We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food, Cool Place, Catalan Modernist Asian Fusion”

T8 Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #248 of 16,925 Restaurants in Shanghai
Price range: $0 - $100
Cuisines: Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Xintiandi
West Coast, USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Cool Place, Catalan Modernist Asian Fusion”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

This is a very popular, dimly lit restaurant in the upscale French concession-area. It's surrounded by lots of busy restaurants, shops and night clubs.

The head chef is Catalan and cooks in an open kitchen using moderinist techniques. He is friendly and takes pride in his work. Rest of staff is great too.

We made a same-day reservation for a table at 9:30PM on Weekend night. Restaurant was full with some open seats at the open-kitchen bar. Our table also gave us a great view of the kitchen.

Food is excellent, but expensive. We had a light dinner and bottle of wine. Wound up spending $130 per person all-in.

Amuse-Bouche: $0
Pumpkin Soup: $15: Very good. Creamy. The mushroom soup also looked amazing.
Snow Peas with ginger: $10: Outstanding! Good-sized portion.
Sea Bass: $50: Very Good; generous portion.
Australian Wagyu Beef Grade 5 150g Tenderloin with choice of 3 sauces: $65 Excellent (this was the least expensive steak option).

We wound up spending $130/per person, including 10% service charge & a 4% somewhat hidden credit card currency conversion charge for US-based cards. They said they can't process US cards in CNY. I would have rather paid cash had I know about this.

This was our most expensive meal in china. Overall, an excellent experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyTravels503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    68
    27
    17
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
137 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Third time best...”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Having visited T8 twice before in the last few years and had memorably good experiences, I took a colleague here again recently, and was so impressed that I felt the need to review this place properly.

The restaurant is located in the renovated Xintiandi heritage area, and occupies an old 19th century shikumen house, tastefully decorated with water features, carved screens, Asian art pieces and soft lighting.

Usually the dining area is on the ground floor around the open kitchen – which is always dynamic and lively – but this evening we were seated upstairs because a private function occupied the entire ground level. When I asked our waitress about this she said that the upstairs is usually reserved for private functions, which struck me as slightly odd because it’s more redolent of an upscale restaurant space than the downstairs area – attractively designed, low-lit, super comfortable and with plenty of space between tables; albeit with less cool music…

So far so good, and things only got better with the arrival of the starters. My foie gras was a sumptuously thick and perfectly seared slab of heaven, presented as a Kandinsky-esque art piece and worthy of inclusion in my top 5 list of all time foie gras dishes. The Wagyu steaks that followed were similarly excellent and just the right size for those with carnivorous desire - served with perfect béarnaise and pepper sauces, and well portioned sides. We followed these with a superb berry concoction for dessert and properly strong espresso Martinis.

It’s worth noting that the menu is not extensive, which worked for me, but could also be regarded as limited. I remembered this from last time – but what is on it is generally excellent. Having said that, steak-lovers may feel somewhat held hostage to the predominance of wagyu cuts at the expense of more ‘regular’ options (although Stockholm Syndrome will inevitably kick in…).

In contrast to the limited menu, the wine list is a veritable encyclopedia; full of sensational – although relatively expensive – choices. As an Aussie wine fan I was chuffed to find a bottle of Henschke Keyneton Estate which was perfect for the steaks, but at over 800RMB (around USD$130) didn’t come cheap. And that’s really the theme here – top notch drinks, food, wine and service at semi eye-watering prices. Perfect for the expense account-ers, but real money for those paying their own way…

Baolo, the lady who had taken my phone reservation, was also our server, and she – along with the other staff – was excellent. Baolo was charismatic, enthusiastic, spoke great English, and had a proper service mindset. I mention this because it isn’t the norm in many / most Shanghai establishments, even the other really good ones. Baolo’s are few and far between.

At the end of the night, my colleague & I declared this to be one of the best ever Shanghai restaurant experiences – although Mr & Mrs Bund just eclipses it (see separate review) - and I’m already planning a return visit on my next Shanghai trip. T8 is always great – although on this occasion it was the greatest.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johnlisa27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great view & meal from the kitchen side seats”
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

We managed a booking for two with 45 minutes notice to sit down at 7:30pm and after being there for an hour it was very full so we already felt lucky. Superb martini menu for a starter and then we settled into entrees of Iberian ham and tuna tataki which was quickly delivered. Both were great to see put together and were lovely to eat. Wines are not cheap (no surprises), but we did have a good chianti which accompanied our meal. Next up for us was the sea bass and the suckling pig. . The fish was superbly cooked but unfortunately pale in comparison to the generously flavoured, supremely tender, salt driven, gelatinous and succulent pig. Unfortunately it didn't stand a chance against that taste 'monster'. Garlic mash is something I normally don't get excited about, but this was textural, rich and a sensationl accompaniment to the pork. Not so the fish. Poor choice I suppose on our end. Lovely attentive service, which only went slightly astray at dessert but from our viewpoint overlooking the cool and calm and well organised kitchen theatre it didn't matter. This is great place for foodies to get up close and spend some serious money on a superbly well done meal, especially from one of the seast in front of the pans

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hanoi_Simo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Worth the price”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

After some indecision finally made a booking here for our one child free night in Shanghai.Booking at 7.30 on a Saturday & restaurant quiet enough that we could choose to sit at the chef's table. Definitely worth it. Service started with a drink & we had time to watch the meals being plated in the kitchen. A wonderful tempter and then menus arrived. The Iberico ham sitting in front of us could not be refused and then the tuna tataki - both tasted as good - or better than they looked. Then perfectly cooked fish and the pork belly. The dulce de leche ice cream was amazing . Only let down some slow service on providing a affogato and port to finish. Expensive but worth it for quality food & fabulous to chat with the chef & watch him & his team at work. Was like theatre to watch each dish being prepared & trying to work out what it was.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ange_in_Hanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Good!”
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Expensive, but good. We tasted the pumpkin soup which was amazing. The steaks were also good. All the sides were great! The staff is very polite and the space is very comfortable: right amount of light. Of course you pay all this...

Helpful?
Thank LOFT61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed T8 Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to T8 Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing