We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay in western Shanghai, on great metro hub” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Shanghai Zhongshan Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Renaissance Shanghai Zhongshan Park Hotel
Ranked #52 of 4,971 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in western Shanghai, on great metro hub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Pick your hotel in Shanghai by where you need to be: the city is gigantic. I stayed here because my son is going to East China Normal University on the far western part of the main city center. (The school is one metro stop away from this hotel). The hotel is directly above the huge and modern Cloud Nine Shopping Mall which has a metro stop in the basement (Zhongshan Park Station) so it is about a 20 minutes metro ride to People's Square and maybe 3 stops from the French Concession. If you change lines you can get to Xintiandi in about 20 minutes too. The hotel is right at the inside limit of the first ring road. It is a few stops from Hongqiao Airport and Railroad Station. The hotel is very modern, completely 5 star Marriott Renaissance standards. I got an upgrade to the Concierge Floor and the views were UNBELIEVABLE. I could see the Pearl TV tower and the Trade Center from my room. I ate breakfast in the concierge lounge(I think it's worth it to pay for that. It's full of western business people , airline pilots and has very helpful concierge/check in people who speak English). For dinner, I didn't eat in the hotel; I went to the mall which had a huge number of restaurants. The service was excellent. I was happily surprised with this hotel. My taxi ride to Pudong took about 55 minutes and cost 130 rmb. Next time, I may take the Maglev to Longyang Road station, and then I could take line 2 all the way to this hotel(that would only be if you have carryon bags which aren't heavy)( I think that would take 1-1/2 hrs).

Room Tip: The higher the better and get a view facing Pudong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moviemom88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    347
    68
    12
    13
See reviews for
49
55
66
356
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed at this hotel in October 2012. Room was clean spacious and and reasonably priced . The great attraction of the hotel was
Huge supermarket located in the builbing.
Multi takeway food outlets, along with bakerys,Starbucks , Macka's , and local.
Subway virtually in the basement with trains every few minutes to all parts of the city for minimal cost.
The hotel resturants menu was not great and reasonably expensive but there was both a western and chinese location in the hotel.
There is a gym with full facilities but the pool was closed for renovations.
If you want to reduce cost and have easy access to the city the hotel meets your needs. Pudong airport about an hour away by taxi but if you know your way around you could use the subway. Cost of Taxi's is reasonably cheap about 180 yuan fron the airport ( 30 Aussie Dollars at the time)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tomche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Pros: This hotel is modern. It is just next to Metro (Zhongshan Park Station) and a big shopping mall with many restaurants and good food. You will find many business executives living here enjoying the buffet breakfast at 26/F. The breakfast is delicious. Service is also good.

Cons: You have to take a lift up to 25/F (the reception) and then change lift to your room. It is quite inconvenient. In addition, some receptionists on the 25/F speak too fast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nakaaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed on a business trip to Shanghai, first for 2 nights, then again a few days later for another 1 night.

A very modern hotel. The location may not be exactly central in Shanghai city, but its quite close enough and as other reviews have stated, the building sits right on top of Zhongshan Park Metro station. Dont be scared - it is easy to catch the metro a few stops and be at Nanjing Rd West (for the shopping markets) or Peoples Square.

The views from this hotel are fantastic and make it a great option to sit at the window, relax and look over the rat race that is Shanghai.

Rooms are modern and clean. You will get hooked into joining the Marriot Rewards Club to get free internet, but I found the internet connection reliable, unlike many other establishments in China.

So all in all this hotel is a good hassle free option if you are a fairly self sufficient traveller who wants a clean, quiet comfortable room and pretty modern facilities.

The staff try their best, but it is a little difficult in China if you dont speak the language because their English is good, but one dimensional. So if you want something straightforward, no problem at all, it can get a little challenging after that so either be patient or learn Mandarin...up to you!

One disappointment was room service, I tend to get back to the hotel quite late and wanted something to eat, order something from the late night menu, by the time it gets to your room it was stone cold (both times). I doubt they've heard of a klosch to cover the food, at least to keep it lukewarm, I guess while it travels up the elevator after probably sitting in the kitchen for 10 minutes.

The bar is so-so, a pretty average hotel bar, a bit hit and miss with closing hours etc.

The breakfast area is crowded, you might end up sharing a table (also not unusual for China) and the buffet is fairly good.

You will wait quite a long time to get into a taxi from the front of the hotel, so give yourself plenty of time if that is your transport option.

Asked the concierge where a good area for bars etc was, maybe who spoke a little English, was really looking for something local and authentic, he put me in a cab to Hengshan Rd, the Shanghai Brewery etc...my advice...dont bother, full of westerners, over hyped, and you will get pestered by the local purveyors of dubious repute.

All in all, I would definitely recommend you try this hotel, it is a good option in Shanghai.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
148 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

This is a most delightful hotel in Shanghai. The lobby is on the 25th floor, so as soon as you check in you see out over the city from the huge windows behind the check in counters. Everything has a modern and sleek design, very stylish and contemporary. We were with a tour group and our stay included the breakfast buffet. I cannot say enough about the buffet. Everything you could want was available... traditional Chinese fare, European style foods, and Western foods were abundant, not to mentions lots of fresh fruits and vegetables, even fresh fruit/veggie smoothies. The staff was also very accommodating, as we had to leave the hotel early in the morning on our last day, before the kitchen opened.... but they opened a couple of hours early for us so we could all eat before we left for the airport.

The view from the room was fabulous... although it did make my husband's fear of heights kick in a bit. I loved it, though, and especially liked to turn all out lights out at night and look out over the beautiful city lights. I would love to return to Shanghai and this hotel would be my choice to stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Having such a wonderful property in such big city, one would expect the unexpected in a positive prospect, though this one was way below the standards that i expected from a Renaissance. Firstly, on arrival waited 2 hours before was able to get to the room after a long trip, and the service was too busy to provide any assistance what so ever. Pretty disappointing hospitality, certainly in this hotel, quality has reduced focusing only on the quantity. Other than that, too many tour groups, very noisy environment and atmosphere. hope this review helps others.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yahya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
117 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

This beautiful hotel was an unexpected delight. We were with a tour group on a trip to China and this hotel was one that was selected by the tour. The room was new, large, and well appointed with great views. The bar had a happy hour that was enjoyable and reasonable.
As we were on a tour and the bus picked us up each day, I cannot comment about the location, but it didn't seem to be too far by taxi to the Bund or other attractions. I suggest you ask the concierge about the taxi prices before leaving, and have them write out the address of the place where you are going on a card to give to the driver.

Staff is attentive and competent.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wgou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#19 of 4,971 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel
Zhongshan Park
Pentahotel Shanghai
Pentahotel Shanghai
#62 of 4,971 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Changfeng Park
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai Changfeng Park
Zhongshan Park
The Longemont Shanghai
The Longemont Shanghai
#89 of 4,971 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Caoyang / Zhenru
Renaissance Shanghai Putuo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Shanghai Zhongshan Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Shanghai Zhongshan Park Hotel

Property: Renaissance Shanghai Zhongshan Park Hotel
Address: No.1018 Changning Road, Changning District, Shanghai 200042, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Zhongshan Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 4,971 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Renaissance Shanghai Zhongshan Park Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 684
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The tallest Renaissance hotel in the world, a striking 60 storey building with a spectacular Sky Lobby on the 25th floor, 672 guest rooms offering panoramic views, innovatiive restaurants and over 1,800 square meters of meeting space including a 1,250 square meters ballroom - one of the larsgest unobstructed ballrooms in Puxi. Located directly above Zhongshan Park Metro station and only 18 minutes from Hongqiao Airport, this landmark hotel is visible from virtually every part of the city. Renaissance Shanghai Zhongshan Park Hotel is an iconic new destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Marriott so you can book your Renaissance Shanghai Zhongshan Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing