We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bed Bugs” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Selma
Selma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bed Bugs”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2009

I was not aware of the bite until two days after checking out. The bites were on both hands, both arms, both legs, on my back, right and left side of my abdomen,right side of neckand the right side of my cheek. I made an appointment with my dermatologist, she ask me had I been to a hotel lately. My reply was Thanksgining the Comfort Inn Selma, AL room 216 is where the biting came from. I was told this has not been report and their was not a problem.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tweetie2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    12
    10
    2
    6
See reviews for
13
10
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2009

I stayed at the Comfort Inn on business in early March. I almost hate to write this review because the staff themselves seemed very nice, but this hotel has some issues. It's conveniently located, and the $64 per night price was not bad. The room itself was not bad, either, just, maybe, slightly aging. Everything appeared clean. However, on the second night I woke to find about four bedbugs in my bed. I was disgusted. When I called to the lobby for assistance, no one answered. I put on my robe to go down to the lobby only to find the indoor entrance locked, so I had to go outside. I rang the doorbell from out there and no one responded. Finally, I went back to my room and called the main desk from my cell phone and reached someone. The attendant was extremely apologetic and said he'd do whatever he could to accommodate me. I also suspect this attendant works an incredibly long day and is permitted to sleep while on duty at night, perhaps explaining my difficulty in reaching anyone. At any rate, I didn't want another room, so I asked for a discount on my bill and slept the rest of the night in my car. The common areas could use a little sprucing and the breakfast area was not as well kept as it could be. However, the staff seemed very nice (a family?) and seemed appropriately concerned and motivated about addressing the bedbug issue. They said the room would be quarantined so they could investigate. I also had problems with the Wifi, which slowed me down (I was there doing research and had to meet with people and drive to places around an unfamiliar town). Perhaps this was an issue with my laptop, though, I don't know. I suspect the staff is overworked and that's why there are issues here. Again, I had the sense the staff is motivated toward making this a nice place to stay, so it might be worth checking with them again. I have traveled a lot for work and have stayed in much worse places for the price.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melanie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2008

The blurb on this page claims that the hotel is within walking distance of historic downtown and the Edmund Pettus Bridge. Not true--unless you would like to walk three miles. The hotel is located on Highway 14, which seemed to be used as a drag strip for loud cars throughout the night. Moreover, I was awakened by two false fire alarms: once at 1 a.m. and once at 2 a.m. As a result, this was not a very peaceful night for me--but hopefully such alarms do not occur regularly. The room itself was fine.

  • Disliked — Noise throughout the night
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Folklorist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2007

My family from Indiana, Minnesota and Michigan stayed here while attending our family reunion. The hotel was neutrally cleaned, the breakfast was fulfilling----toast, waffles, sausage,eggs, hot and cold cereal, coffee, milk and juices. Although, the owners should hire more help instead of TRYING to be multi-tasked themselves----------IT WOULD DEFINETELY BE AN ABOVE AVERAGE PLACE TO STAY!!!!

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank shalittie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selma
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn Selma
Quality Inn Selma
#4 of 10 in Selma
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Selma
Hampton Inn Selma
#1 of 10 in Selma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Selma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
St. James Hotel
St. James Hotel
#3 of 10 in Selma
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
22.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Marion
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 1812 Al Highway 14 E, Selma, AL 36703-1525
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Selma
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Selma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Selma
Selma Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing