We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Southern Comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Trussville
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Trussville
Certificate of Excellence
saggamore hills
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Real Southern Comfort”
Reviewed March 29, 2012

My Husband and I stayed here on our way to Florida for our honeymoon. He surprised me with a stay in the hotel's Presidential Suite and I must say it was amazing! The suite was huge, clean and modern and had skylights! Plus a HUGE jacuzzi tub! Needless to say we had a very romantic evening.
The hotel itself is surrounded by many places to eat and shop. The property was clean and modern. The front desk people were very friendly and even gave us fresh baked cookies upon our arrival!
And to top it off we filled our bellies with an amazing complimentary breakfast. I had fresh pancakes, bacon, fruit and orange juice. (I fell asleep as soon as we headed for Florida.)
will def. stay again if the opportunity ever arises. Check out the suite you will love it!

Room Tip: Ask for the presidential suite for any special occasion or just to surprise your loved one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diane k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpress35173, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Trussville, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Thank you for your gracious review! We at the Holiday Inn Express in Trussville strive to make all of our guests' stay a pleasant one.
We congratulate you on your nuptials and invite you to come back and visit us for your Anniversary!
Sincerely,
Wendy K Wilfong
Sales Manager
Holiday Inn Express
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    27
    16
    7
    4
See reviews for
29
20
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Husband and I stayed here for a few nights in December 2011. He was in Birmingham on business. I will note the glaring negative aspects first: First, the front desk staff was very unimpressive. When we arrived, the flighty young blonde one was recounting to her male co-worker some drama from her personal life. She seemed unconcerned about giving us a good location - a quiet room, for which I specifically asked. And she specifically didn't give us a quiet room. It would have been too much trouble to look for I guess. The whole check in time she continued to discuss her personal life with the co-worker. (!) Her male co-worker was unconcerned with us in general and had an air of perhaps an intellectual who is only working there till a university teaching job becomes available. There was no welcome or connect at all. And during our stay, when we were coming and going, and walking past the front desk, not one time did one of them look up and smile or seem welcoming at all.

Second, the breakfast was not good, though free. The coffee was just awful, and they couldn't even manage to have one edible banana for the cereal the whole time we were there. The boxed cereal was the highest quality item that was featured in their breakfast lineup.

Third, from the sounds in the hallway and in the breakfast area, you would think you were in Mexico City. A constant barage of yip-yapping in spanish, and hooting and loud laughter from the cleaning girls talking in the halls, calling from one room to the next to each other. I would just as soon not hear all this when I am in my hotel room, or walking through the lobby.

I am generously giving this hotel two stars because the room cleanliness was acceptable most days. And the room did not have a loud perfumey-chemical- cleaner smell like some hotels. And the hotel was in a fairly good location; seemed safe and was close to some nice grocery stores and shopping areas.

Room Tip: Well, unless you like airplanes flying over your room every few minutes, I would avoid the side faci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stingman66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIExpress35173, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Trussville, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Dear Sir or Madam,
I would like to thank you for your sincerity in your review. We at Holiday Inn Express in Trussville truly want every stay for our guest to be a great stay. I am saddened to find out that your stay with us was less than stellar. The points you have made in your review will be attended to. Updated training will be provided for the staff.
We invite you to come back and visit us one day in the hopes of amending this situation and giving you the stay and services you truly deserve.
Sincerely,
Wendy K Wilfong
Holiday Inn Express
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caxias Do Sul, RS
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

The hotel is simple but very good, the rooms are great and the breakfast is small but have everything you need and has a good taste!

Definately a good option to spend the night!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cah-Brasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salem va
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stopped in this hotel on our way to Mobile. We was looking for a nice,safe quiet place to spend the night. The gentleman at the front desk was super friendly. He gave us all the details up front and put us in a large connecting room with our friends that was traveling with us. He provided us with places of interest in the area and directions to some good dining in the area. Before we went to our room, we knew all the layout of the hotel and how to get to the pool etc. Our room was huge,clean and well stocked. Beds were comfortable, ac worked great,ceiling fan in room was a nice touch,loved it. Tv was a large modern flat screen with inputs for dvd/video camera's,etc. Furniture looked nice and modern too. Had a nice view of the pool area from our room. Hotel was very quiet with all indoor corridors. Breakfest is included and wow, what a spread. Had the best cinamon rolls!!! Eggs,sausage, biscuits and they even had a nifty pancake maker!!!Internet was very fast on my laptop, tried the onsite computer to print some pictures, but the pc was so slow, we never got logged in. Had it been left on, it would have been alot better. Parking lot was nice and well lit, very safe feeling when we came in late from dinner. There are several decent places to eat walking distance, but if you drive about 1/2 mile, there is a huge shopping area with about 20 chain resteraunts and a walmart of course. Only complaint is the price is about $90 a night,which is a little higher than others, but the breakfest is worth the extra time you figure in how much eating breakfest out would cost. We will definately stop in again next time we are in the area. I hope all Holiday Inn Express's are this nice and friendly, if so, you have a customer for life!

Room Tip: ALl the rooms are in a great spot, best tip is get a room close to the buffet so you can get a head...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jameshelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenham, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2011

We were passing thru and decided to stay here as all the other hotels around seem to be about the same price but they do not have the same great breakfast as Holiday Inn Express does. Breakfast was ok. Seem to be running low on several items.
Tried calling the hotel several times early in the day to make reservations. No one would answer so I had to make them online. Front desk was freindly when we got there for check in.
Room were very clean, bed was soft and comfortable not like a rock.
Would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bhtexas519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2011

Stayed here on my way to Birmingham. Good hotel, nice, clean, awesome wireless I was getting 8mbs download so I was able to skype home. Ceiling fans in the room was a great feature. The staff was friendly and helpful with check in and out a breeze. The only rate down I would give it is for the location, it was hard in the morning to get out back to the interstate because of no traffic light at the end of their road, and traffic into Birmingham in the morning was backed up most of the was so I was 15 minutes late for the 8 am meeting even though I left the hotel at 7:15 for the 20 mile drive. So if you need to be in Birmingham early you may want to stay closer or leave earlier.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank labfixer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2010

I stayed for two nights with a colleague while in town for business. The hotel was booked solid, but the Presidential Suite was available, so we elected to stay in that room. It was described as having two bedrooms; however, what it had was a full bedroom/bathroom suite, and a pull-out couch in the living room. In and of itself, this was not necessarily problematic, just somewhat annoying. What was problematic was trying to sleep on the paper-thin mattress with the springs practically pushing through it. It was so uncomfortable that I resorted to sleeping on the couch cushions as one would normally sleep on the couch. Moreover, the Suite is situated so that the main living room windows open up to the interior of the hotel; but the drapery only covers the bottom two-thirds of the window, so it never really gets dark in the room. And, in the morning, the skylight bathes the room in ample light. Likewise, the ice machine for the floor is located practically behind the bedroom; my colleague noted that it overly loud to the point of waking him up when folks would get ice in the middle of the night. As such, we would have been better off staying in a standard room. Additionally, housekeeping did not attend to the room during our two-day stay,

The hotel itself is in a good enough location, about 10 miles from the airport and in an area with enough chain restaurants to get a quick bite if staying for business. The complimentary breakfast is to be expected, which means, skip it. If back in the area again, I wouldn't necessarily have a problem staying at the hotel again, but I certainly would not stay in the Presidential Suite.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MediaProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trussville
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Trussville
88 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Birmingham / Trussville
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Trussville
Quality Inn Trussville
#2 of 3 in Trussville
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham/Trussville
7.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Birmingham / Leeds, AL
11.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham SE/Liberty Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Trussville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Trussville

Property: Holiday Inn Express Trussville
Address: 5911 Valley Rd, Trussville, AL 35173-1071
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Trussville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Trussville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Trussville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Service And Experience At Birmingham/Trussville Holiday Inn Express Hotel. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Birmingham/Trussville has the pleasure of welcoming you to Southern hospitality. We invite you to experience the friendliness of our staff. We are nearby Birmingham City Downtown, UAB and Birmingham International Airport. Our hotel is your best choice for Birmingham Dog Track and Barber Motorsports. We are conveniently located near 1-20 & I-459. Our valued guests have free access to YMCA/health & fitness center next door with world class facilities.Well equipped rooms & suites with room to spread out and space to relax. Plus, there's great shopping, dining and entertainment at this exit. The Holiday Inn Express Birmingham/Trussville is a favorite for business and leisure visitors to Birmingham/Trussville area and we want to become your favorite too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Trussville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Trussville Hotel Trussville
Holiday Inn Trussville
Trussville Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing