The breakfast was so bad that even my 17 year old son, who eats anything, would not eat what was on his place. It was a horrible experience overall and I am disappointed that other reviews I had read made it sound like a good hotel for the money. If we ever return to Tuscaloosa it will not be to this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We just fell in love with the hotel and the staff, they were so very helpful for our sightseeing in and around T-town. We were so grateful for all the tips that we received from the front desk, and they were so plentiful that we will have to make another trip back to be able to get all of them in. All of the advice we got about places to eat were outstanding, De Palma's Italian restaurant - Fantastic, Ramma Jamma's - Awe-inspiring, Buffalo Phil's - just flat out good food and a great college town dive bar. The staff at the front desk also let us know about some of the great places to go and see in Tuscaloosa, right after the tour in and around Bryant-Denny Stadium, my personal favorite was the Jemison - Van de Graff Home. Alabama's First bathtub and indoor plumbing for the house and the Slave quarters, which I couldn't help but laugh at the fact that the unfortunately enslaved had it better than almost everyone else in the state at the time, now don't get me wrong I am NOT pro-slavery at all. And one of the first homes to have a connected kitchen actually working and not just a remodel that was added at a later date. The history in and around Tuscaloosa is amazing and well deserving of another visit as fast as we can get back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Norman W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank David Y
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

On our way to New Orleans, we picked this hotel based on reputation and when we decided to stop. The staff was very friendly as we were tired and ready to relax. The room was great and the beds were fantastic - very comfortable. The room was nice and cool and very nicely decorated. It was super quiet when we visited. We didn't care about the view or any amenities. It was a great travel stop.

Room Tip: Skip the chain restaurants for dinner and ask for directions to Dreamland BBQ.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank James43732
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This hotel was clean with all of the amenities. By no means luxurious, but you get everything you need at a great price. Very friendly staff as well.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Wayne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tuscaloosa hotels
3.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Tuscaloosa Near University
3.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tuscaloosa
3.4 mi away
Ramada Tuscaloosa
Ramada Tuscaloosa
#13 of 35 in Tuscaloosa
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#19 of 35 in Tuscaloosa
149 reviews
3.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Tuscaloosa
Candlewood Suites Tuscaloosa
#17 of 35 in Tuscaloosa
163 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa-University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Tuscaloosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Tuscaloosa

Address: 4918 Skyland Blvd E, Tuscaloosa, AL 35405-3530
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Tuscaloosa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Tuscaloosa
Price Range: $84 - $388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Tuscaloosa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Design - Superior Accommodations Each of our over-sized rooms and suites are loaded with many modern conveniences; such as MP3 connectivity with our signature Wyntunes Radio, abundant work space, 32” flat screen televisions, microwave and refrigerator, and complimentary high-speed wired and wireless Internet access. Comforts of home like luxury bedding and carpet or Teragen (tm)Bamboo flooring make it relaxing and productive for business and leisure travelers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Tuscaloosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Tuscaloosa Hotel Tuscaloosa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing