We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average hotel and nothing more”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Airlines Travel Hotel Shanghai Pudong Airport Branch
Ranked #2,478 of 5,146 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The hotel is very close to the airport (not in it). it's quite cheap, and it's clean.
Nevertheless - there is a loud noise of airplanes every 15-10 minutes,
- the girls at the reception didn't knew english that well,
- i got a smoking room - i'm not a smoker and the room was a bit smelly,
- the hotel seemed to me quite empty which is not a great thing for staying alone in a hotel, but on the other hand when i got to my room there was a lot of people speaking in the hallway which was very noisy,
-the room is too dark and theres is not enogh lamps,
- the Tv's channel selestion is very poor for the english speakers,
- there's no wifi, only a cable-internet

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomilio7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

77 - 83 of 230 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2012

Three major issues:

1. On the 07-27 9:30pm shuttle to the hotel from the airport, I had to wait for seven minutes on the bus at the airport, without air conditioning. Guests in the shuttle were overheated. And even on the way to the hotel, the shuttle made a stop to refuel delaying guests time.

2. The hotel reception put the guests who booked via ctrip (China's version of Expedia) only on the first floor. But the floor was very noisy. Later, after several twists and turns, I secured a room on the second floor without knowing that is a smoking room. And there are a lot of kids running in the aisles, like the playground. It was 10:00 pm. In fact, at that night there are available rooms on the fourth floor. The front is just clutching to the poor attitude. I changed twice, tossing three rooms, and finally was given a quiet room on the 4th flloor!
3. The toilet in the room on the 4th floor does not flush down requirng repair.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tammy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Shanghai Airline Travel hotel is ideal for traveller arriving late evening at Pudong airport and would like catch a flight next morning or travelling to other towns . This is a budget hote . The rooms are good , The receiption staff understands little English . the rooms are good the bathrooms are very clean . Surprisingly the carpet on the lobbey area appeared to be full of patches , though it was being cleaned daily . The buffet breakfast is good for non vegetarians , very few things ( Butter toast / flakes / fruits ) for vegetarians , but small veg food also appears big when you land in China .

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PIYUSHUNIYAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

This place is closest as it gets to the pudong airport. So if you have a flight to catch next morning, its a perfect place. Cannot stay here of you want to go around Shanghai as its quite far from the city. Free airport shuttle is helpful and rooms are good. Cleanliness is not a problem. Did not have any problem with flying plane noises. Though i did not use many serivces, but staff did not seem to be very courteous, maybe because they are used to travellers for one night only.There can be no reason to stay 2 nights anyways!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Praveen900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

This hotel is not meant to be your base when visiting Shanghai, as it is too far from any attraction. But, if you have arrived from an usual long flight from overseas and need a rest before taking your next flight in China it works well. You problably need to be flexible about Hotel staff and food. Apparently the target client is the chinese speaking traveller, as English language and signs may be an issue if you need detailed information or help in the front desk. Also the breakfast has plenty of chinese options, and few of those items westerns are used to. If those 2 points may disturb you, consider staying at the Ramada Airport Hotel, also close to airport, but costing some 70% more for a similar quality - except the language.
They offer a shuttle bus service, departing every 30 minutes from airport first level (look for 'hotel shuttle buses' sign. You may also take a taxi, which will cost you some US$7.00 - but make sure you have Hotel name and picture to show to the driver.
My usual procedure when travelling in China is printing my reservations and showing it togheter with Passport and Credit Card at Hotel front desk - this results in less talk and quicker service, For taxis try to communicate with images, not words. Ask in the Hotel to have your destination written in chinese in the back of a Hotel card, so you have your both ways clearly indicated to the driver.
As a last tip for this Hotel: some shuttle buses are marked SAT, not always clearly showing it belongs to Shanghai Airline Travel Hotel (that detail made me loose the first available shuttle - but that may be also credited to the long flight time I spent to get there...)
All in all, a very reasonable service for the money.

Room Tip: Make sure your reservation clearly aks for a NON smoking room and show your option at check-in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank puhma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Not had hotel, pretty close to the airport. You must pay about 40RMB to get there by taxi, but they also offer a free shuttle service. You might be surprised by the quality of the translation in the room, I mean a translation from Chinese to English. You will learn many new English words :)

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pawel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Hotel is close to Pudong Airport, which is an advantage. But service from people at front desk is extremly unfriendly. I read in a previous comment that they try to charge you a big amount of money as a guarantee. The room rate was 398 RMB ( I stayed one night) and they asked for a guarantee of 600 RMB on the card. OK.
But when I checked out they charged me 398 RMB on the card again. I asked for the cancellation of the 600RMB charged the day before. But here the staff got complicated. No clear explaination. No refund. Suddenly they were not able to speak english. Start attending other guest instead of responding to my questions.
So far I dont know what they did with the card and charges. They were not able to explain, nor were they much interested. In general poor manners to deal with customers. Would not stay here again.There are much friendly hotels in the surrounding.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Pudong International Airport
Ramada Pudong Airport Shanghai
Ramada Pudong Airport Shanghai
#120 of 5,146 in Shanghai
898 reviews
Pudong International Airport
The QUBE Pudong
The QUBE Pudong
#108 of 5,146 in Shanghai
424 reviews
Pudong International Airport
Joyful Star Hotel Pudong Airport Chenyang Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pudong International Airport
Dazhong Airport Hotel
Dazhong Airport Hotel
#5 of 788 in Shanghai
732 reviews
Pudong International Airport
Jinjiang Inn Shanghai Pudong Airport Second
Jinjiang Inn Shanghai Pudong Air...
#1,231 of 5,146 in Shanghai
265 reviews
Pudong International Airport
Jinjiang Inn (Shanghai Pudong Airport)
Jinjiang Inn (Shanghai Pudong Ai...
#1,979 of 5,146 in Shanghai
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airlines Travel Hotel Shanghai Pudong Airport Branch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airlines Travel Hotel Shanghai Pudong Airport Branch

Address: No.1909 Jiangzhen Road, Pudong New District, Shanghai 201202, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Pudong International Airport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,478 of 5,146 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: $40 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Airlines Travel Hotel Shanghai Pudong Airport Branch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 396
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Airlines Travel Hotel Shanghai Pudong Airport Branch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing