We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service and no smiles”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Peace Shanghai
Ranked #1,506 of 5,059 Hotels in Shanghai
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
150 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Poor service and no smiles”
Reviewed June 3, 2011

The service level of this hotel is deteriorating every every day (this was my third stay here this year.)
People working in the lobby are stiff and unfriendly; they are only looking for opportunities to surcharge you.
Rooms are spacious and Internet is available, and of course it's not free of charge. Non smoking rooms are available. Bathrooms not very well cleaned.
Breakfast restaurant is shabby, it gives feeling of not wanting to eat there.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Turbi1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    54
    35
    17
    5
See reviews for
11
16
11
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lodz, Poland
Level Contributor
811 reviews
286 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 440 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2010

The hotel is located in the commercial part of Shanghai, currently quite attractively, if somebody is going to visit Expo 2010. It is only 10-15 minutes walk to the gate No 1.
The rooms are comfortable, not very new, but pretty well maintained, with good bed and spacey bathroom.Also lobby and the elevators are in a good conditions. But this over with positive aspects. The rest is not satisfactory. First of all - service.
In the reception the staff with very weak English, huge problems to pay with credit cards / MC`s not accepted at all, only Visa /, very long check in process. Also buffet breakfast doest`t look very promising and the staff is absolutely not flexible, regarding the time of the meals.
The internet is available in the rooms, but you have to pay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laserkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2010

The room was clean and quiet. No one was directly rude. But this hotel didn't fit my definition of four stars and it fell far below the standard I'd expect from Ramada.
Please note. I've traveled extensively in China (and elsewhere). My comparison is based on what I have normally get when I pay four star prices in a second world country.
Here is the list of things that bothered me:
1. I asked in advance, in writing, for a non-feather pillow. On check in I was told that the hotel had only feather pillows and that all hotels only had one kind of pillow. They had never heard of a non-allergenic pillow???
2. The Internet in my room didn't work. I'm not sure why, but I complained several times. Each time I complained, the people at the front desk said they would fix it. They even said at one point they'd send someone to my room to fix it. It didn't work properly for the whole time we were there (five days).
3. The shower stall was missing the flashing that is supposed to be under the shower door. As result, each time we took a shower, we flooded the bathroom. Given the slipperiness of the floor (why have a slippery tile floor in a bathroom?), we were lucky not to kill ourselves.
4. We ordered breakfast in our room on a day when we had to leave early. No breakfast. No apology.
5. We ordered a cab. We were in a hurry and needed to have one ready for us, when we came downstairs. When we showed up at the appointed time, the front desk told us they hadn't called a cab. Why? I don't know. No one at the front desk could speak enough English to tell me. Needless to say, we were late for our meeting.
6. On a different occasion, we asked the bell boys to hail a cab for us. They told us (as best as I can tell) to go out into the street and do it ourselves. I guess they were too busy playing games on their cell phones.
I'm sending this also to the folks at Ramada. I suspect they don't have much control over this particular franchise. At least I hope that is their excuse, as its service level tarnishes their reputation.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank horgunusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Shanghai hotels

Stockholm
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2009

I booked on Ramadas's website, and specifically requested a baby cot in my booking note.
No feedback from the hotel. Upon check-in, they told me no baby cot was available, but they compensated us by upgrading to a superior room. So the room had a separate area with an office desk - not much use for a baby who needs to sleep on the floor! Even the hospitality file in the room stated that baby cots are offered free of charge.
If the hotel was short on cots, they should stock up on more, or at least tell the guests in advance - we could have brought our own foldable one.
Another weird thing: the web site says that the hotel offers an "airport shuttle". I was asking if there is a charge to this. - "Yes, 500RMB!" Then, what's the point of taking this shuttle, when any taxi on the street charges 180RMB? Sounds like a a rip-off to me...
Apart from that, no grievances. The staff was polite and helpful, the room good and the location OK. Opposite a nice big supermarket and the largest camera mall in Shanghai - heaven for photo buffs!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Dapuqiao
Tiancheng Hotel Shanghai
Tiancheng Hotel Shanghai
#2,154 of 5,059 in Shanghai
20 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Ramada Plaza Shanghai Caohejing
Ramada Plaza Shanghai Caohejing
#200 of 5,059 in Shanghai
124 reviews
Dapuqiao
City View Hotel Xuhui
City View Hotel Xuhui
#2,385 of 5,059 in Shanghai
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shanghai Railway Station
Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown
Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown
#139 of 5,059 in Shanghai
911 reviews
Dapuqiao
Pullman Shanghai Skyway Hotel
Pullman Shanghai Skyway Hotel
#70 of 5,059 in Shanghai
1,076 reviews
Former French Concession
Hanting Express (Shanghai Xiangyang Road)
Hanting Express (Shanghai Xiangy...
#1,559 of 5,059 in Shanghai
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Peace Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Peace Shanghai

Property: Ramada Plaza Peace Shanghai
Address: No.688 Xietu Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200023, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Dapuqiao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#303 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Plaza Peace Shanghai 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Plaza Peace Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Peace Shanghai Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing