We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in T-town!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Tuscaloosa
Ranked #17 of 35 Hotels in Tuscaloosa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Candlewood Suites is, in my opinion, the best hotel to book if you're going to be in Tuscaloosa. It's nothing fancy, but it's perfect! The staff was super nice and always there to help if we needed anything. We didn't spend a lot of time in the room, but the beds were comfy! My only concern was the bathroom. It's probably just a personal preference to me, but I need an updated bathroom at all times. This one looked a little outdated.

Even though this hotel has some negatives, I'll still stand by my word that this is the best hotel in Tuscaloosa. When you take cost, location, and amenities into consideration, Candlewood Suites will come out on top!

Room Tip: We stayed on the highest floor and it was very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dustin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheree_slaten, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Tuscaloosa, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thank you for telling everyone that we are the best hotel in all of Tuscaloosa! That is quite a compliment. Being #1 on Trip Advisor is an honor we are quite poroud of. Tha you for sharing your thoughts. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 163 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

The hotel staff were really kind and friendly. They even called once we got to our room to see how we liked our room and if we needed anything.The rooms were very clean even had a kitchen in them. This was useful because we stayed for five days. I will definitely be coming back.

Room Tip: The fourth floor is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swails_john
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheree_slaten, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Tuscaloosa, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thank you for your nice review! We are glad that we exceeded your expectations and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

This hotel always smelled so clean and fresh. I have never stayed in a hotel that smelled so good. The service was excellent. The staff were all so kind. The rooms and lobby were beautiful. From now on, when I come to Tuscaloosa, this is where I want to stay!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guinmadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheree_slaten, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Tuscaloosa, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thank you for your review! I love to hear that our hotel smells so nice and clean. We value your feedback. Thank you for sharing your experience with others.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We went to out niece's graduation from University of Alabama in December 2012. . We liked having a kitchen to cook in and all the comforts of home. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.We wanted to stay there again in May, but the hotel is so popular, we could get the 7 rooms we needed. Maybe next time!

Room Tip: 2nd floor is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheree_slaten, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Tuscaloosa, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thank you for your kind review! We are so happy your enjoyed your stay. I am sorry that we don't have availability for your next trip to Tuscaloosa, but hopefully we will see you again in the future. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I loved staying at this hotel. The staff was warm, friendly, and welcoming. The room was great! I loved that not only did I have a kitchen in my room but it was also fully equipped with pots, pans, and everything I could need. Having all my needs meet made me feel more like I was home than at a hotel. I'd definitely recommend it to anyone needing to stay in the Tuscaloosa area.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coulliettelee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheree_slaten, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Tuscaloosa, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the kitchen in your room. It certainly makes life on the road more convenient. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Amazing family-like caring by the staff. Mrs Cheree, ms Elizabeth, ms mary Baxter, ms Kim, Zach,
Adam, and mike all are amazingly helpful accommodating and warm.
Location is wry close to malls, and restaurants and movie theatre. I have lived there for months and the stay was so good that I never go to Hilton's or Mariott again. Great bang for buck

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kedarpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheree_slaten, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Tuscaloosa, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Thank you so much! We love having you at the hotel! You have became like family to us. It's guests like you that we come to know so well and enjoy having around so much that make our hotel world fulfilled! We hope you are able to stay around for quite a while! Thank you for sharing your experience with others.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The staff was friendly and very helpful! Everything was clean and in good order. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.
We were there for a graduation and our family had a total of 3 rooms. We had a great experience.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lewis10_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheree_slaten, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Tuscaloosa, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in Tuscaloosa and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tuscaloosa hotels
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tuscaloosa
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#19 of 35 in Tuscaloosa
149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Tuscaloosa
Ramada Tuscaloosa
#13 of 35 in Tuscaloosa
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Tuscaloosa Near University
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#22 of 35 in Tuscaloosa
88 reviews
1.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Tuscaloosa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Tuscaloosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Tuscaloosa

Address: 651 Skyland Blvd E, Tuscaloosa, AL 35405-4036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Tuscaloosa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Tuscaloosa
#6 Family Hotel in Tuscaloosa
Price Range: $109 - $413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Tuscaloosa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expect Superior Service at Our Extended Stay Hotel in Tuscaloosa, AL If you're looking for a relaxing getaway or a comfortable place to stay during a business trip, then drive past the cheap extended stay hotels in Tuscaloosa, Alabama and stay with us at the Candlewood Suites of Tuscaloosa. Our hotel is conveniently located 6.1 miles from Tuscaloosa Regional Airport (TCL) and near Interstates 20 and 59. The University of Alabama and other local colleges offer unique entertainment and attractions for the region. You can visit the University of Alabama's many museums, the arboretum or a sporting event while lodging in our Tuscaloosa, AL hotel. Enjoy the outdoors with a round of golf at one of the nearby courses or walk the nature trails at the Moundville Archaeological Park. Our all suite hotel in Tuscaloosa offers a convenient location for business travelers, with downtown Tuscaloosa, Mercedes Benz, Phifer Wire, DCH Hospital, JVC, BF Goodrich, Michelin, Law Enforcement Academy of Tuscaloosa and Delphi all near the hotel. We also have a meeting room, 24-hour business center and free high-speed Internet access to help you complete work while traveling. Our all suite hotel in Tuscaloosa makes extended stay travel and relocation easier with amenities like the Candlewood Cupboard, lending library and suites with fully equipped kitchens, 32-inch TVs, work desks and triple-sheeted beds. Book your extended stay in Tuscaloosa with us today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites Tuscaloosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Tuscaloosa Hotel Tuscaloosa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing