We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our first meal”

ShangHai DiShuiDong (MaoMing South Road)
Ranked #25 of 16,893 Restaurants in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Former French Concession
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our first meal”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

the food was fantastic, the decor was a little confusing , but fun... On our list of places to return to on our next visit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bookbinder52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    145
    38
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Siglistorf, Switzerland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Tasty food exelent service and good value for money”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Huge card. The service is kind observant and fast. The food is great and it is possible to find something for I guess every taste. Maybe not stylish, but a very nice atmosphere. Not a place to celebrate the 10 year wedding day but a place to bring friends for a nice dinner

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lars K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great Hunan Food”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I had a late night meal here with some friends. It's great open dining room. The food was delicious and very reasonably priced. The spare ribs and mapo tofu was great. The fish head was a bit disappointing. The service was so-so, but it worked.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
87 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Spicy and good”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We went to this place after bar hopping on Hengshan Road. We liked the food a lot and one of the reasons was that we were yearning for some spicy food after days of relatively bland diet (we are from India). We were not disappointed. The ribs were excellent and so were the other items of food. The ambiance was decent and the staff members were friendly. I'll definitely recommend this place.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GautamMu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
95 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Go easy on the spice”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was our second visit to Di Shui Dong, the first occurring on a trip to Shanghai last year. We learned our lesson then - if you are not accustomed to spicy food, go easy on the spice. This time around we asked our waiter to keep things mild and really enjoyed the ribs with hunan spices, as well as the spicy eggplant and green beans. Last year we tried the jelly-like noodles, thinking they'd be relatively mild. They weren't - they've been marinated in a chili paste so if you've sensitive tastebuds, avoid at all costs!

On the whole it was an enjoyable meal, reasonably priced in a quaint French Concession neighbourhood. The only thing that marred it slightly was our waitress, who was either having a bad night or really hated her job.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MelbTraveller2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ShangHai DiShuiDong (MaoMing South Road) also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to ShangHai DiShuiDong (MaoMing South Road)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing