We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice experience!”
Review of Parkview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Parkview Hotel
Ranked #150 of 5,161 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I stayed at Parkview twice in June 2012. The first impression of the hotel is good, with a spacious and stylish lobby. The check-in process for both times were a bit cumbersome, which is often the case in China. However, I ended up being upgraded the first stay, which was nice.

The rooms are spacious, but it turned out my second stay - at a cheaper rate room - had a better room, as it was a corner room with lots of windows and a nice view in 2 directions. When walking into the rooms you get a very fresh and clean impression. The bathrooms are nice and modern, with much space and all the regular equipment.

As I arrived late one evening I ordered in room dining. I had the pizza. I was hungry so it went down OK, but I cannot unfortunately recommend it. The breakfast is good, you will find lots of Western and Chinese style of dishes, in addition to that there is much fruits and other items.

Location is good for flying in to Pudong, and taxi is no more than 100Rmb/25minutes (outside of rush hour). You are quite centrally located but you will need to use train or taxi to get around.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room as they are big and have views in 2 directions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k-daniel-a-sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

55 - 61 of 161 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2012

I am having exactly the same experience as Kopi-O. It is May 2nd, quite warm, but the hotel decided not to turn on the central A/C. It is 25 degrees in my room, and they only suggestion they had was to open up the windows (with tons of noise outside).
On the positive side, the room and the hotel are nice.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sven D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

The hotel is very clean and well maintained. The housekeeping staff was also very good and thoughtfull- even putting the airline slippers, which had fallen out of my bag in front of the bed for my use- even though there were a "real" pair of slippers in the closet. The room is well-furnished including an iron and ironing board. Good selection of TV channels with a newer HD Flat Screen.
The shower and bath room were clean.

The Parkview is also within walking distance to the Shanghai Metro. You can take the Metro to Pudong Airport from there. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fishers56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

I was there in Sep 2011 (yes, I waited this long and still feel that I should comment about it) and spent some afternoons working from the room. It got extremely stuffy and hot and I realised the a/c has been switched off. Called the hotel reception about the heat and they sent a technician up to check the a/c. He came and obviously didn't know what the problem was and said that he would lower the temperature from the main unit.

After a while, the heat continued to build up and I called again. This time, I was told to open the windows to "let cool wind in" (there was hardly cool air, not to mention wind! and not to mention the noise from the highway downstairs). It then dawned on me that the a/c was not even switched on! When I refused to open the window, their next brilliant solution was to bring me a bucket of ice and a fan!!!??? They said that the central a/c was not turned on as business travellers are out if the hotel during that time and it was cool outside (it was an extremely sunny day and i could hardly breathe in the room! and I even waited for my husband to come back into the room and waited for him to complain to me before I made that call to the recep).

I found their excuses and lies unacceptable since the hotel room that was paid for definitely included a/c and it was obvious they knew right from the beginning that a/c was off. It was only after much insistence did they finally agree to turn it on and we could finally get to work.

Their staff definitely should be more forthright!

On a positive note, the room was great.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kopi-O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

This is far from being the largest hotel in Pudong New area but is the best on so many levels. The hotel is luxurious and maintained to the highest standards. It is designed by a French Architect and has the feel that this brings. The staff were first class and made the stay very special.
The hotel is well located and despite its lack of hight (only 16 floors) offers first class views over Century Park, which is only a short walk away. It is close to the Metro Station and only 3km from the Expo Centre.
At the end of my stay I took a taxi to Pudong International Airport which is about 35km. The journey time was just under 30 minutes and cost 175 RM. (£17)
I have stayed at other hotels in the area but the experience of staying at the Parkview will bring back during my next visit to China.

Room Tip: Take a free cycle from the hotel into Century Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Recently stayed unexpectedly at the Parkview after a flight was cancelled. Since it was short notice, I was booked in to a Junior Suite. It was very luxurious. Very nice suite with beautiful bathroom and very comfortable bed. They also bargained on the price which made it even better. Would thoughly recommend the experience (although flight cancellations are a hassle!)

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salthound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

nice hotel in Pudong, had a large business room with nice spacy bathroom (1,100 RMB), had flat screen TV with some english speaking channels like CNN, Fox and star sports (ESPN), roof construction with a lot of glass around the balcony a little annoying when it rains (hear the rain drops pounding on the glass), breakfast cost extra and is a little expensive, but fine (150 RMB), ca. 45 minutes from Beijing Capital airport by taxi (ca. 70 RMB)

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blueskies15-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Century Park
Grand Mercure Shanghai Century Park
World Expo
Holiday Inn Pudong Nanpu
Holiday Inn Pudong Nanpu
#147 of 5,161 in Shanghai
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Century Park
Dorsett Shanghai
Dorsett Shanghai
#76 of 5,161 in Shanghai
481 reviews
Century Park
Jumeirah Himalayas Hotel Shanghai
Century Park
Crowne Plaza Century Park Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkview Hotel

Address: No.555 Dingxiang Road, Pudong New Area, Shanghai 200135, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Century Park , Shanghai New International Expo Center
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Shanghai
#73 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#105 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#122 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#135 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $87 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parkview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Parkview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkview Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing