We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Shanghai Highlights tend to sell out - travelers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience Shanghai Highlights
from $104.00
More Info
Reviews (225)
Filter reviews
224 results
Traveler rating
206
15
2
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
206
15
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tongli water town rickshaw ride china travel day trip the humble administrator's garden our tour guide included lunch mini van friendly guide tv tower great tour speaks excellent english own pace daily life silk factory his knowledge cruise ship
Filter
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 224 reviews
Reviewed February 28, 2017

We were picked up at our accommodation by our tour guide Chris and the driver in the morning and then headed to Suzhou as our first stop. It was about 1.5's journey from Shanghai and it was a very nice day. After we got to Suzhou, Chris took us to an ancient garden of an aristocratic family that is about 500+ years old, it was beautiful. The Tongli water town as also very interesting, we went on a boat road through the canals the streets were full of restaurants and street vendors - it does resembles Venice in a way!

During the tour Chris has been very amicable and welcoming, we had some good conversations about China and Shanghai as well as their history. On top of that - I know that my friends and I spent a bit too much time wandering around and we are also slow walkers - we finished the tour a bit late but despite that Chris was still very patient and friendly to us - I'd like to express our gratitude for this wonderful trip!

Date of experience: February 2017
2  Thank TigH5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2017

We decided to do a day trip out of Shanghai to explore a bit further, but since we didn't have much time we decided to go with a tour guide. Turned out to be the best decision we could have made. Our guide, Sophie, took care of everything and she made the day super nice for us. We went around Tongli watertown, sailing on the canals, having lunch in an old tea house (with live opera), walked through narrow alleyways and talked to the locals (with Sophie's help). Everything was perfect and we could not have asked for a better day.

Thank you Sophie and Shanghai Highlights for an amazing day tour!

Date of experience: January 2017
2  Thank Ida S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2017

Highlights of this tour were the Humble Administrator's Garden in Suzhou, a ride in a tricycle rickshaw through the old lanes of Suzhou, the old houses and gardens of Tongli water town, and a boat ride through the ancient canals. Our guide was very knowledgeable, and all arrangements were very smooth. If you are staying in central Shanghai the transfer to Suzhou takes about 90 minutes depending on traffic. In some ways it is strange to see these ancient places embedded within the sprawling super-city, but they are not just monuments, they are living towns and all the more fascinating for that.

Date of experience: February 2017
2  Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2017 via mobile

It was great to get further out of Shanghai to some of the outer lying areas. The day trip was perfect and the scenery brilliant. The highlights were a tricycle ride through old town looking in the stores and watching the locals go about there normal lives.

Tongli was also a pleasant surprise and the boat ride and the beautiful houses a delight. Both towns are brilliant and a must see if you have time.

Date of experience: February 2017
1  Thank andyw4793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2017 via mobile

I highly recommend this outfit for yours Party after your cruise is over. We booked this tour via email and the service that they gave us was wonderful . We were able enjoy our visit in our own private bus and a knowledgeable tour guide I ask the company to pick us up from the ship and tour that day immediately. They return us to our hotel that evening. The tour guide was great and very flexible. We added a last minute attraction to our tour which was an evening cruise on the bun with the lights . This was a wow. We just paid the guide for our ticket. She was also very helpful in making dinner reservations afterwards as well. She was full of knowledge and kept us moving on time . Shanghai is very modern and there are some cultural interest and museum for us tourists to visit. Thank you

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank celiac707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews