We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hip eco-green oasis in nervous Shanghai”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
URBN Boutique Shanghai
Ranked #30 of 5,160 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2012

I didn't like Shanghai and its restaurants as much as I anticipated, but my hotel was just perfect ! Urbn's architecture and interior design of this relatively small hotel are hip, eco (carbon-neutral) and simply great. My room was both original and convenient. The food and winelist at the downstairs restaurant were of a high international level. I loved all about Urbn !

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jantheys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
URBNhotels, Guest Relations Manager at URBN Boutique Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2012

Greetings from URBN Hotels Shanghai! Thank you for taking time to write a review of our hotel. Our hotel emphasizes sustainability, convenience and comfort. We appreciate your kind words about our restaurant, sorry to hear your thoughts about other restaurants in town were not as positive. We hope to see you at URBN again soon!

Jonathan Ma
Guest Experience Manager
URBN Hotels Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (615)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

354 - 360 of 615 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2012

Stayed for business in November based off TripAdvisor recommendations and it exceeded every expectation. The rooms were spacious and well appointed, the staff went out of their way to make our weeklong stay exceptional, and the restaurant did not disappoint. In fact, we found ourselves complimenting both the chef and restaurant manager for serving meals beyond what we had a Jean Georges. Jonathan in guest services also provided excellent restaurant recommendations for us from Shanghaiese to Sushi. An effect choice for either business or pleasure, I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SRHGreenville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
URBNhotels, Guest Relations Manager at URBN Boutique Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2012

Greetings from URBN Hotels Shanghai! Thank you for taking time to write a review of our hotel. We really appreciate your enthusiasm and support. Our staff is more than happy to assist all of our guests to make their stay at URBN memorable. Also, it is great to know that you enjoyed the meals at our world-famous restaurant as well as the recommendations offered to you. We hope to see you at URBN again soon!

Jonathan Ma
Guest Experience Manager
URBN Hotels Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

The hotel is an oasis of calm in bustling Shanghai. The decor is overall stylish and tasteful and the hotel's mission to be "green" is fantastic. The rooms themselves are comfortable with a few negatives being the dark bathrooms, lack of towel bars, and not enough hangers in the closet. What really sets this hotel apart is the incredible staff. Unfortunately, our luggage did not make it to Shanghai, but Clark at the front desk was on top of it from the moment we arrived. Through his own initiative he continued to call the airport to try and locate our luggage. We were very appreciative of this as few airport staff spoke English. Clark went above and beyond what was expected, which is not often the case in hotels in China. I would definitely recommend URBN for short stays in Shanghai.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ninapussycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
URBNhotels, Guest Relations Manager at URBN Boutique Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2012

Greetings from URBN Hotels Shanghai! Thank you for taking time to write a review of our hotel. Constant improvements to our service level and facilities are our top priority: we appreciate the points you raised about where we can boost our hotel amenities and will take action immediately. We are sorry to hear your airline lost your bags, it is reassuring to hear that our agent Clark assisted in the recovery process. We look forward to seeing you again soon; hopefully next time your bags will make it too!

Jonathan Ma
Guest Experience Manager
URBN Hotels Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

I learned about URBN from a NY Times 2012 Travel article. The property is great & the decor from reclaimed French Concession materials is tastefully done & definitely cool. Friendly staff, great restaurant & bar. Hope to get back when the weather is warm to enjoy the patio.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
URBNhotels, Guest Relations Manager at URBN Boutique Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2012

Greetings from URBN Hotels Shanghai! Thank you for taking time to write a review of our hotel. All of the material used to build the hotel are locally sourced and/or recycled and support our carbon-neutral ethos. The hotel and restaurant staff are constantly working to improve the experience of our guests so that their stay with us is memorable and unsurpassed. We hope to see you soon when the weather is warmer!

Jonathan Ma
Guest Experience Manager
URBN Hotels Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

This is a big call but I would say one of the best boutique hotels I have stayed in (and I have travelled quite a bit for the record!). Probably best described as downright "cool". Staff were incredibly hospitable, nothing was a problem, the decor was stylish and modern whilst being warm and cosy. We had both dinner and breakfast - both were fresh and delicious! To top everything off it is a sustainable project that is carbon neutral and eco friendly. You have to check it out!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexia142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
URBNhotels, Guest Relations Manager at URBN Boutique Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2012

Greetings from URBN Hotels Shanghai! Thank you for taking time to write a review of our hotel. We greatly appreciate your enthusiasm and support for our hotel. Our staff are always more than happy to assist guests with anything they may need. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your meals at the restaurant; the concepts behind the dishes all support sustainability without sacrificing taste, a perfect recipe.

Jonathan Ma
Guest Experience Manager
URBN Hotels Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Located on a small, relatively quiet street. Convenient location with a metro station nearby.

We really loved the room! Spacious (for 1,200 Rmb) with a cozy sofa and work station. A bath tub right by the bed. Although we didn't get a view, it was so relaxing and we fully enjoyed the room.

The dining experience was, on the other hand, didn't meet our expectations. As a hotel guest, we got complementary breakfast and drink/snack during happy hour. The servicing staff was kind and attentive, but The food quality did not match with our expecataions based on our experience as a hotel guest as well as other occasions we dined as outside guests.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank siamesechocolat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
URBNhotels, Guest Relations Manager at URBN Boutique Shanghai, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2012

Greetings from URBN Hotels Shanghai! Thank you for taking time to write a review of our hotel. Our rooms all emphasize the perfect balance between work and play. We are very sorry to hear that our restaurant did not meet your expectations - we have passed your valuable comments to our F&B personnel. If there is anything we can do next time to improve your experience, please do not hesitate to ask. We hope to see you at URBN again soon!

Jonathan Ma
Guest Experience Manager
URBN Hotels Shanghai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

I went there on a sunny Saturday morning for a business meeting.
The patio was wonderful, quiet, green, in a word: peaceful ! Breakfast offerings were simple and well executed.
Staff was nice, smiling, and professional, I remember having lost an item and , after I returned at the hotel, they rushed to find it and handed it back to me very quickly. Top.

Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
Thank elkemos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jing'an
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
#4 of 5,160 in Shanghai
1,515 reviews
South Bund
Hotel Indigo Shanghai on the Bund
Jing'an
Cachet Boutique Shanghai
Cachet Boutique Shanghai
#57 of 5,160 in Shanghai
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xintiandi
Andaz Xintiandi Shanghai
Andaz Xintiandi Shanghai
#31 of 5,160 in Shanghai
1,016 reviews
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Jing'an
THE ONE Executive Suites managed by Kempinski-Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to URBN Boutique Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about URBN Boutique Shanghai

Address: No.183 Jiaozhou Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#30 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#42 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#128 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $144 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — URBN Boutique Shanghai 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
URBN Boutique Shanghai, the award-winning design-meets-sustainable boutique hotel, is ideally located in Shanghai's bustling downtown. A former warehouse, the redesigned hotel is located on a quiet tree-lined street in Jing'an District with an abundance of independent bars and cafes in the surrounding streets and is only minutes away from the commercial shopping district and subway lines 2 and 7. URBN Boutique Shanghai offers sleek rooms and suites over 4 floors with a blend of contemporary, minimalist aesthetics and modern day comforts such as the COCO-MAT Renewal Bed, free wifi, a DVD home theater unit, high-definition television, an in-room safe, a selection of New York fashion designer Jay Godfrey's paraben-free bathroom amenities, a well-stocked mini bar and one-of-a-kind artwork. The hotel also features a 24-hour gym and an on-property restaurant which serves a selection of cuisine with a wide selection of craft beers, artisanal cocktails, and wine in a casual atmosphere both inside and under the tented courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your URBN Boutique Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urbn Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing