We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe good for Some but Not for Others”

Yi Cafe at Pudong Shangri-La
Ranked #81 of 17,016 Restaurants in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $58
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Buffet, Reservations
Neighborhood: Lujiazui
Description: Yi Café features 11 show kitchens set in a lively, cosmopolitan atmosphere. The walk-through market-style design, with gourmet showcases and live cooking stations, presents cuisines from China, Japan, the Middle East, India, South East Asia, Europe and the West. It is the ultimate food experience offering a vast array of flavours uniquely combined in one concept.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Maybe good for Some but Not for Others”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

This is an elaborate and beautiful room/building in Pudong attached to a very good hotel.
While we thought that the food was of an ok standard the reality is this is a reminder of those bad days of "how much can I eat today at the buffet"......so if you want to eat and eat and eat this is for you......choices of Sichuan, Italian, Japanese, Middle eastern, malaysian or thai...on and on it goes and each individually is probably OK.......but together.. not food just gluttony.
Top it off with a poor and expensive range of wines this was the most expensive meal we had in Shanghai...by a long way in over 2 weeks.......We would reccomend this for wealthy people who want to stuff themselves!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dazelem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    62
    22
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vada, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A high-class buffet”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Located in the main hall of the ShangriLa hotel, this high-class all-you-can-eat buffet features a huge variety of Asian food. You can find the guy who prepares the colorful noodles (it's really a show to see how fast he can do this), the sushi freshly prepared for you, a huge selection of dumplings, Indian food, and many many cakes, desserts, and fruit. The atmosphere is really elegant, although I think it is too pricey.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Giacomo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Consistently good buffet”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

My family has been there many times during our 5 year stay in Shanghai, and we have always had a great experience there. The service is excellent, as is the food and variety. Is it expensive? Yes, but it is worth it to indulge a little every once in a while for a special occasion or "just because." Part of what keeps us coming back is that everything is clean. We worry about eating sushi in other restaurants in China, but not here. Our four-year-old daughter of course enjoys the dessert bar and getting the orange box of treats to take home. If you have kids, try to get a table by the fish tank. That will keep them occupied. (Reservations are a must.) Have a light breakfast, eat heartily at brunch, and perhaps just have a snack for dinner. Just enjoy.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JCYang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very good, but overpriced”
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

This was a really lovely meal, the variety is huge, the service was great, atmosphere really pleasant. You can only eat so much ( at least for us) though and it did feel quite overpriced - nearly $100US each - for a good buffet. Definitely worth a visit if you have money to burn, why not. But you can have a 5 star outstanding meal in other great award winning Shanghai restaurants for much less. This was good but not outstanding.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helen w, Digital Marketing at Yi Cafe at Pudong Shangri-La, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear lookinoutallover:

Thank you for your time to share these gracious feedbacks on our Yi Cafe, we truly appreciate your high esteem of our Yi Cafe's sumptuous buffet. Yi Café has 10 show kitchens and invites guests on an international culinary journey in a lively, cosmopolitan atmosphere. We are honoured that you enjoyed our other restaurants too. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beware of raw meat”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We just return from our trip from China. We stayed at Shangri-La in Shanghai and Hong Kong.
I am warning everybody on how my son was served raw pork meat from western food counter. When I went to chief questioning on state of raw meat, we were told the food, was only for display, than why the hell was my son was served this food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helen w, Digital Marketing at Yi Cafe at Pudong Shangri-La, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear M P,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback. We are very concerned on your finding and wish to apologise profoundly for the incorrect serving and response. We are proud of stringent culinary qualities and sanitation standards that are monitored internally and externally through standards of HACCP and our very own Shangri-La Food Safety Management System and clearly we have lacked the expected supervision. May I kindly invite you for assistance to provide us with more details under ulf.bremer@shangri-la.com or (86 21)6882 8888 as our desire is to further explore on details and opportunities.

Yours sincerely,
Ulf Bremer
General Manager
Pudong Shangri-La, East Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yi Cafe at Pudong Shangri-La also viewed

 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Yi Cafe at Pudong Shangri-La? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing