We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean, quiet hotel with great beds!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Tuscaloosa
Ranked #21 of 35 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Driving cross-country with family on a vacation this month and needed a good place to stay in Alabama. We decided to bypass Birmingham and stay in Tuscaloosa. Although I have never stayed with them before, the Wingate had terrific rates and good reviews, so we chose them and booked the visit. The hotel was easy to find and the staff was most helpful and polite. Check in was flawless and our room was just as advertised, clean, spacious, and well appointed. The beds were CLEAN and heavenly soft. Probably the best night of sleep on my entire vacation. The bathrooms were well finished with granite on the vanity and in the shower. Very nice room at an excellent price. If I'm ever passing through central Alabama again, I won't hesitate to stay here again. I have no problem recommending this hotel to fellow travelers. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience. We believe that we are a great waypoint for Texas Travellers. Hope to see you when you are passing thru again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,059 - 1,065 of 1,135 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2012

Up-to-date furnishings,comfortable bed, very clean bath, hardwood floors (nice for allergy sufferers -- and no sticky carpet!). A welcome note, along with some snacks, were waiting in the room. Hotel was full but very quiet. Front desk personnel welcoming and helpful. Food options at this exit are limited, but one exit away there are many (mostly chain) options. Breakfast was fine, various hot and cold selections; as 9:00 a.m. approached, though, choices were more limited and the attendant seemed a little eager for everyone to finish. We stayed here because our usual places closer to town were booked. Wingate is a little outside of town, but now we think that's not a bad thing! Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had am "accessible" room on first floor. Shower water tends to go beyond the bounds of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelNotes575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 27, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share obeservations about your stay with us.
We appreciate your observations concerning breakfast service. Our goal is to ensure that guests who eat at 8:50am get the same experience as those who eat at 6:00am. I will be sure to address your concerns with our Servers and ensure that we exceed your expectations on your next visit. Your feedback is invaluable to us and is much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

There are limited options for nice hotels along I-59, but the Wingate is definitely an exception to this. It appears to be a newer hotel and is very clean. It is a bit off the beaten path being a few miles away from the action at the next Tuscaloosa exit, but this means it is less congested. There are few places to eat nearby but a short drive to the next exit offers more variety. We received a special rate on the internet of $101.50, and this definitely beats the $129 or higher rates asked for by some of the other nice hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiketoeatCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 22, 2012

We appreciate your feedback. Location can be a premium in Tuscaloosa and can be a factor in pricing. We are glad to know that you think we offer a good compromise in location based on the value of our product. Thanks Again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Definite pluses/good things: Huge room, free wifi, chair, work space, large bed, excellent and quick temperature control, plenty linens, good workout space, virtual office and pool, friendly staff and inline continental plus breakfast.

Issues to remember:
this is a reatively remote location, you will a few miles to go to most attractions or beyond fast food, but very convenient to interstate. yes its beside mechanic shop, but I'm there to sleep and get some work done.

Few minor issues:

my room (418), had no wear to hang up clothes, room was spacious enough for possibly a wardrobe. Ice machines had no ice on 3rd or 4th floor. definitely a well used hotel, nothing major yet, but staff will have stay vigilant about excessive wall marks and condition of marble in bathroom/edges.

facing the elevators, the left hand elevator needs to be serviced, it slightly jar stops, and elevator having to adjust once stopped to make floor level, nothing unsafe, just will get worse if not adjusted.

I would say on par to better than Hilton Garden Inn and courtyard.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TableGamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We enjoyed our stay. My wife liked the look and feel of the uncarpeted floors. I was pleasantly surprised to find a nice quiet neighborhood behind the hotel where I had a very pleasant morning
walk.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomBorden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 22, 2012

We are so happy that you were pleased with our selction of Terragen Bamboo floors in certain rooms. Thanks agin for taking the time to share you thoughts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Stayed here for a University of Alabama football game. Great location. Rooms were large! Clean, comfy and all items furnished. Had a great weekend and would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wardwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wingate_TTown, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Tuscaloosa, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2012

Thanks.for taking the time to submit a review. We appreciate the feedback

Roll Tide!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Traveling with my two medium size dogs from Dallas to Charlotte. Needed halfway stop and had never stayed at petfriendly place. What a wonderful surprise! Spotless hotel..lobby, lounge, and especially the room! Never did I detect ANY pet odors anywhere in hotel. Room was very clean, roomy, bed and pillows super comfortable, nice flat screen, free wifi, marble bath with extra roomy shower, frig, microwave, coffeemaker etc. Staff was very friendly and helpful - especially Sherry. AND, the "pet" rooms are on the first floor with easy access to the side exit door where there is a very clean and well maintained doggie area with dog bags and trash receptacle. All this for a very low price! I will definitely make this a destination stop should I be traveling thru - or look for their sister hotels. Highly Recommend

Room Tip: Room 118, king bed and lots of room if traveling with pets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GLS1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wingate_TTown, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Tuscaloosa, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2012

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience at our Hotel. More reviews help us to be the best we can be and to better anticipate the needs of our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tuscaloosa hotels
3.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Tuscaloosa Near University
3.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tuscaloosa
3.4 mi away
Ramada Tuscaloosa
Ramada Tuscaloosa
#13 of 35 in Tuscaloosa
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#19 of 35 in Tuscaloosa
149 reviews
3.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Tuscaloosa
Candlewood Suites Tuscaloosa
#17 of 35 in Tuscaloosa
163 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa-University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Tuscaloosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Tuscaloosa

Address: 4918 Skyland Blvd E, Tuscaloosa, AL 35405-3530
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Tuscaloosa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Tuscaloosa
Price Range: $84 - $388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Tuscaloosa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Design - Superior Accommodations Each of our over-sized rooms and suites are loaded with many modern conveniences; such as MP3 connectivity with our signature Wyntunes Radio, abundant work space, 32” flat screen televisions, microwave and refrigerator, and complimentary high-speed wired and wireless Internet access. Comforts of home like luxury bedding and carpet or Teragen (tm)Bamboo flooring make it relaxing and productive for business and leisure travelers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Tuscaloosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Tuscaloosa Hotel Tuscaloosa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing