We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good but.. something is missing”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Jean-Georges

Jean-Georges
Ranked #51 of 16,873 Restaurants in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $250
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Scenic view, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: The Bund
Description: Jean-Georges, opened in 2004, is a pioneer of French fine dining in Shanghai. With the spirit of constantly challenging and reinventing itself, a total renovation has taken place in late 2015. We are now excited to announce the completion of the renovation with brand new bar, lounge, dining room, private room and open kitchen. We look forward to welcoming you back from 1st , April 2016 for a unique experience.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
70 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“good but.. something is missing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

first of all, i wish there was a rating between average and very good as i dont feel this placce is average, but it is definitely not very good either. this was the second time i had dinner at JEan Georges, the first time was about 18 months ago, while the quality of the ingredients and the presentation were great i felt it wasnt the amazing experience it was back then. the dishes were good, the tuna marinade was so overwhelming that you couldnt tell what fish you were eating. portions seem to have shrunk as well.. the tiger prawn main course had two medium sized prawns... they were delicios but it felt more like a starter. but the biggest disappointment of all were the desserts... we picked the milk chocolate mousse and the earl grey fudge.. they were quite heavy and compact. funnily enough the best part of dessert was the free birthday cake we got as it was my partner's birthday... service is patchy, they had to double check twice what our order was.. which seems unacceptable in this king of restuarant. the place is still wonderful, the view amazing but somehow it felt a lot less magical than 18 months ago...

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MRGLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    102
    48
    19
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Expected a bit more”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

I would have gone with 3.5 stars if it were an option. Visited Jean Georges a few days ago. I first noticed that many of the folks there early were dressed quite poorly. Sweatshirts and tracksuits ruled the early part of the evening. I think they should enforce a dress code a bit more and keep these folks in Nougatine.

We both had the spring tasting menu. There were a few standout dishes (the caviar poached egg and sauteed fois gras were excellent) but overall it was just okay. In addition, we actually had to ask to be served our second course after waiting more than 30+ minutes. After that issue, the service was much better.

We enjoyed the food and wine but for Jean Georges, I expect more. Would I go again, perhaps, but this won't become a favorite in a city filled with excellent restaurants.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelgrl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delicious dinner, although pricey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Dinner at Jean Georges in Shanghai was excellent. It is in 3 on the Bund, so you have beautiful views of the Bund. The menus are set; I thilnk there were 3 choices. Plenty of food, but not too much that you walk away stuffed. It is pricey, about $165/person with a glass of wine each, but incredible.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank melegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food service lacking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We had our 10th wedding anniversary celebration there last night.
Food and atmosphere were really exceptional. The tasting menu is a gastronomic feast and exceeded our expectations.
It comes at a price though, but there is value in the offering. The food is raised to a level of culinary art.

The wine list sadly, is difficult, bulky an over priced. No innovation here. Wine pairings available at almost USD250. The strange thing is that nowhere is there a list of wines included in the pairing. If one forks out that sum on wine, then I assume one would like to know the line up beforehand.
Whereas the food was culinary art, the service sadly was not world class. Waiters stretched over us to pour drinks and clear plates, cutlery hastily dropped in front of us and hastily arranged. The haphazard manner tainted the experience a little and if this restaurant work on this aspect of their offering, they will be truly exceptional.
Overall, a great experience and we surely look forward to the next time!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rihannk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco / Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very pricey - Not up to the standard you would expect for a $300 dinner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

I had high expectations for Jean Georges that simply were not met. I had the most expensive tasting menu that runs around $300 for 7/8 courses. The restaurant boasts a 3 Michelin Star chef, but it appears that with 20 restaurants in the Jean Georges portfolio the chef is not really part of the experience a this Three On The Bund location. Waitstaff was sloppy (dropping bread, then dropping cutlery), uninformed about the extensive wine list (even the Sommelier was unable to communicate anything useful to us). As the food arrived - course by course, it was announced in an incoherent way, sometimes by waitstaff who really did not know what they were announcing. Plates were set in front of us haphazardly, such that I had to spin each plate around to what it should have been for what was being served. And the food itself was just not that memorable. I can't recommend this place.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jean-Georges also viewed

 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Jean-Georges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing