We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, affordable hotel in Shanghai”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
URBN Boutique Shanghai
Ranked #38 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great, affordable hotel in Shanghai”
Reviewed August 16, 2009

A really funky boutique hotel, that was very reasonably priced and had great room and staff.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macfilms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    139
    34
    12
    13
See reviews for
28
170
76
213
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2009

Had a great stay in Shanghai at the URBN property. Room was very cool with bathtub near the bed and a nice area to lounge. The downtstairs is really pretty and enjoyable for a drink. Service staff is helpful and accomodating.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dshap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2009

Shanghai was the first and last port of call on our 2 week trip to China...we arrived exhausted to a private airport pick up from the URBN hotel and were very relieved when we made it to the hotel. it is a haven for weary travellers! The staff were efficient from start to finish...although some spoke English better than others they gladly met all our requests (even arranging the booking of all of our internal flights...albeit with a little confusion and delay...a notebook for the change of shift would be welcome addition to the hotel!)

The rooms were spacious and tranquil...the bed was enormous and super comfortable! The bathroom in room 13 did have a tendency to become a little flooded after using the shower as the drainage wasn't at its best but i cant say that it really bothered us that much! the bathtub was so large you need to allow for a good 20 minutes to fill it! We also stayed in room 12 which was with the garden view...also a fantastic room. well designed and well appointed to match with the rest of the hotels features...

the restaurant was great (we didn't eat there in the evening but had drinks etc) and breakfast was one of the best that we had in China...living in Italy we have very high expectations for coffee and the cappuccino was fantastic....! After midnight the restaurant is all shut down and the hotel is very quiet...could be a positive or a negative!

The location was great, it was away from what felt to be the crazyness of the Bund etc but walking distance to the French Concession and a short taxi ride from any other area of the city.

I would also strongly recommend a foot or chinese massage at the Sugar and Spice Massage Parlour next to the hotel (come out of the hotel and turn left, 2-3 doors down). it was around £10-£15 for an hour and the girls were fantastic...open until 2am so it was great for anyone suffering from jet lag

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Somuchtosee_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2009

The restaurant was totally empty on a Friday night.
The Chinese staffs were quite nice and helpful
The manager (Maybe French, not sure) was SO rude and I just can’t believe the way he spoke to us…
The food wasn’t all that great for its price but the Expat manager’s attitude totally ruined my night.
I will NEVER EVER go back to this restaurant again. No wonder there was no other customers in the restaurant!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pekopoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestmgr, Guest Relations Manager at URBN Boutique Shanghai, responded to this review, August 10, 2009
Dear Pekopoko,

I would like to thank you for your feedback!

I believe our general manager got back to you already. As I understood you were not staying at the URBN hotel...I hope you will give us a chance to meet your expectations and more!

Sincerely,

The URBN Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2009

Urbn Hotel was hands down the best introduction to Shanghai! We arranged a private hotel pick up for the airport. We where greeted by English speaking hotel employees and helped up to our room. Urbn is the first carbon neutral hotel in Asia which was a huge reason we wanted to check it out. It has gotten tons of amazing press, but sticks true to its "boutique hotel" feel. With inly about 20 rooms it stays quiet yet fun!

The rooms where very comfortable! free wi-fi was a huge plus! Free fruit and water in the rooms. Bathroom had a huge shower and plunge bath tub! The gym was full of the most up to date equipment. The location is on a quieter side street which is a huge plus in a bustling city like Shanghai! It is easy to grab a taxi outside and the hotel stays quiet! All materials used to build the hotel are local or recycled. Also they use all the most energy efficient technology so the hotel does not waste energy.

The whole staff was extremely helpful, even arranging and booking flights for us to Beijing and charging them to the room. They wrote everything down in Chinese for us before we would venture out for the day. This made things so much easier to just show the taxi driver where we wanted to go, since really no taxi drivers speak English. I would recommend this hotel to people of all ages! It truly was a fabulous experience and when we go back to Shanghai we will def stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SanDiegoCA09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestmgr, manager at URBN Boutique Shanghai, responded to this review, August 26, 2009
How great to read your review!

Every day we are doing our best to offer you an unforgettable experience...

All URBN Team is looking forward to receiving you and your friends again and again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2009

We stayed two nights at URBN and truly enjoyed our stay. The hotel has a beautiful design and nice spacious rooms. In particular the courtyard is a gem. After a day of walking Shanghais crowded streets it was an enchanting experience to sit quietly in the lush courtyard beneath the shadow of large trees and enjoy a cool beverage. You would never imagine that you were in the center of one of the world’s busiest metropolis. We also stayed two nights at Jia, and very much enjoyed our stay at both hotels. If we are to return to Shanghai we would probably spend all nights at URBN due primarily to the courtyard. The service at Jia was, however, better and whereas URBN added many extra expenses to the final bill everything (including evening wine) was included in the daily rate at Jia.

Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Monemor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestmgr, manager at URBN Boutique Shanghai, responded to this review, August 26, 2009
I hope your stay at URBN inspired you!

I'm glad to read that we will have the chance to welcome you again on your next visit to Shanghai, but this time we will try harder to exceed your expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beiing
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2009

This Hotel is an oasis tucked away on a busy back street in Shanghai. As soon as you step into the grounds the noise stops and serenity surrounds you. The rooms are comfortable and roomy - the bed is low to the ground but heavenly. The bath is big enough for two and the bath product - lovely. The TV is large and swivels to insure you can always view it. The restaurant attached makes (which is very rare in Shanghai) excellent EXCELLLENT coffee and great meals - I am still dreaming about the Ceaser Salad! I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel to other 'trippers' with style and who respect simple, effective design and are enviromental and consciously caring about carbon counting!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dalwyn_in_the_Jing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jing'an
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
#5 of 5,059 in Shanghai
1,436 reviews
Jing'an
Cachet Boutique Shanghai
Cachet Boutique Shanghai
#56 of 5,059 in Shanghai
213 reviews
Jing'an
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
#49 of 5,059 in Shanghai
1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
The Yangtze Boutique Shanghai
#42 of 5,059 in Shanghai
764 reviews
South Bund
Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund
Jing'an
THE ONE Executive Suites managed by Kempinski-Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to URBN Boutique Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about URBN Boutique Shanghai

Property: URBN Boutique Shanghai
Address: No.183 Jiaozhou Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#38 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#42 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#140 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — URBN Boutique Shanghai 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
URBN Boutique Shanghai, the award-winning design-meets-sustainable boutique hotel, is ideally located in Shanghai's bustling downtown.  A former warehouse, the redesigned hotel is located on a quiet tree-lined street in Jing'an District with an abundance of independent bars and cafes in the surrounding streets and is only minutes away from the commercial shopping district and subway lines 2 and 7. URBN Boutique Shanghai offers sleek rooms and suites over 4 floors with a blend of contemporary, minimalist aesthetics and modern day comforts such as the COCO-MAT Renewal Bed, free wifi, a DVD home theater unit, high-definition television, an in-room safe, a selection of New York fashion designer Jay Godfrey's paraben-free bathroom amenities, a well-stocked mini bar and one-of-a-kind artwork. The hotel also features a 24-hour gym and an on-property restaurant which serves a selection of cuisine with a wide selection of craft beers, artisanal cocktails, and wine in a casual atmosphere both inside and under the tented courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your URBN Boutique Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urbn Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing