We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Surpprising from the staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Carolina Shanghai Xinhua

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Carolina Shanghai Xinhua
Ranked #1,821 of 4,457 Hotels in Shanghai
ottowa
1 review
“Surpprising from the staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2010

It was difficult to find a budget hotel in Shanghai. We choosed this becuase the money value and from good reviews from some travel website.
It was a great one, good room, special staff. Everyone here can speak English better than expect. Very helpful staff, they helped us to take taxi to downtown and tell us the best shuld do in Shanghai.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alisamiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    23
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
3
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mlada Boleslav, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
90 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2009

Quite place out of the main road.
I've expected location a bit closer to the downtown, but you'll get there by taxi for 20RM.
But I was really happy by the staff and their English. Even the porter spoke English very well.
I've entered a freezy room, but after few minutes, before having a chance to call anyone I've been notified by reception, there might be a problem with my AC (means also heater) and if I did't mind to move to double bed room.
Everything was smooth.
You can have a complimentery tea, coffe, soft dring and some snacks as well. Internet is a commonplace.
I was sad to leave at 6 in the morning, just few hours after arrival. Might be a good place to stay for tourist visit of Shanghai.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ohorak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2009

I stayed 6 nights at the Hotel Carolina on Xinhua Road, along a tree-lined street similar to places in the French Concession. At 368 CNY/night complete, the hotel was a great deal -- I got a king bed, air conditioned room with unlimited broadband and a hearty Chinese breakfast buffet (and sometimes fried egg, toast & regular cereal). The building is away from the street at the end of a driveway, with some rooms overlooking a nice grassy space with trees between neighboring apartment buildings. Hence, depending on the time of year, be careful – keep your windows shut or mosquitoes will get you. I enjoyed the double-headed shower and modern granite/marble bathroom and generous-sized room on the 5th (top) floor. A note on cleanliness – one morning, I pushed aside the low bed and found cigarette butts and all manner of dust/debris on the floor – which housekeeping swept clean right away. Just an oversight, I’m sure -- but gross to find. Everything else was kept clean and tidy. The modern AC unit was operated by a remote control written in Chinese. I had to take the remote and ask the doorman to show me how to turn on the AC and he came up immediately and showed me the basics. There is also a Chinese/English reference card for the AC and TV remotes in the room if you're interested in translating characters and figuring out extra features which I did. What I liked particularly was the handy little fridge which was restocked everyday with 2 bottles water and 2 juice packs, on the house. In-room coffee service (+ cake snack) was handy, which I used to boil water for the occasional instant noodles bowl from the supermarket. Good location, a short walk to the West Yan'an station for North/South Metro Line 3, connecting easily to East/West Metro Line 2 at the next stop, which goes to People's Square and Pudong. For the curious traveler who has time to do some homework or is already a little familiar with Shanghai, the Hotel Carolina is a great and easy place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank antonySF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2009

I am from the US and visited Shanghai for about a week. The hotel is geared towards business travelers; the room layout reminded me of Hyatt's back in the states. Room amenities were top notch, as was service. The location was terrific as well. Overall, very good value.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tiger0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

Hotel Carolina is on Xinhua Road in Shanghai, which is West of the downtown, Pudong area. Because it is not downtown is is very reasonably priced. I stayed there for a week with some class mates I was taking a course at the Economics school with. The school is about a 5 min. walk away, it was perfect. The metro station West Yan'an rd. is about 10 min. walk. The hotelwas impecably clean, the staff very freindly and the rooms are beautiful. There is AC and internet in every room. each room also has a bar fridge which is nice. The free breakfast is great. AS variety of Chinese food and toast, fruit, coffee, cereal area avail. There are computers with internet in the buiness centre. I can't say anough about how pleased I ws about this place. It is a great value and the service is excellent. Btw if you area a runner it is close to a great park for running called zhongshan park. Go early if you do. Zongshan has a loop trail that is popular with the locals. It isn't a really long loop, but it is much better than running on the sidewalk in full sun.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenndaoust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OhMai
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2009

It was overall a great get-away from everything. It's located in the Chang Nan District of Shanghai... It is within a reasonable distance from most places (20 mins away by taxi).
The room was clean and cozy and I loved the bathroom the most! The showers were a comfortable pressure... and they had two shower heads! One is fixed and acts as a rainshower, and the other one is a detachable shower head so that's pretty neat. The toilet was probably one of the better ones I've seen in China for awhile. I honestly didn't pay attention to the beds because for the 3 nights I've stayed here, I slept immediately since I had quite an exhausting travel schedule.

There's a driveway and gate that leads you towards the hotel... The hotel is actually 30 meters away from the street so you can imagine how quiet it is. There was absolutely NO NOISE from the streets. There are two convenience stores at both ends of the streets. By the way, the hotel is located near the middle of the street, so no intersections to worry about either. Catching a cab was quite easy as well, as many vacant ones pass by the road quite frequently.

The continental breakfast won't make you full but the food's decent, and gives you enough energy to survive until lunchtime.

What else is there... Ah yes, places to suggest a foreigner should definitely visit. Of course, the Wai Tan area, and check out Cheng Huang Miao which is a great place to checkout some neat architecture and buy some local goodies, souvenirs, etc... For cheap bargains go to Qing Pu Lu - i bought some ridiculously cheap Giorgio Armani / Burberry London ties for 30 RMB... comes with matching cufflinks and pocket sleeves.. If I gave it to someone as a gift, the person would not even suspect that it would be a replica because it looks that real (maybe it is real?).

Anyway, this hotel rocks and I definitely would return again!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OhMai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Former French Concession
Hope Hotel Shanghai
Hope Hotel Shanghai
#1,222 of 4,457 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 stars 64 reviews
Xujiahui
Asset Hotel Shanghai
Asset Hotel Shanghai
#224 of 4,457 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 286 reviews
People’s Square
Manhattan Jinling Hotel
Manhattan Jinling Hotel
#226 of 4,457 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Former French Concession
Mason Hotel Shanghai
Mason Hotel Shanghai
#376 of 4,457 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 78 reviews
People’s Square
Jinjiang Inn Shanghai Nanjing Hotel
The Bund
Manhattan Bund Business Hotel
Manhattan Bund Business Hotel
#415 of 4,457 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 stars 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carolina Shanghai Xinhua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carolina Shanghai Xinhua

Property: Hotel Carolina Shanghai Xinhua
Address: NO. 643 Xinhua Road, Shanghai 200052, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang , Xujiahui
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,821 of 4,457 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Carolina Shanghai Xinhua 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Carolina Shanghai Xinhua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing