We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place, pet friendly, but needs some work.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Tuscaloosa
Ranked #19 of 35 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Decent place, pet friendly, but needs some work.”
Reviewed July 14, 2011

On a recent trek from TX to SC we found Tuscaloosa to be the best stopping place. This hotel was newer, had favorable ratings, and accepted pets for a not-so-crazy $20.

Great phone service for reservation. Great front desk service on checkin. Room was clean and appeared fairly new. Overall happy but here were the probs:

A/C seemed faulty as it kept cutting in and out all night despite setting the fan to manually on. This meant hot/cold quiet/loud all night. Also resulted in a more freaked out dog as she was on high alert anyway being in a strange place but when that fan turned off it was clear how much you could hear noises from other rooms. Minor problems with broken stopper in the sink and a loose safe in the closet that banged the door.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AF_Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    309
    212
    116
    75
See reviews for
585
144
62
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2011

Because this hotel has the #1 rating of all the hotels in Tuscaloosa, we expected a pretty nice hotel. We were impressed with the friendly albeit extremely busy front desk clerk and the beautiful hardwood floors in our room. We settled in. Within about 20 minutes I began feeling shaky and my throat started to constrict. We noticed that there was water damage on the floor by the air conditioner and a patch of dark mold on the wall. The baseboard was peeling away from the wall and a closer look revealed copious amounts of black mold behind it. We left the room immediately.

The front desk clerk was very apologetic and reassigned us to a room on the third floor. This room was carpeted. As soon as we walked into this room we were assaulted by a strong urine smell. The sheets appeared somewhat wrinkled and a large faint yellow stain was visible. Again we asked to switch rooms.

The third room smelled fine. There were hardwood floors and, although there was evidence of minor water damage, we could see no mold. We spent a few minutes locating the source of an irritating clanging noise, which ended up being the refrigerator. We unplugged that and the noise stopped.

Overall we were quite disappointed. We have rewards points at other hotel chains and, although we were willing to give Windham a try, will not be using this chain in the future.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trvlrrr50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
379 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2011

We stayed here as we passed through Tuscaloosa on the way to Atlanta. Very convenient, right next to I-20. After the recent tornado hit the city in April we weren't sure what to expect but everything close to the interstate was not damaged and there's plenty of restaurants, gas stations, etc. for travelers needs. The room was super clean and nice.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BushkaTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slocomb, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2011

By far the best hotel my family and I have stayed at. We loved everything about the hotel. The staff was very friendly, breakfast was top notch, the beds were so comfortable. We will definitely be staying here again the next time we are in T-Town!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank da1astd0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2011

there were insects. On the bed. A deal breaker for me, and I'll never be back. My whole party was terrified to take our luggage home.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cobaltcanarycherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wingate_TTown, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Tuscaloosa, responded to this review, May 27, 2011
We would greatly appreciate it if you could contact our customer care team at the Wyndham Hotels. They can be reached at 1-800-449-3716.
They would like to further discuss this matter with you and hopefully resolve. If you would like to contact our property directly, please do at 205-553-5400

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2011

We went to Tuscaloosa for the A-Day game and found most hotels booked up for the weekend, but this was available at $169/night. Expensive, but less expensive than most everything else still available. So we booked... and then found out why it costs less.

LOCATION: This hotel is on the edge of town, several miles from just about anything you might want to do in T-Town. Just a non-descript roadside hotel with a view of the interstate and the Burger King. If you're sticking around town for the night after a football game and thinking you'll beat the traffic by staying here, there's no chance. It was a major post-game traffic jam all the way out -- whether Interstate 20/59 or Hwy. 11.

RATE: We were offered one rate, and it was non-refundable. Normally, a refundable rate is offered at a higher price, but not here. The non-refundable was our only option. I booked it and found out too late that we were committed. We would have tried it anyway, but I didn't like that the non-refundable was hidden in the fine print; other hotels are more upfront.

ROOM: The room was spotless, the bed comfortable and the shower worked great. But talk about a bizarre lay-out. The room was semi-divided by an arch. On one side, there was a good work desk and a chair, but lots of empty space. On the other, the king bed was practically crammed against the wall. There was one nightstand, meaning one of us had nowhere to put water, a watch, anything we might want to access during the night. I literally had to get out of bed and walk around to the other side of the bed when I got thirsty. This is the first time I've ever seen a king room without a nightstand on both sides. Plenty of room, but they had built in this strange arch -- very awkward.

NOISE: It was a quiet night, but we heard lots of noise from other rooms in the morning.

There are some good things to report, too. The people who worked there are very nice and quite efficient. We missed breakfast, but Wingate usually has good breakfasts. Internet service is dependable, and they have a hot tub, pool and 24-hour exercise room. Wyndham Rewards members get a little care package, which included pretzels, M&Ms and water; plus a late check out was offered (2PM) just for being a member. If you are staying alone, the weird lay-out in the king room certainly won't bother you. If you're just spending the night and moving on, you may like the easy on/off to the interstate. But we planned to use the hotel as a convenient base for our time in Tuscaloosa, and it just wasn't all that convenient.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoingEverywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wingate_TTown, General Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Tuscaloosa, responded to this review, May 27, 2011
We would like to thank you for taking time to submit your comments. Feedback such as your is so valuable.

Our hotel is 6.7 miles from Bryant-Denny and is not the closest property to the stadium. We have done great research into different shuttle options and would love to share them with you no matter where you might stay in Tuscaloosa. We enjoy the role of "Gameday Concierge", depending on how far you want to walk and what you would like to spend there are shuttle options from $5.00 - $25.00 and the great $1 Downtown shuttle option provided by the City.
My best post-game evacuation plan is from Gate 3, cut down to Queen City, South Greensboro to the great East-West connector - Hargrove Rd. which comes right back to the hotel. We have several guests whom stay with us for evvry home game and have shared route gems such as this that have proven to benefit all.

I would like to respond to your specific reservation policy issues you brought up in your post but need more information to do so. Please contact us directly.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2011

When locating this wonderful establishment, I failed to enter the correct address into my GPS; I called and was greeted by a professional, helpful, and knowledgeable individual who assisted me with accurate information. Upon arrival, an extremely warm and considerate staff who expedited my check-in, which allowed me to relax in a beautifully appointed room before my meetings, met me. I have stayed in several hotels in the Tuscaloosa area over the years and consider the Wingate to be the finest when considering the amenities - business center, WiFi, spacious room, cleanliness, professional staff, comfort, quality furnishings, location with easy access, peaceful/quiet setting, well insulated to prevent obtrusive sounds from nearby rooms or hallways. If you are looking for an affordable, professional, clean, comfortable, and beautiful facility...check out the Wingate by Wyndham in Tuscaloosa; you will be glad you did.

Room Tip: Call and make a reservation!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terminallyuneak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tuscaloosa hotels
3.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Tuscaloosa Near University
3.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tuscaloosa
3.4 mi away
Ramada Tuscaloosa
Ramada Tuscaloosa
#11 of 35 in Tuscaloosa
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Tuscaloosa - University of Alabama
4.5 mi away
Hotel Capstone
Hotel Capstone
#5 of 35 in Tuscaloosa
308 reviews
3.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#20 of 35 in Tuscaloosa
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Tuscaloosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Tuscaloosa

Property: Wingate by Wyndham Tuscaloosa
Address: 4918 Skyland Blvd E, Tuscaloosa, AL 35405-3530
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Tuscaloosa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Tuscaloosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Tuscaloosa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Design - Superior Accommodations Each of our over-sized rooms and suites are loaded with many modern conveniences; such as MP3 connectivity with our signature Wyntunes Radio, abundant work space, 32” flat screen televisions, microwave and refrigerator, and complimentary high-speed wired and wireless Internet access. Comforts of home like luxury bedding and carpet or Teragen (tm)Bamboo flooring make it relaxing and productive for business and leisure travelers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Tuscaloosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Tuscaloosa Hotel Tuscaloosa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing