We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”
Review of Parkview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Parkview Hotel
Ranked #155 of 5,112 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed April 25, 2010

The Parkview offers in my opinion good value for money. A sign, that the competition between the hotels is heating up prior to the Expo. I got the room incl breakfast for 650 RMB.

The Parkview is situated in Pudong, around 30 min by taxi from the International airport, next to the Oriental Art Museum and in walking distance to the Science Museum. Metro line No. 2 is in walking distance as well and offers easy access to the city centre of Shanghai and the Bund. The Plaza shopping centre with a Carrefour supermarket and various shops and restaurant is 15 - 20 min by foot.

As noted by other posters, rooms are spacious and internet connection (free of charge) is surprisingly fast. The bar restaurant offers a mix of Asian and Western food, most of this available via room service also. The Chinese retsaurant in the 2nd floor offers decent Cantonese and Shanghainese food, but as its situated above the hotel lobby offers not a very cosy environment.

Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cityeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
There are newer reviews for Parkview Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

66 - 72 of 155 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2010

First off the name is somewhat misleading, my view was of an 8 lane highway and an electricity substation. Perhaps the park 'was visible from the other direction, or, possibly they were referring to the carpark. But the quality of the building, room, design, free (wired) internet and everything else was super - you can open the windows for a bit of ventilation (I think they are double or possibly even triple glazed keeping the room a stable temperature all over and keeping the highway noise out) and the aircon (heater in this case as it was freezing outside). Big downiside for me staying there for four days was that there was no supermarket, restaurant or streetlife in the vicinity. Pudong is a well kept wastland. Another conundrum: the lobby store sells performance enabling pills for gentlemen but I had to take a 10 min cab ride to find a place that sold panadol/tylonol. And I had to get directions for this from the woman who runs a convenience booth in the Metro because the hotel staff couldn't direct me to a pharmacy.

While the food was well priced for a hotel, and pretty tasty, imagine my disappointment when I discovered that teh room service menu I had been salivating over was out of date so my selection was no longer available. They replaced it and were very nice about it though. They were also very helpful with my phone that was missing a charger by using some only-in-china device that apparently can charge all batteries. it worked on my blackberry at any rate.

Two things were good about breakfast:
1. there is a juicer, this is both fun and healthy
2. if you dont have time to play at making your own juice mix, they have ready made little sandwiches and buns that you can just grab and eat en route to wherever you are late for.

I didn't like how the restaurant and bar were the same space and that the bar area was unatmospherically lit. Its a little thing but it was like trying to go have a quiet drink after work while sitting on a stool on a floodlit stage.

I took a daily shuttle to the SNIEC (shanghai new international exhibition centre) which was not far away (near the maglev terminus).

Anyway overall the place was great at what it was trying to be - a 4 star business hotel in sanitised Pudong. If you have to stay there to be close to what ever business you are doing it's better than great. if you want to experience China or, like, any action at all dont go here. Oh yeah, the fake mall is OK but there is no actual shopping, for anyone who wants to buy actual stuff.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mediarate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2010

Stayed on the 8th floor of this hotel, and could not sleep at night because of the traffic noise. The room's window has very poor sound insulation. The breakfast buffet is very mediocre with limited selection of western food dishes which are not replenished when they run out. Check-in process was one of the slowest I've ever had with staff having bare minimum knowledge of English.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boujee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2009

I have visited the Parkview several times this year and I find it to be a very comfortable hotel that provides everything needed by the business traveller. It is in a great location, maybe just 5 minutes walk from the Metro so you can go anywhere quickly and without the need for a cab. The rooms are large and comfortable, with all the facilities needed for business travel. I would strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salthound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed October 1, 2009

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed September 21, 2009

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed September 18, 2009

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Century Park
Crowne Plaza Century Park Shanghai
Century Park
Grand Mercure Shanghai Century Park
Century Park
Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Century Park
Dorsett Shanghai
Dorsett Shanghai
#74 of 5,112 in Shanghai
461 reviews
World Expo
Holiday Inn Pudong Nanpu
Holiday Inn Pudong Nanpu
#135 of 5,112 in Shanghai
233 reviews
Tong Mao Hotel
#531 of 5,112 in Shanghai
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkview Hotel

Address: No.555 Dingxiang Road, Pudong New Area, Shanghai 200135, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Century Park , Shanghai New International Expo Center
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Shanghai
#71 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#122 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#137 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#139 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $101 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parkview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Parkview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkview Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing