We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Troy Landmark Buffet”
Review of Julia's Restaurant

Julia's Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 64 Restaurants in Troy
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Troy, Alabama
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Another Troy Landmark Buffet”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

I have eaten breakfast, lunch and dinner at Julia's. I have never had a bad meal at this buffet. I know longer eat breakfast here, because it is too expensive. Granted, it is a buffet breakfast and the food is plenteous, but I can't see paying more than $10 for breakfast. Julia's serves a delicious seafood buffet on Friday nights (I think it is Fridays. Could be Saturdays. It's been a while since I have been there for the seafood buffet.) The food is always delicious. It is a very popular place for Sunday lunch. If you don't get there until after 1 pm on Sunday, the food supply will be low and it is replenished rather slowly. Regardless, it's a great place to eat. The serve staff is tops.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    21
    10
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rogers, AR
Level Contributor
187 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Southern Hospitality, $9 Buffett”
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

First time in Troy and saw the crowded parking lot and the backed up traffic on the hill ahead of us and we u-turned back to Julia's. Good value choice for Southern cooking, fried chicken, catfish, blackened peas, yellow squash, turnip greens, and more. I had no room for dessert, but the banana pudding looked good. At $9, including a drink, it is a very good value.

Helpful?
2 Thank REDHOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dothan, Alabama
Level Contributor
414 reviews
300 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Great Food & Service”
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

What a charming place to eat. Some friends and I went there for lunch on a Saturday; it was my first time, but it was sure enough good! It was buffet with a large variety of items to choose from. Also, I found the entire staff pleasant and helpful.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Big_Globe_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great lunch, as always”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Great Restaurant!
Fantastic selection, excellent food, reasonable prices, and friendly service too!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Deep fried salad, anyone?”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I stopped here for a late lunch/early dinner as part of a group activity. When I heard about the place I had low expectations and after my meal decided that they were met. We all had the buffet whic was canned vegetables, deep fried meat deep fried checken, and deep fried fish. I think they may have deep fried it all together. I'm from the south and like the occasional traditional southern meal, but his place is best avoided. The soft serve icecream was good, however, and the place is cheap. We also didn't have to spend a lot of time in there. As they say, "you can have it fast, you can have it cheap, and you can have it good - which two do you want?" If you want it fast and you want it cheap, stroll on in to Julia's.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ricochet_Rabbit_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Julia's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Julia's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing