We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Shashimi”
Review of Shintori

Shintori
Ranked #30 of 17,016 Restaurants in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Former French Concession
Valencia, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Shashimi”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

The place is difficult to find because the entrance needs some lights, however once you arrive to the restaurant you find a mind-bending former warehouse.
The restaurant is super clean and the kitchen can be a show for the guests. The menu has so many options even for the people who don´t like specially “shashimi” which I think is delicious. The service is correct and thanks Eric, the waiter who suggested us a Spanish wine “Esmeralda”.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Macarein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    123
    17
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta
Level 5 Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Second visit in 4 years”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

The name on Tripadvisor is confusing because the restaurant is still using Shintori Null as the name as my concierge mentioned and I believe it is still indicated on their sign on a rock tablet on the walkway to the restaurant. However, we visited the restaurant first in 2010 during the World Expo and again in March this year and our memory was exceeded by a wonderful dinner. For three of us we ordered the sushi platter ($60 US), a mixed tempura platter, a miso glazed cod, a miso soup, sake (small bottle), tea, a sparkling water and 2 desserts ( black sesame ice cream and a dessert in a small pumpkin). The total came to around $200. The food was excellent and the service was excellent. Our taxi dropped us off at the corner on Julu Road and we had difficulty locating the restaurant, so perhaps get more exact directions for your driver.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Varvara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“creative food and lots of fun”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

The place is hard to find but it's really a great fun place to be. The food is mixture of Japanese presentation and some local Chinese ingredients. Food portion is at Shanghai standard which is relative small but taste is good. Very relaxing place to have a meal for two or a group. Strongly recommed it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chips C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 812 helpful votes
“Wonderful decor and geat food”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

The restaurant is large, done in a minimalist style, with tables overlooking the open kitchen. Food was very well presented, I loved the foie gras especially, but the temaki rolls were equally outstanding. A great japanese dining experience well worth the price.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing meal and restaurant!”
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Went to Shintori while on a holiday in Shanghai. It is a fantastic restaurant - one of the best I've been to! The decor is very cool, food was amazing and service was very good. Would highly recommend!

Helpful?
Thank Snohq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shintori also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Shintori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing