We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nothing special here” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Trussville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Trussville
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Trussville
Cartersville, Georgia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nothing special here”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Check in was fast, front desk clerk was helpful. Hotel is very dated compared to other Holiday Inn Express hotels.
Wifi was unreliable. Room was clean and the shower was great with plenty of pressure.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Compman72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    21
    15
    6
    4
See reviews for
21
17
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Al
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I stayed here recently on business travel and thought this hotel met my needs just fine. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. The free wi-fi signal in the room was strong and I had no issues with that. The breakfast was free and a little more than continental. The staff was very personable.

The only thing was the person I was staying with could not access the internet on the computer in the business area and there was no one available that knew how to fix it. That being said, if you bring your own PC, the wi-fi works great in the rooms.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank usaharleydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookeville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

This is the first time I have stayed at this hotel. I usually travel on into Brimingham. The lady at the desk was very friendly. The first room I was given had either been occupied or not cleaned. The second room was better until i got in the shower. The cleaning crew had left shampoo and soap from previous guest and the shower had hairs on the wall. The drain in the tube would not stay open The internet was very slow and the TV channel selection was laim. The only premium channel had no sound. After about two hours in this room, I was wishing I had traveled on into Birmingham.

Room Tip: The Holiday Inn at the Birmingham Airport is not bad. I have stayed there many times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I routinely stay at HI-Trussville atleast once a week on business travel. The staff always makes sure to accomodate everything I need and if there's ever any problems, they always make sure the problem is resolved. Breakfast is always good, rooms are always clean, and the location is always a plus. Trussville has everything a traveler needs from Wal-Mart to a gym to nice restaurants. I recommend this hotel if you're traveling I-59. A helpful tip for health buffs- when checking into the hotel, request a pass for the YMCA from the front desk.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LifeLikeAGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Stayed there for three nights and found the rooms to be average Holiday Inn Express quality. They were clean, spacious and the A/C worked well. One nice touch was a ceiling fan over the bed. Door banging at night could definitely keep a light sleeper awake. The atrium was always hot (it was upper 90's outside) and the breakfast's were good. The location isn't the best, as it's sorta isolated on a service road. There is lot's of traffic in Trussville, don't be in a hurry to go anywhere.

The staff was initially not very friendly nor welcoming, particularly a lady who appeared to be a manager. Her assistant, perhaps taking a lead from the boss, wasn't much better - but warmed nicely later and turned out to be very friendly.

All in all a nice enough hotel, no complaints.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ncroadtoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

I stopped here for one night while driviving. It seemed to be a safe location very close to the highway.
The staff was nice. check in was quick. The room was clean. All The housekeeping staff that I met were very nice.
A very nice girl was running the breakfast area and made me feel at home. i will stop again next time through the area.

Room Tip: best to stay on the second floor on up. Can be a little noisy around the breakfast area
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrville, Texas
Level Contributor
164 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Stayed here last night because it was close to Birmingham airport (7 miles). Here are the positives:
1. It is clean
2. Location is good and restaurants are close by. The Birmingham Y is directly across the street but the hotel does have a decent fitness room
3. Staff is friendly (except for one, as indicated below)
4. Breakfast is very good

Here are my critiques:
1. A young woman checked me in and was not up on her customer service skills. A man ahead of me left unhappy but I couldn't tell what the discussion was. An hour later, after I had problems with the business center's printer, I asked if she'd print my boarding pass. She looked at the very-faint copy I showed her and said, "I can read this" and wouldn't budge when I showed her the number and letter were missing. And she had a printer right beside her! As we walked out to dinner, a man was asking about the t.v. stations because evidently it showed ESPN on one guide and ESPN2 on another. She pointedly told him to read the guide - and he left unhappy.
I will follow this by adding that this morning, the front desk manager named Danny readily printed my boarding pass.
2. The internet was very sporadic. I kept losing the connection and had to keep re-connecting, which ate up a lot of my time. When I was on, it was slow, so not sure if this is an ongoing thing.

Have to say that I walked into the Jameson Inn which is across the street next to the Lone Star where we ate and the manager told us about the hotel (I'd never stayed at one) and told us he would have given us a $77 walk-in rate (and we'd paid $98.10 at HI online for the Holiday Inn) - so if I do travel that way again, I'll be staying at Jameson Inn.

Room Tip: First floor is close to the fitness center, lobby and breakfast area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ncftx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Trussville, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Dear ncftx,

Thank you for your review regarding your experience. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention and apologize for any inconvenience the hotel staff may have caused. We will follow up with the staff to ensure that similar incidents won't happen again. We are also very sorry for the problems you experienced with our internet service. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Regards,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trussville
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Trussville
4.0 of 5 stars 75 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Birmingham / Trussville
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham/Trussville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Trussville
Quality Inn Trussville
#3 of 3 in Trussville
3.5 of 5 stars 39 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Birmingham / Leeds, AL
13.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham Downtown - The Tutwiler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Trussville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Trussville

Property: Holiday Inn Express Trussville
Address: 5911 Valley Rd, Trussville, AL 35173-1071
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Trussville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Trussville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Trussville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Service And Experience At Birmingham/Trussville Holiday Inn Express Hotel. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Birmingham/Trussville has the pleasure of welcoming you to Southern hospitality. We invite you to experience the friendliness of our staff. We are nearby Birmingham City Downtown, UAB and Birmingham International Airport. Our hotel is your best choice for Birmingham Dog Track and Barber Motorsports. We are conveniently located near 1-20 & I-459. Our valued guests have free access to YMCA/health & fitness center next door with world class facilities.Well equipped rooms & suites with room to spread out and space to relax. Plus, there's great shopping, dining and entertainment at this exit. The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham/Trussville is a favorite for business and leisure visitors to Birmingham/Trussville area and we want to become your favorite too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, IHG, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Trussville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Trussville Hotel Trussville
Holiday Inn Trussville
Trussville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing