We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Meh” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Heights - CLOSED

New Heights
Price range: $20 - $135
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Mediterranean, European, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: The Bund
Bali
Level Contributor
182 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Meh”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

I had my 2nd meal here recently and I can conclude that this restaurant falls short compared to the other establishments in the same building. Although my first visit was good (the burger I had was fabulous), the dinner trip was pretty underwhelming. We had originally planned to go to another restaurant in the Bund, but couldn't get a table, so this was a second choice. We ordered foie gras (good), mushroom soup (very good), ribeye steak (plain awful, rubbery, chewy, overcooked), monk fish (overcooked, dry), apple tart (OK) and ice cream - black sesame (very good), vanilla and caramel (OK). Service is quite good for Shanghai, the view is stunning. The drink prices are high - a non alcoholic lychee drink is RMB65 (yikes!)

I would suggest trying different venues in the same building, if possible.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Louis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    80
    23
    28
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great view bad food and service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

I can't say they didn't try but these people don't know how to run a restaurant. The location and view are fantastic, the seats comfortable. They helpfully arranged our tables to accommodate our shared dishes, the cocktails came and were drinkable if peculiarly uninspired and we thought we were settling into a lovely evening. Then the food arrived. We ordered a mix of SE Asian dishes and Western fair, and both were significantly off the mark. I immediately regretted trying the prawn appetizer which tasted off, a regret that was confirmed a few hours later in the loo. The rest if the dishes were nearly as dubious. Service had ground to a crawl, so it was quite a bit later that we were able to order dessert and coffee. Dessert came without the coffee and after many requests to rectify the omission a fiasco ensued involving another round of unordered cocktails from before the meal. Anyway, I will give this place points for taking comically bad service to New Heights.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lookfar-Seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Level Contributor
78 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

I must admit, before going I had a feeling that the place would be a bit too pretentious but was pleasantly surprised.
Went during the restaurant week where they had 248RMB for four courses.
The environment is okay - in the dining room the spacing is okay but it's too noisy, the view of the bund and Lujiazui is spectacular. The outdoor seating looked nice and seems like a good option during the warmer days.
Service, seating was quick but tried to order a drink when waiting - hard to get hold of the waiters so it too a while - start paying attention to your customers! Order was made, and then forgotten. Then re ordered but got the wrong drink.
Food: bread warm and nice, nothing too special though.
Soup of Jerusalem Artichokes, very nice, really tasty.
Egg plant cannelloni and Serrano ham - also a good combo with cold cannelloni and the saltier ham.
Main was a crusted tuna. Okay but a bit blend, nothing remarkable.
Dessert was a chocolate cake (or brownie maybe they called it) with coffee ice cream. Overall nice with a little bitterness from the chocolate and the ice cream.

Overall pretty good and I will return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank zebbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“What I love most was the service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

I ordered one steak and one pasta. Pasta was good, but the steak was almost burned... Meanwhile, the service was awesome. All crews were very kind and friendly. They gave my table a free cup of sparkling wine for celebrating happy new year in China.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kma2139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, bad service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Been there for christmas brunch. Food is very good, but prices are too high. Feeling is that you only pay for view, which is amazing. Final point was when we asked for coffee and waited for 20 min. Explanation from waitress was that bartender is newcomer. Not what you expect in such place, right?

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anastasiya N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Heights also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing