We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
5 Rivers - Alabama's Delta Resource Center
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Where the Mobile, Spanish, Tensaw, Apalachee and Blakeley rivers flow into Mobile Bay stands an incredible facility for outdoor recreation, conservation and land stewardship in Alabama: 5 Rivers. It's the ultimate place to begin your adventure into over 250,000 acres of scenic waterways, woods and wetlands. Or, simply soak up the natural beauty and history of the region with plenty to do and see at the facility itself.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access
Pembroke Pines, Florida, USA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Gators”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Went to get some exercise on a kayak and experience some of the local outdoor environment. Was pleasantly surprised to run into a ton of wildlife including getting close to 11 alligators. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who has not been close to such a fascinating creature. I am not from around here and not familiar with the area and they provided me with a little waterproofed map that made it even easier to enjoy my adventure.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryanslloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    21
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MOBILE
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“5 Rivers”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

This is really interesting place to visit on the Mobile/Tensaw Delta. Been several times and always find something new. The exhibits are educational and fun for adults and kids. Visitors from out of town should definitely see 5 Rivers Center and see what the Delta is all about.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank OlRokr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great delta safari”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

In addition to the free interpretation center and small museum, we enjoyed a "river safari." Advance reservations are needed for this great family treat. The "captain" was very knowledgeable, and we learned a lot about the delta. We saw areas of the delta that can only be seen by boat. Beautiful birds!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank hbmari22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“worth a visit”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

A small, nice and free interpretation centre explaining the ecology of the 5 rivers delta. Ask to meet "Pepper", she (and her volunteer) are gorgeous.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BoxcarSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great Canoe/Kayak Launch Facilities”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

The center has a lot of useful information of the River Delta system, but I'm particularly fond of the Center for it's Kayak launch at the rear of the park. The state did a great job setting up a landing for non-engine powered craft.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 5 Rivers - Alabama's Delta Resource Center also viewed

 

Been to 5 Rivers - Alabama's Delta Resource Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing