We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Country food for lunch”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
McCutchen's Magnolia House Restaurants
Ranked #10 of 66 Restaurants in Scottsboro
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Hollywood, Alabama
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Country food for lunch”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Eat there about three days a week. Have lots of daily customers. If you like country cooking or salads such as chicken salad, cranberry salad you will like eating here. Only negavtive is that they are only open for lunch. close to the square.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank kafpgf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    17
    4
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scottsboro, Alabama
Level Contributor
45 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Quaint place!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

What a charming place! It is always nice to have a meal in a quaint, comfortable home. The food is consistantly very good and the service always excellent! If you are looking for some place different, you have to check it out. They are open everyday for lunch and sometimes for dinner around holidays.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Metfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nokomis, Florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Ate Valentines Day dinner there and it was perfect. We drove past and thought the old house looked unique and we wanted to try a "local" restaurant. We were greeted with hearts and roses every where when we entered for dinner. The owner met us and poured champagne. Dinner that evening was a fixed menu, We selected from the meals offered and specified how we wanted the steaks cooked. The first item was chocolate covered strawberries. The appetizers were fried stuffed jalapenos stuffed mushrooms fried shrimp, and caprese cherry tomatoes -all excellent. Soup or salad was next My soup was tomato bisque and it was very good. The main meal was steak with a choice of two sides. The steak was perfectly cooked and had a rub that gave it great flavor. The wife had mixed vegtables and garlic potatoes with her steak. She raved about the potatoes. I had sweet potato fries and asparagus both of which were perfectly prepared. Dessert was creme brule' for me and cheesecake for the wife. My dessert was light and flavorful--the best creme brule' I've ever had, and the cheesecake was very good. The owner showed me some of the unique features of the house, filled me in on local history, and in short made us feel welcome and almost family. All of the wait staff were caring and professional.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RckMtn12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
85 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Charmed”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I love to take my Mother to this local Restaurant. It is situated on a huge lot on Willow Street near downtown Scottsboro, Alabama. The menus are appetizing and the buffet is always tasty. I love the atmosphere and the service. Food here is always delicious and you can enjoy a bit of history while you visit. You can use a whole room or just an individual seating arrangement. Their rolls with the honey butter are amazing.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guntersville,AL
Level Contributor
152 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Victorian House Restaurant”
Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

I recently paid a visit to the Unclaimed Baggage store in Scotsboro, AL. I was looking for someplace unique to have lunch. I discovered the Magnolia House, formally the Blue Willow. The house itself is very cute, decorated very Victorian. I do not know the history of the house but in sure there's a story there.
They offered a hot food bar that appeared to include several meats and lots of vegie options. I ordered off of the menu, however. The menu listed several sandwiches and salads. I ordered the salad sampler plate. For around $8.00, it included a lot of food! The chicken salad was not the best I've ever had. It was tasteless. The pasta salad was good and the strawberry pretzel salad was very good. The plate also included a fruit cup and some delicious carrot muffins. They are known for their rolls( which looked like Sister Schubert's) and their strawberry butter and honey butter. The butters were very good and they even sell tubs of them should you wish to take some home. The service was very good. She kept my tea glass full. All in all, it was a nice experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mmjtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McCutchen's Magnolia House Restaurants also viewed

 

Been to McCutchen's Magnolia House Restaurants? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing