We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
Ranked #11 of 296 Specialty Lodging in Shanghai
AUSTIN, TX.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Can't beat the price, atmosphere, decor, and room quality, right near the Bund in Shanghai. The service was great. Bar prices were a bit over the top so I snuck my own drinks in... Beautiful place though. I will be back whenever in Shanghai.

Room Tip: don't get the inside rooms with a hallway view out your window unless that's all they have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trebek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    102
    41
    8
    2
See reviews for
7
45
59
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Great place to stay if youre a student and just looking for a convenient and close place to stay. Right in the centre and really not too expensive. I used to come here nearly once a weekend when i would go out as I lived far out from the centre! Perhaps not idea for a long stay though! I never stayed in the dorms, only in the private rooms for two people with bathroom.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington state
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

I was a little disappointed with the quality of the facilities at Mingtown Etour. First, the good. The location is really good. Very close to exit 11 of the People's Square metro, which is on 3 lines. A block or so from Nanjing Road, easy walking distance to Xintiandi, and a bunch of the museums are within a few blocks as well. Note that this is also a prime location for scammers, so ignore any stranger who approaches you and at any point in the conversation suggests that you go out for tea or drinks.

The common areas are also very nice and do look as the pictures show. The bar is a comfy place to meet new people, play pool, read, or use wifi (if it's working). It's good that there is some place to relax because the dorm rooms aren't so good for that. The facilities, though old-looking, are also kept very clean and there are women who mop the floors and clean the restrooms several times a day.

I booked a 6 person female dorm and it was pretty much full all four days I stayed there. Not all of the lockers had a locking mechanism, and people were using lockers that weren't assigned to them. Each bed had a small reading light and there was a dim light in the doorway, but that was it for room lighting. While this was nice so people didn't wake everyone up when they came in late at night, it made it very difficult to see anything at night, including the locks on the lockers. They make you make up your own bed and you get this dingy sheet set that includes a flat sheet for the mattress and a weird sheet with ties to awkwardly stuff the blanket in. It seems like the quality of the mattresses vary. Some people said they slept well, but mine felt like a bunch of springs with a thin cover over them.

My favorite part of the hostel is that it felt like Communism-style rationing. There's no toilet paper in the bathroom, and you either have to use your own or ask for it at the front desk. There's also a sign on the showers saying that because it's cold outside, they're asking you to avoid using hot waters between 11am-1pm and 7pm-11pm. One of my dormmates did end up with a cool shower because I guess the hot water rations ran out.

Finally, the internet situation was pretty dismal. Some of that probably isn't the fault of the hostel because I was experiencing this all over China, but the public computer was particularly bad. I had typed up a really long e-mail and when I hit send, the internet stopped working. The front desk's reply was, "You need to reboot the computer." I was talking to people at the bar, and someone else had the exact same experience. I also was unable to get wifi signal in the room.

Seems like the private rooms might be alright, but there are better places in Shanghai to stay for dorms.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank graycodekitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldenzaal, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

Good hostel, whit good food and beer prices, only in the aircon bar beer is expensive.
Good rooms, no idea about the dorms. Good location, close to the subway. Verry helpfull staff....

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin_1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samoens, France
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

This was in a good location central to the main attractions and main street. There was a nice restaurant and bar.

We stayed in a dorm room for a few nights which was fine, all clean and no problems. Then moved to a private double for a few nights.

The hostel was modern and very nice! Good internet and a washing machine to do your own washing.
The staff were helpful and spoke good English.

Make sure you check out the fake market, 10 minutes walk from the hostel. IT IS AMAZING!!! Bargain HARD. Love love Shanghai!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miasmith9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

Highly recommend this as a stop in Shanghai. We got the luxury room which was lovely and relatively cheap if you compare hotels in this location ,so close to the bund, metro and all the action. The young staff were excellent , knowledgeable and polite.

Room Tip: Luxury room was on a corner and very roomy , and a real double bed not two singles pushed together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Everything went great here. we booked a private twin with bathroom and we payed about 800 RMD for 3 nights, i.e. a great deal staying in Shanghai. The staff is very friendly, the rooms are clean and the food is tasty and cheap. If you order food at their restaurant for more than 100 RMB they give you a 20% reduction to the already cheap food. This is more than a hotel than a hostel and the athmosfere is nice here. We really recommed this hostel!!

Room Tip: Book good time in advance 'cause this hostel is very popular
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
People’s Square
JW Marriott Hotel Shanghai at Tomorrow Square
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#35 of 5,035 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,519 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
People’s Square
Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel

Property: Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel
Address: No.55 JiangYin Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200003, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People’s Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 296 Specialty Lodging in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mingtown Etour Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mingtown Etour Youth Hotel Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing