We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Tuscaloosa Near University
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    205
    97
    38
    26
See reviews for
310
61
58
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Outer Banks, NC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We arrived in our room at 10:30pm after a long day in transit, I immediately headed to the bathroom. I wasn't thrilled to see a roach crawling on the toilet! I killed it and said nothing to my family for fear my teenaged daughter would refuse to stay. Before I went to bed, I had killed two more. Early am, my husband discovered his own friend in the bathroom. I was thankful that we were only staying one night. We were in the hotel a total of 10 hours and killed 4 roaches. That is four more than I have ever seen in a hotel room. I will be canceling the reservations I have to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rikesh P, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Tuscaloosa Near University, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
We are deeply sorry for the inconvenience during your stay. Regularly throughout the month we do have pest control company Orkin come out to do a detail of our hotel property along with our standards we do ensure to keep a clean property. If informed we would have taken immediate action along with moved you and your family to another room with a possible upgrade (depending on availability).


We do take proactive measures as soon as informed about any inconsistency as we do strive to ensure that we do meet all hospitable parameters as we do focus on entire quality of our hotel property. When back in Tuscaloosa we do hope that you all do try us out again as we do always make it a daily mission to strive for success along with keeping our guests satisfied.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I guess I was most impressed by the young man on the front desk. He was so helpful, friendly and caring. We had not planned on staying the night in Tuscaloosa but got tied up and didn't get to leave until late. I went in to talk to him about a room and he 'sold me on Microtel' right away. You should be glad to have him as a employee.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rikesh P, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Tuscaloosa Near University, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
It was a total pleasure to have you all stay with us during your visit to the Tuscaloosa area and we do have an ultimate focus on customer service driven environment. It was a perfect move for you and your family to stay with us in the Tuscaloosa area and look forward to you all being back as it was truely wonderful to have your positive energy flow throughout the hotel property!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The overall experience was excellent! The carpet was stained in a few areas and could easily have been spot cleaned. The bathroom floor was a little dirty in the corners.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
1 Thank Dee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tuscaloosa hotels
3.3 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Tuscaloosa Downtown University Boulevard
2.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tuscaloosa
1.5 mi away
Hotel Capstone
Hotel Capstone
#6 of 34 in Tuscaloosa
4.5 of 5 stars 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tuscaloosa-University
2.0 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Tuscaloosa - University of Alabama
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa-University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Tuscaloosa Near University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Tuscaloosa Near University

Property: Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Tuscaloosa Near University
Address: 1417 Veterans Memorial Pkwy, Tuscaloosa, AL 35404-4702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Tuscaloosa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Tuscaloosa
#9 Family Hotel in Tuscaloosa
#12 Business Hotel in Tuscaloosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Tuscaloosa Near University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Microtel Inn & Suites in Tuscaloosa, AL We offer a broad range of hotel amenities to make your stay absolutely exceptional. Experience for yourself how we offer the best value and lowest rates for quality, discount hotel accommodations. Enjoy superior quality, consistency, reasonable prices and great service each time you stay with the Microtel Inn & Suites Tuscaloosa / University of Alabama. Our rooms offer sophistication and casual elegance at a great price, making us one of the best hotels in Tuscaloosa, AL. Whether for business or family fun, the Tuscaloosa Microtel Inn & Suites is the destination for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon and Travelocity so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Tuscaloosa Near University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn And Suites Tuscaloosa-University
Microtel Inn & Suites Tuscaloosa-University Hotel Tuscaloosa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing