We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprised that a restaurant in a store could be this good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of ISLAMORADA FISH COMPANY

ISLAMORADA FISH COMPANY
Ranked #12 of 54 Restaurants in Spanish Fort
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Gainesville
Level Contributor
126 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Surprised that a restaurant in a store could be this good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

I work in this area a lot and usually stay at the close-by Courtyard hotel but had never considered eating here. Finally I gave it a try and was nicely surprised. Keep in mind that I ate at the bar. I had one of their salads with a toping of a generous piece of salmon with clam strips as an appetizer. The salad and salmon were great. The clam strips were crispier than I prefer but were still good. On my next trip I had their fried tilapia fish tacos and they were both plentiful and excellent. Their home made bread pudding was outstanding and made from their own loaves of fresh bread. My biggest compliment goes to Jan who was very friendly and helpful in suggesting an entree. The aquarium was very relaxing and gave me something to occupy my time since I was alone. I will definitely go back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rwdragon86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    20
    9
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Alabama
Level Contributor
180 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Better chances elsewhere”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

I wish we had moved on to another location to eat after shopping at the Bass Pro Shop. We stayed and tried the resturant as we were too tired from looking around the store to drive. Bad choice. The waitress forgot our bread the fried fish they are supposedly so well known for was left in the grease too long, the catfish fillets were tiny, and there was barely a handful of fries on each plate. If you look up at the walls you can see a thick layer of dust and its on all of the decorations hung from the ceiling too.
This place had too much of a 'corporate' feel to it for my tastes and a lack-luster of concern or care when it came to delivering on the food. I will not be choosing to eat here ever again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bethoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Definitely a keeper!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

Great Sunday afternoon experience. Good food for the money, overall. We sat at the bar, and there was only one bartender. She seemed overworked, and she.definitely needed another set of hands behind the bar. The selection of bar drinks and.brands was great, but the Bloody Mary that I ordered could have been so much better. And the chowder was good, but tasted as if it had come from a can. I will eat there again, though, and suggest it.to others.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bosscosteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountaintop PA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Unexpected Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

As a business associate and i were nearing the end of our trip we decided to check out the Bass Pro Shop before going out to Dinner. We were both a little tired and decided to give the Islamorada Fish Company a try since it was located right inside the store. Our expectations were not very high but it was convienient. We were very pleased with the atmosphere (there is a huge fish tank in the middle of the restaurant and the walls are decorated with all sorts of great fishing trophies and photos) My Fish and Chips were fantastic and reminded me of places from back home in New England. This was very unexpected and would highly recommend to anyone looking for some really good seafood.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bwilkins1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
90 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“very good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

Stopped by here for dinner after browsing Bass Pro Shop in Spanish Fort. Our waiter seemed kind of "scatter brained", but was nice enough. I got the half order of shrimp pasta and that was MORE than enough. i would hate to see what the whole looked like. My husband ordered some crawfish etoufee over catfish and was pleased with the selection. Very plentiful. My husband ordered a margarita- very tasty. I ordered a peach mixed drink (cannot remember the name), and wasn't too fond of it. Tasted like all alcohol, very strong, but i gulped it down rather quickly. The aquarium in the restaurant was very impressive. Overall, would recommend.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pryncess830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ISLAMORADA FISH COMPANY also viewed

 

Been to ISLAMORADA FISH COMPANY? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing