We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
Tours from Shanghai Highlights tend to sell out - travelers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience Shanghai Highlights
from $75.00
More Info
from $104.00
More Info
Reviews (235)
Filter reviews
227 results
Traveler rating
209
15
2
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
209
15
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tongli water town china travel rickshaw ride day trip our tour guide the humble administrator's garden included lunch mini van tv tower great tour an excellent guide answered all our questions speaks excellent english own pace daily life silk museum local guide
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 227 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

China Highlights is the go to company for China tours, smooth, excellent operation with minimal hassles. I liked Sophie Lee in Shanghai, really put herself out for us, among many excellent guides, Gary in Guilin was brilliant, and out guide in Tibet was excellent. A great experience. Recommend 100%!

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank Patrick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2019

We had a great few days in and around Shanghai with our local guide, Sophie Lee arranged with China Highlights. Sophie is an excellent, professional, smart, flexible, knowledgeable guide with strong English skills, and a thoughtful, reflective personality. She really showed us a great time for the (too) few days we spent in Shanghai. Highlights of the trip included the Bund, the Pearl Tower, Zhu Jia Jiao water town, Yu Gardens, the little Shanghai Propaganda Poster Museum, the Ohel Moishe Synagogue, the Silk Museum and the Old Town (which is unfortunately mostly a high end mall).

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank susancberkeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2019

I took a tour with Elaine of Shanghaia water town and the French concession, including the Propaganda Poster Art Museum. This was a great tour and Elaine was a super guide. She is knowledgeable and was able to customize the tour to my liking. I highly recommend this tour.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank chiapette2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2018

We had one day in Shanghai during a Cruise, and a few weeks before sailing had contacted China Highlights with a view to arranging an itinerary to fit with the hours in port. Vivi Chen drew up a plan based on our preferences and time available.
She also organised visa exemption for us.

The day was amazing and we packed in so much with our superb guide, Bright, including the sky walk at the top observation deck of the TV Tower. We will never forget the experience and will definitely use Vivi and China Highlights again if we decide to return to China.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank HMF63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2018 via mobile

We had a wonderful trip to Xitang with our tour guide Sophie. On the way Sophie was explaining about the day-to-day lives of the people in Shanghai. We went on a working day to Xitang and it was not so crowded. So we recommend that tourists to go on working day. Xitang has narrow walking paths so it would be nice to be able to walk at slower pace and not having people bumping you. We also took many pictures with the authentic views of Xitang, well known for its heritage houses, canal, and bridges.

Date of experience: November 2018
1  Thank myr_aulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2018

My husband and I contacted Vivi Chen with China Travel to explore a tour for us in Shanghai for several days. She put together a package for a 4-day visit, working with us to pick attractions that would be of interest to both my husband and me. We arrived in Shanghai on a cruise ship, so she arranged for us to be picked up at the cruise terminal by Sophie, our guide for the next 3 days and Mr. Chen, our driver. We toured Shanghai for two days with combinations of boat rides, tram rides, museums, gardens, and temples. We visited the town of Suzhou one day to see the Tongli water town and the Humble Administrator’s Garden, a UNESCO World Heritage Site. The next day we went to took a train to Hangzhou and met our guide, Tina and our driver, Mr. Cho who took us to see West Lake as well as the Lingyin Temple and the Tea Museum.

The accommodations China Travel arranged for us were near the downtown area and were quite comfortable. The hotel served a nice breakfast with both western and Shanghai choices so we could try a little of both. We were within walking distance of several restaurants for dinner. It also had a small restaurant that served dinner.

I can’t say enough nice things about Sophie, our guide. She is a well-spoken, excellent guide who knows her city and its history well. She answered all our questions with ease and deftly guided us through all the venues. She knew all the good restaurants for lunch, making sure we got a taste of what Shanghai food was all about. Everything was delicious. We were nervous about the train trip to Hangzhou since we don’t speak the language and wanted to make sure we got there and back without getting lost. Sophie made sure we got on the train and walked us through what was going to happen and what signs to watch for. She called our guide in Hangzhou to let her know we were on our way. She was warm and friendly throughout our 3 days with her, and she made sure our needs were met throughout the tour. Mr. Chen was an excellent driver negotiating the traffic in Shanghai and to Suzhou and back with great skill.

Tina, our guide in Hangzhou was also terrific. She, too, showed us the highlights of Hangzhou and knew everything there was to know about our venues. Mr. Cho was also a good driver and was especially challenged because it was raining in the afternoon. He made sure we didn’t get wet! Tina made sure we got on the right return train to Shanghai that evening and called Sophie to let her know we were on our way.

At the end of the tour, Mr. Chen who always showed up early, took us to the airport, and Michael made sure we got through the various security checks and ticketing. Vivi Chen followed up when we returned to make sure we had a good time.

We usually travel on our own with a guidebook in hand, but we had limited time, so we thought we might give a structured tour a try. We were pleased with every aspect of the tour including the planning, the attractions, the guides, the drivers, the accommodations, and the food. When we return to Asia again, we will definitely call Vivi Chen to arrange another tour.

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank Guide603502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews