We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great pool, good food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Lake Malaren
Ranked #2,358 of 5,035 Hotels in Shanghai
Shanghai
Level Contributor
66 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great pool, good food”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I had read mixed reviews of this hotel but really enjoyed my stay. The staff were attentive and friendly and the lobby/restaurants/meeting rooms have been recently refurbished and are excellent. The hotel facilities are large and very good, especially the deserted and very clean 25m pool. The room are large, comfortable and clean even if the "Versailles" decor is a little out of keeping with the rest of the hotel's more contemporary feel! Breakfast on this full occupancy day was crowded but the food was of a high standard as was the a la carte lunch and the dinner in the excellent Chinese restaurant. This hotel is trying very hard to be great, and when the guest room refurbishment is completed later this year I think it will be. In the meantime, this is a great option for a reasonably priced leisure break away from the city centre, or for a corporate meeting/event. I am not a golfer, but they also apparently now do a very well priced golf package if you fancy playing on a Jack Nicklaus-designed course.

Room Tip: Choose the Golf Course view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dklondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard R, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Lake Malaren, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear DKLondon,

Greetings from Crowne Plaza Shanghai Lake Malaren and thank you for the nice words about our hotel and related services.

Our mission here is to deliver great service to our guests and delighted that we were able to deliver, many things still to work on but this is the mission and we will not rest until all reviews are great.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel and if I can be of assistance to you please do not hesitate to ask.

Sincerely,
Richard Rennie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    44
    22
    11
    10
See reviews for
2
15
2
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
1 review
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Arrived late so could not see the area well but the front of the hotel was very nice the lobby was very nice, most of the other Crowne Plazas I have been to in Shanghai are not as nice.

Staff was very nice asked me if I wanted to join their program but was tired so did not want to wait but did join in the morning.

Room was not bad and was very clean, I called for room service and they were very fast and nice.

A nice hotel which I did not know about before but glad I found it and overall a nice place not too far from downtown to get away from.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, California
Level Contributor
219 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel several times. It is a very nice hotel. It has wonderful potential. It has the perfect location for my business and leisure travels. I always say, it is quirky. Odd things happen, but never anything major but what is next...this stay was different. The staff was more attentive and Michael the Asst. Manager, in particular, was on the job 24/7. He made my stay special, from helping me in house to guiding me to the sub-way downtown without a problem!
I saw a drastic change in every way which I can only attribute to management, as I have stayed there 6 times in the last 6 years. Thank you Michael (and Richard for hiring him) good move!!
I am looking forward to my next stay with pleasure rather than apprehension!!
Lucy

Room Tip: Get the rooms facing the golf course, there is construction on the front of the hotel quite often
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard R, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Lake Malaren, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Lucy,

Thank you very much for the very positive review as well as the notice of Mikael's hard work. We have worked hard on the service here at the hotel and continue to do so on a daily basis, with the mission of our guests looking forward to staying with excitement rather than with apprehension.

If there is anything we can do to help you plan your next visit please do not hesitate to ask.

Kind regards,
Richard Rennie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed here as we were on business in Shanghai, it is quite a way outside the city (not the hotels fault however as you cant help where you are located) there are excellent views of the golf course and the room was very comfortable with all the necessary ameneties, staff were all on hand to help you in any way and were all very professional.
My sticking points are that you had to pay extra for the use of internet (minor issue but irritating as every other hotel we stayed in it was free) but more importantly arriving for breakfast first thing in the morning all the food you would expect to be piping hot is actually cold!? Having been a head chef for some 20 years its alarming to see food especially cooked rice dishes being slowly heated over a period of some hours which is not good practice as rice can be very dangerous if not handled in the correct manner with regard to temperature controls, all the food should be thourally heated then displayed at the appropriate temperature, i would assume that the food was all precooked and not freshly cooked in the morning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lotus3770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard R, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Lake Malaren, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for the overall good review and the point you have brought up with regards to the food has been brought to the attention to the Kitchen team already. We want our guests to start their day right and a good breakfast is part of this. We have changed some of the procedures used which should solve the problem from now on. On you next visit to our hotel please let me we can be of assistance and actually there are quite a few things to do in the area near the hotel and we will do a better job of communicating this to guests as well for a more enjoyable stay.

Sincerely,
Richard Rennie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I stayed at this hotel because it was the desigbated choice for a conference with no alternatives. It is quite a way outside of Shanghai in a newly developed suburb. Tooked nearly an hour to get there from Pudong Airport even at night. There is really nothing much nearby other than the adjoining golf course. So this would not be a great choice for tourists unless you can get a great deal to stay here. The nearest subway station is a very long walk. The hotel is decent enough, not a 5 star hotel that you can find downtown Shanghai. I was struck by the fact that where the iron balcony met the concrete the metal was completely corroded through, leaving intact support in only 2 out of 8 places. Surprising for a relatively new hotel. The place is quiet and the restaurant food was average to slightly above average. The staff was friendly although check out took a while in my case because locals in front if me were arguing over the bill.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KL-XVIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

MY second stay in this hotel. Good location for my business needs but very far from downtown. Good quality room and nice views of golf course. But you have to pay extra for internet. Also if you go for breakfast at 6:30 evrything is cold, cannot understand why they put COLD food into the hot dishes to heat it up - surely they can manage to cook the bacon etc and put it straight ibto the hot dishes and not wait until it is cold - VERY disapponiting breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard R, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Lake Malaren, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Mr. Phil R.

Greetings from Crowne Plaza Shanghai Lake Malaren and we have received your second review of our hotel, we are disappointed that we did not meet the standards we strive for during your stay with us with regards to your breakfast. On behalf of the team and me as General Manager I apologize for this and we will take action immediately to fix the problems causing this.

We will do a full review with our kitchen operations team to ensure that this problem is fixed as we strive to provide food to it's expected temperature.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel and we will have this fixed for sure, if we can be of service to you please do not hesitate to let me know directly if needed.

Sincerely,
Richard Rennie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Stayed 3 nights here recently. Very modern, spacious room, bathroom with seperate shower and bath all usual complimentray amenities, very clean, good service, pictoresque location on golf course, good buffet breakfast, some channels on tv in english. Internet is not free 60RMB for 24 hours, bit far from city centre -1 hour on train, no currency exchange.

Room Tip: Negotiate room rate beforehand, they can give good rate with breakfast included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Crowne Plaza Shanghai Anting
#133 of 5,035 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Crowne Plaza Shanghai
Crowne Plaza Shanghai
#93 of 5,035 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Holiday Inn Shanghai Nanxiang
#190 of 5,035 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waigaoqiao
Crowne Plaza Shanghai Pudong
Crowne Plaza Shanghai Pudong
#78 of 5,035 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Lake Malaren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Lake Malaren

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Lake Malaren
Address: 6655 Hutai Road, No.9 Meilan Road, Shanghai 201908, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,358 of 5,035 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Lake Malaren 4.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Shanghai Lake Malaren is the first international hotel in the Baoshan district, a fast developing, northern suburb of bustling Shanghai. Known for its rich and natural settings on the Lake Malaren Resort, Crowne Plaza Lake Malaren Shanghai is a mere thirty minutes away from Shanghai's city center. The adjoining Lake Malaren Golf Club operates 2 Jack Nicklaus PGA accredited 18-hole courses surrounding the hotel and was certified as the First Silver Signature Sanctuary in China and Asia by Audubon International in 2006. The resort and both golf course are part of the greater Lake Meilan Luodian New North Town development.The newly opened Metro Line 7-Meilan Lake Station is a short 3-minute drive from the hotel. And just 60 minutes to Shanghai Hongqiao International Airport or 90 minutes to Shanghai Pudong International Airport by subway.It is also a short 30 minute drive from the hotel to the city center and easily accessible to Shanghai Pudong International Airport with 75 km by outer-ring road (G1501) and 30 km to Shanghai Hongqiao Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Lake Malaren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing