We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food”

Buttermilk Hill Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #1 of 45 Restaurants in Sylacauga
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
152 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

I really enjoyed my meal here. This is a quaint place where the menu will surprise you. The night I visited you could have beef, duck, chicken, fish or pasta. Also a bar menu with lighter portions is available. Although the wine list is not huge, it has a great selection with something for all tastes.
The chef comes out to visit with you and will accommodate special requests. Overall a very nice meal!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank okie74012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    15
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Gem in Sylacauga”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful romantic dinner thanks to Kara and her staff. Both the food and service were excellent. Generous portions and very reasonably priced. The ambience is great as well. It is a beautiful historic home that makes you feel relaxed and comfortable. We definitely will consider this as a destination restaurant in the future. It was a real surprise to find something of this quality tucked away in Sylacauga, Alabama. Highly recommend it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Warsawx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“An Excellent Evening”
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Our group of 4 loved everything about this dining experience. We were welcomed warmly and the waitstaff was knowledgeable about the creative menu. The truffles in the chicken and pasta soup brought me back to Italy while not overpowering the delicate broth. The salads that were selected were extravagant and created unique flavor combinations. And then came the entrees! The shrimp with Parmesan cream sauce was superb. It is obvious that fresh ingredients and seasonings are a priority. The other diners selected the swordfish and raved about its freshness and tenderness. It was baked to perfection. The special evening concluded with their fantastic bread pudding - large enough to share, good enough to not share. This is a restaurant that would flourish in an urban setting. I hope that local diners and tourists who appreciate the quality will continue to support the excellent chef and upscale southern charm of Buttermilk Hill.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Grandparents2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Arizona
Level Contributor
88 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“overpriced food and the place smells like mold”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We went for a birthday dinner and all four of us were disappointed. The food was pretentiously overpriced, not very fresh tasting, barely warm. The place smelled moldy and we couldn't wait to finish and leave.

Helpful?
5 Thank bobkatran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
132 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Excellent food in a charming location. Service is very good too. Don't miss the collard greens - best in the state!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Talu2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buttermilk Hill Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 

Been to Buttermilk Hill Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing