We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of T8 Restaurant and Bar

T8 Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #225 of 16,842 Restaurants in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $100
Cuisines: European, Contemporary, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Xintiandi
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Worth the price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

After some indecision finally made a booking here for our one child free night in Shanghai.Booking at 7.30 on a Saturday & restaurant quiet enough that we could choose to sit at the chef's table. Definitely worth it. Service started with a drink & we had time to watch the meals being plated in the kitchen. A wonderful tempter and then menus arrived. The Iberico ham sitting in front of us could not be refused and then the tuna tataki - both tasted as good - or better than they looked. Then perfectly cooked fish and the pork belly. The dulce de leche ice cream was amazing . Only let down some slow service on providing a affogato and port to finish. Expensive but worth it for quality food & fabulous to chat with the chef & watch him & his team at work. Was like theatre to watch each dish being prepared & trying to work out what it was.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ange_in_Hanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    66
    27
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Expensive, but good. We tasted the pumpkin soup which was amazing. The steaks were also good. All the sides were great! The staff is very polite and the space is very comfortable: right amount of light. Of course you pay all this...

Helpful?
Thank LOFT61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUSTRALIA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Could be so much better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Went by myself, and was greeted by manager Alex, on a Thursday night.
Sitting at the chefs bar, it was great to watch the food being created.
Entree was a goats cheese said with watermelon, but really was mainly feta. Olive oil ice cream was an interesting touch.
Main was the suckling pig, two cubes 5cm square, was assisted with some salad, it was a little dry.
I had a tea based coctail.
Overall pace and food was good,
Price was $115 us, which I think is expensive, I was given to chocolates for dessert, which were v nice.
So improve the food, and lower prices, to improve overall value.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DOCWAYNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stunning restaurant with wonderful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

I have eaten at this restaurant a few times with friends and we are always really impressed by the quality of the food, the presentation and the friendliness and professionalism of the staff.
I would go back again and again and again if I could

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Geoff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great flavours but steak was tough”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Visited as part of a group with a set menu. Ambience in the restaurant is great and for the most part the food was excellent and exteremely well presented. Flavours were really great but the Beef Striploin let the meal down. It was so tough that one of our party only ate about a quarter of it. This is a restaurant that i will return to though.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank derek28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed T8 Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to T8 Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing