We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge portions!”
Review of Iguana Grill

Iguana Grill
Ranked #175 of 288 Restaurants in Tuscaloosa
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Huge portions!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The restaurant ambiance is great. Excellent choice from a shopping break. The food portions are large, great to share with others. Drinks are a little pricey and are not too strong but they are tasty. The server was super attentive and answered all our questions.

As far as flavor goes, this is not an authentic mexican restaurant. The closest thing I can compare it to was Iguana Mia in Florida.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Calia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    20
    11
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“NOT YOUR AVERAGE PLACE”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

the food was fresh and service was exceptional....the decor of this place is amazing....very very clean!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank str8fan1935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Mary, FL
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent service and delicious dinner!”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

The decor of the restaurant is quite appealing with the wall mosaics and hanging ceiling art. The dining table tops are softly lighted from below. Our service was very good, and the margaritas absolutely delicious! No mix here, the server explained that crates if limes are squeezed each morning. Enchiladas verdes, enchiladas de pollo and a chicken quesadilla were all tasty. The sides of beans and rice were as found in Mexico, compliments to the entree not statement makers on their own. By far this is a far more interesting and inviting atmosphere than other Mexican restaurants in Tuscaloosa. The service, ambience, and quality of the meal are worthy of your visit, in my opinion!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KathyLakeMary_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Unsatisfied”
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

Being a tourist, I was looking for a place to eat that was different for those large chains we have near home. I'm from Texas and used to good size portions and dinners that cost around $8-13 per plate. First of all the prices are way too high ranging from $10-16 for An average plate of food. when food arrived, we were shocked by the portions. My two kids plates came with more food than the adult plates. I ordered the classic chicken quesadilla. Used to back home, I would have had chicken and cheese melted between two tortillas. When the plate arrived it was one tortillas folded in half with a little cheese and shredded chicken not even melted together. The rice and beans where such a small portion it only took two passes of a fork with a normal size bite for them to be gone. My guest had the nachos and it consisted with only a small amount of chips and stuff in one flat layer. We were so totally disappointed with the quality of food. It was bland and and subpar to what we are used to from the Mexican restaurants back home. We will not visit this again!

Helpful?
Thank Jeanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MABEN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“overpriced!”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Beautiful interior, but WAY overpriced. Somewhat slow service from waiter considering there wasnt harldy any customers in there at the time. Food quality was just the expected with a mexican restaurant, and the lunch options were mostly $10+ unless you wanted ground beef options for $8+. Typically mexican restaurants have a much more affordable lunch menu! The dinner options were all $12+

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank ab2g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iguana Grill also viewed

 

Been to Iguana Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing