We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best italian on shanghai”

ShangHai Da Marco Italian Restaurant
Ranked #68 of 16,954 Restaurants in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Zhongshan Park
Riga, Latvia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The best italian on shanghai”
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Make sure to make a reservation and to be hungry: real italian food from an italian chef, copious, some italian waiters, prices reasonable. Go for it, bit hard to find, behind lobby hotel but signs guide you

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ikke48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    143
    52
    18
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
fort lauderdale
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect Italian meal”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Can't say enough about this restaurant. A little hard to find, located in the bottom floor of a luxury apt. building, but definitely worth seeking out. After 3 weeks of local food for lunch and dinner, shared with our tour group, served on a rotating platter, we were ready for a western meal of our choosing, ordered from a menu. We were not disappointed. Being of Italian descent, my wife and I can be tough on Italian restaurants. But we were more than satisfied with our homemade pasta dishes and surprised at our check (which was around $50) for our meal which also included 3 glasses of wine, and a salad. Would definitely go back if we ever return to Shanghai.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank unirhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“seriously good”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

good ingredients, big portions and a lot of coice. Da marco takes his passion for italian food seriously and provides good quality for honest rates. If you want them to cook for your party try the warm catering which is better than the finger food. If you're hungry in Pudong, have a rest at their branch at the Shanghai Italian Centre, the best stop after a lesson in fashion at Istituto Marangoni or after a visit of the Ferrari Museum and the Italian Expo 2010 Pavilion!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank TimBorgmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples fl
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“It was terrific! Loved the Antipasto appetizer.”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

What a treat, after 12 lunches or dinners of lazy susan fried tofu and bok choy to sit down in an energetic restaurant, with an attentive staff, good wine and good food! We were told to go there by a friend who travels to Shanghai, and it lived up to our expectations. We had 5 adults who ordered 2 bottle of wine, the antipasto appetizer- yummy - lamb chops and 4 pasta dinners and the bill was $180 US with a generous tip. IF we ever return to Shanghai, we will return to Da Marco.
We had a reservation - and the restaurant was full so assume they are a good idea.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank CathyO119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tianjin, China
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good italian restaurant in Shanghai”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Very good food, nice pizza, very good service

Truly like italian restaurant with big food portions

Need to book, always very busy

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dante B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ShangHai Da Marco Italian Restaurant also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to ShangHai Da Marco Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing