We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Tuscaloosa Near University
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    242
    110
    46
    30
See reviews for
363
74
71
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
92 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is my worst hotel experience in the last 20 years.
I booked a room here during an Alabama football weekend because I was invited to go to the game with a friend who said he was staying here.
The rate they tried to charge me was $425/night. They said that was the lowest rate they charged for that weekend. And they put my wife and I in a handicap room(see pictures)
At dinner with my friend I mentioned how outrageous the price was. He informed me he was paying what he considered outrageous rate of $235 for what Microtel calls a suite due to it being a football weekend.
When I found thus out I was steamed. I knew to look on the back of my room's door to check the maximum allowable rate their business license allowed them to charge($299). I took a photo of the sign and headed to the front desk.
Asking for the manager I spoke to the manager on duty. I asked about the difference in my friends rate and mine. She informed me that the property changed hands in September and my friend had a rate from the previous owner. My rate was the new owner's idea. When I showed her the photo of the maximum rate allowed on the back of my door she said she didn't be;ieve it was taken at her hotel. She claimed she could do nothing.
I asked her to call the owner which she resisted but seeing I wasn't going away she got him on the phone and explained the situation. After much back and forth he realized he was caught and cut my rate to the same as my friend's suite. Tired of arguing I took the offer and began thinking about this review.

The place is a dump with an unscrupulous owner. Stay here at your own risk

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerPropertyHotel, Owner at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Tuscaloosa Near University, responded to this review, October 19, 2016
Excellent review! We are dedicated to serving our guests in all the right ways and are focused on ensuring that we have a safe and hospitable environment for all.

We welcome all travelers and attend to needs from families to business travelers.

Our focus is on hospitality and we embrace our guests feedback to help improve in areas mentioned. It was an absolute delight to have you as our guest at the property.

My team and I wish you all a safe travel back and when in the Tuscaloosa please visit us as we are your home away from home.

Hospitably yours,
Microtel Inn & Suites - Tuscaloosa University
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Demarest, New Jersey
Level Contributor
99 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We were visiting my daughter in Tuscaloosa and this is the 5th time we were able to stay at the Microtel Inn and would do so again. Lovely, clean rooms, very nice hot breakfast, fantastic location from the University. Friendly staff, made us feel very comfortable and are very willing to help, any way possible.

Room Tip: I don't believe it matters, except my mother was annoyed staying next to the stairwell and heard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rikesh P, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Tuscaloosa Near University, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
A joy! We absolutely love having you stay with us at the hotel as it is a pleasure to serve you when coming to Tuscaloosa to visit your daughter at The University of Alabama. We take care of our property in pristine condition along with updating breakfast items to match with the season. With our close proximity to The University of Alabama, Tuscaloosa Amphitheater, Bryant Denny-Stadium, and downtown Tuscaloosa our guests definitely appreciate/value our property for all the conveniences that are nearby.

Our front desk sales and room attendents look VERY forward to your next stay and await your return :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MADISON
1 review
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This was a nice hotel! Reasonable price and still can get good quality. Single rooms small but suitable. Walls thin however still got a good nights sleep. No major complaints!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Kita24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerPropertyHotel, Owner at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Tuscaloosa Near University, responded to this review, October 19, 2016
Excellent review! We are dedicated to serving our guests in all the right ways and are focused on ensuring that we have a safe and hospitable environment for all.

We welcome all travelers and attend to needs from families to business travelers.

Our focus is on hospitality and we embrace our guests feedback to help improve in areas mentioned. It was an absolute delight to have you as our guest at the property.

My team and I wish you all a safe travel back and when in the Tuscaloosa please visit us as we are your home away from home.

Hospitably yours,
Microtel Inn & Suites - Tuscaloosa University
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tuscaloosa hotels
3.3 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Tuscaloosa Downtown University Boulevard
2.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tuscaloosa
1.5 mi away
Hotel Capstone
Hotel Capstone
#5 of 35 in Tuscaloosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Tuscaloosa
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Tuscaloosa-University
2.0 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Tuscaloosa - University of Alabama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Tuscaloosa Near University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Tuscaloosa Near University

Property: Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Tuscaloosa Near University
Address: 1417 Veterans Memorial Pkwy, Tuscaloosa, AL 35404-4702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Tuscaloosa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Tuscaloosa
#9 Family Hotel in Tuscaloosa
#12 Business Hotel in Tuscaloosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Tuscaloosa Near University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Microtel Inn & Suites in Tuscaloosa, AL We offer a broad range of hotel amenities to make your stay absolutely exceptional. Experience for yourself how we offer the best value and lowest rates for quality, discount hotel accommodations. Enjoy superior quality, consistency, reasonable prices and great service each time you stay with the Microtel Inn & Suites Tuscaloosa / University of Alabama. Our rooms offer sophistication and casual elegance at a great price, making us one of the best hotels in Tuscaloosa, AL. Whether for business or family fun, the Tuscaloosa Microtel Inn & Suites is the destination for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Tuscaloosa Near University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn & Suites Tuscaloosa-University Hotel Tuscaloosa
Microtel Inn And Suites Tuscaloosa-University

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing