We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and great food”
Review of Hook's BBQ

Hook's BBQ
Ranked #5 of 64 Restaurants in Troy
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great value and great food”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Hooks is my go to restaurant when in Troy. The food is good and it won't break the bank.They are clised on Monday so youll need to make other plans. Also, if you like your sauce on the side you're in luck.

Helpful?
Thank Lunderwood
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    18
    8
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Troy, Alabama
1 review
“Food is good, but...”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The food is good, no problem...but the service is crappy and no matter what time their posted closing is, they try not to take an order, even if it is to go 30 minutes before closing...or at least that is the experience we have had...

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dixieknows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW Florida
Level Contributor
140 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very good, but not excellent BBQ”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I ordered the combo plate which came with ribs and pulled pork. The pulled pork was had good flavor but lacked smoke and was a bit too finely chopped. The ribs were very tender and juicy but again the lack of smoke flavor made them just average. The colesaw and beans on the side were good and again nothing real special about them. The Alabama habit of pre-saucing everything is a bit of a turn-off for me, even if your sauce is really good. The servings were large and I would eat there again. I'm really not a fan of the counter service in a 'to-go' box.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelGal22SWFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good place to eat”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Great pork salad. Very well made and LARGE. Definitely will fill you up. Even serve alcohol (beer). Don't miss this place when you visit Troy.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mindlemeyer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent choice for BBQ lovers”
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Great delicious meats, sides are good. I like the serving of a slice of pound cake being included in a plate special. Has a pull up window too if you want to take some to go. Would definitely come here again!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clarisafp29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hook's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing