We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel”
Review of Parkview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Parkview Hotel
Ranked #155 of 5,111 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We've just stayed in the Parkview on two occasions during a recent visit to Shanghai. A good sized room, with nice large comfortable bed and clean bathroom. A great view of the city from our 11th floor window and a good location for quick transport links into the city. On our first visit breakfast was part of the deal, a great selection of food, but the hot food was only warm, on the plus side the coffee was wonderful. On our second visit breakfast was not part of the deal which was a little disappointing and not worth the additional 15 pounds per person. The staff were OK but not as friendly as other hotels we've stayed in whilst in China. Overall a good hotel which I would recommend staying in.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ginny0709, Front Office Manager at Parkview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your feedback to us and I am pleased that overall you liked our hotel. We really appreciate your positive comments on the hotel and the service experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
There are newer reviews for Parkview Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

38 - 44 of 154 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2013

Very Nice Hotel, Beautiful and comfortable Room. Beds were very comfortable. Breakfast had a large spread.. Hot and Cold both.

The inhouse Spa was very nice and relaxing.

Very prompt Room service, food was good!

Although the first room they gave me, it had problems with AC, so they changed my room.

Staff was friendly in giving directions and helped wherever needed.

A good business Stay.

Room Tip: Rooms are comfortable
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarthakntaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I travel to Shanghai a couple of times a year for work, and have been staying here for the last 3 years. Its a good price for a hotel of this standard and this location. Its very close to the Exhibition Centre, but just as easy to get to The Bund or Xintandi and other tourist areas. Nothing is more than a 20 minute taxi ride away (which is close in Shanghai Terms).

The rooms are clean, the staff are attentive, and the breakfasts are great. I always enjoy my stay, and look forward to coming back.

Room Tip: Never had a bad room.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights in March 2013 to attend trade show at the nearby SNIEC. This is a good business hotel if you are attending the SNIEC. My main issue is to do with how warm the hotel rooms are. I have stayed here before (2011 March and 2012 March) and had the same issue. The thermostat appears to be permanently set to 23C in the room, regardless of what temperature you set. So when you come back after being out all day the room is very warm. However the rest of the hotel is very pleasant. Staff are very helpful and the restaurant (Ming Palace on second floor) is very good, if you are really stuck for a meal. The one problem I had this time around was the cold bacon that was on offer for the breakfast buffet - it is not very nice! I have also noticed that the room rates are hiked up during the week of the March show. The hotel is very convenient for the metro (a 5 minute walk), which will take you anywhere in Shanghai. Overall as others have said this is a good business hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. If you stay here during any of the show periods, the chances are that you will pay more and then it may be worth looking at the very near Crowne Plaza hotel (about the similar cost).

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jjtBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

best hotel i have stayed in shanghai, staff,food and hotel are fantastic. nice and clean.
and after a hard days travelling , the massage at the end of the day was to die for. best i have had. go and see lisa. highly recommended

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 206dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This had been my first trip to China with bias mind of dirt place, lot of people (though I am from India), very little facilities to public transportation etc.

I must admit that; all of my imaginations or thoughts turned out be wrong. Shanghai (Pudong area) is one of the best cities I have seen so far with excellent infrastructure.

We were exhibiting at one of the fair at New Expo center in last September 2012 & some associate from venue developer sent us the list of hotels.

Since Parkview was the cheapest & nearest to the Expo, we booked it right away (it was a last minute booking we made - just 4 days before). We checked in at midnight with formalities that took less than 5 minutes at the reception.

The room was reasonably large + wash are big enough with all thinkable amenities. The food we ordered as room service was delivered in less than 20 minutes (ordered after midnight) & looked fresh + hot.

The rate was inclusive of free internet & breakfast for 2 during the entire stay. Lot of varieties for the breakfast but limited for vegetarian or vegan. Still you will find good assortments from bakery & fruits platter. One can find same menu on alternate days but taste were real nice & good enough if one wants to skip the lunch.

The staff - most cooperative & eager to assist with your queries. From my personal travelling experience round the world in last 5 years; I am giving them 8 out of 10.

Location wise it's perfect choice, value for money, absolute clean premises, cooperative staff & eatable food - worth considering for next stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maulik6676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Great hotel with excellent service. The price is reasonable for the business traveler. Good clean rooms some of which have very nice views especially at night. They appreciate your business, I checked in several times within a three month period and on the last time I was upgraded to a very nice suite. The restaurant on the lobby floor is good and offers a buffet breakfast and dinner which is always have a nice selection of seafood

Room Tip: If you like this hotel and you travel frequently to Shanghai, you may be able take advantage of thei...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Century Park
Crowne Plaza Century Park Shanghai
Century Park
Grand Mercure Shanghai Century Park
Century Park
Renaissance Shanghai Pudong Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Century Park
Dorsett Shanghai
Dorsett Shanghai
#71 of 5,111 in Shanghai
459 reviews
World Expo
Holiday Inn Pudong Nanpu
Holiday Inn Pudong Nanpu
#135 of 5,111 in Shanghai
233 reviews
Tong Mao Hotel
#478 of 5,111 in Shanghai
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkview Hotel

Address: No.555 Dingxiang Road, Pudong New Area, Shanghai 200135, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Century Park , Shanghai New International Expo Center
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Shanghai
#71 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#122 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#138 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#150 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $102 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parkview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Parkview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkview Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing