We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, very quiet, close to subway line #2”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Zhanxiang Yueting Apartment
Ranked #1,592 of 5,146 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewed October 27, 2010

The hotel is very nice although not close to anything unless you have business out in that area. The rooms are fairly big, with excellent beds (firm, not hard) and well maintained. Nice furniture, a few carpet stains, but nothing major. Strangely, the TV is old style CRT - must be the only new hotel in China with old TVs. There is a little kitchenette, but no supplies or utensils. Outstanding bathroom with large shower stall (side by side with tub) all glass enclosed - see the pictures. Fluffy towels and a view through you room out over the landscape makes for a pleasant experience. Lots of construction around the hotel, so that view is not going to last. Nice amenities including razors, toothbrushes etc in addition to good quality soap and shampoo. Free internet, hard wired, not wireless - the speed is acceptable, but not impressive. The network allows VPN connections. The hotel is located out of town, and super quiet at night. Also, there are no noises from other rooms. The staff speaks some English - and is generally helpful and accommodating.

The metro station Guanglan Road (line #2) is a 5 - 7 min walk away, and will take you to Pudong airport or downtown (in about 30 minutes). Check the website http://www.exploreshanghai.com/metro/ for details. Fare to downtown is about 4 - 5 RMB (distance dependent). The metro is clean, fast and safe, and there is a train every 2 - 4 minutes. Crowded during rush hour, but hey, you are in China.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DX-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lei L, General Manager at Zhanxiang Yueting Apartment, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2011

Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson Hotel Zhangjiang Shanghai. We appreciate your comments very much and I have shared the information with all appropriate departments to improve our service. We look forward to serving you again in the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 24 of 78 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2010

I've been staying at this hotel 3 times during the past two years - a total of about 20 days. Every time the service has been superb, the rooms fresh and clean.
I don't believe there is anything really interesting within walking distance, but the Subway stop is pretty close and you can hop on the train and be in downtown (Lujazui or People's Square) in ~ 20 min.
The restaurant located in the lobby is pretty good - they have excellent breakfast buffet with asian or american food. During lunch the restaurant gets crowded because lots of people from the nearby office buildings come for lunch. Dinners are usually very quiet- the menu includes european and asian specialties.
There is also a nice coffee and pastries place located in the lobby.

The staff is very courteous, they try to help in any way possible.

The rooms are excellent - size and decoration. Make sure to check the pictures on their web site.

I am going back to Shanghai next month and I will be booking Howard Johnson again...

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kleiba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lei L, General Manager at Zhanxiang Yueting Apartment, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2011

Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson Hotel Zhangjiang Shanghai. We will not stop to improve on our services and facilities. We look forward to serving you again in the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2010

Stayed there for two nights on a business trip because our company is nearby. In comparison with other upper class chinese hotels this is one of the best I have seen so far. The service is forthcoming and very good over all. Staff tries to help you wherever they can. Rooms are spacious and very clean. They provide free WiFi. The breakfast is also ok. It's bit far out and taxi drivers from the city sometimes have a difficult time finding the place, so it's a good idea to keep the receptions number in your phone and let them explain to the taxi driver how to get there, as the plain chinese address will often not do the job.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sternenklar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lei L, General Manager at Zhanxiang Yueting Apartment, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2011

Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson Hotel Zhangjiang Shanghai. We will not stop to improve on our services and facilities. Please keep us posted on your next visit to the great city of Shanghai.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2010

What a nice hotel. Americans should not confuse it with Hojo standards in the States. This is US Marriott or higher standard.
Beds are typically Chinese firm, but not torturous. Pillows soft, rooms big, bathrooms big. The staff are friendly and efficient.
The only drawback is the location, which is the middle of nowhere. Even if you have meetings nearby, as I did, you might be better off elsewhere as there are no restaurants, shops, taxis, or anything within a mile that I could find. So, if you like to wander and see the local sights - there aren't any.
I will recommend it, but only with the warning that you better have business nearby or you will spend your life in taxis getting to the China you thought you were visiting.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vagabond61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lei L, General Manager at Zhanxiang Yueting Apartment, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2011

Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson Hotel Zhangjiang Shanghai. We will not stop to improve on our services and facilities. Please keep us posted on your next visit to the great city of Shanghai.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2010

Strongly recommend for visiting world expo and the exhibition centre. Accessible to both easily. Good service.

Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
Thank jmbalaji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2010

Entry into hotel was a relief... One can feel Western culture in otherwise traditional China.. It is closer to International airport... Large Reception .. large rooms by china standards..friendly service.. free internet.. good selection of western ENGLISH cable channels in room... wide breakfast spread with combination of Eastern and Western Cusines.. large Spa and massage center...good shopping arcade.. painting and art gallery inside the hotel... It was like breath of fresh air for me who had stayed in traditional chinese hotel with dimly lit rooms previously... A GOOD Property and very good for international travellers...

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samjo24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed December 29, 2009

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Evergreen Laurel Hotel Shanghai
#122 of 5,146 in Shanghai
70 reviews
Pudong International Airport
The QUBE Pudong
The QUBE Pudong
#108 of 5,146 in Shanghai
424 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lujiazui
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zhanxiang Yueting Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zhanxiang Yueting Apartment

Address: No.2288 Zuchongzhi Road, Pudong New District, Shanghai 201203, China (Formerly Howard Johnson Hotel Zhangjiang Shanghai)
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Zhangjiang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#312 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $500 - $1,500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Zhanxiang Yueting Apartment 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Howard Johnson Hotel Zhangjiang Shanghai is conveniently located in the heart of Pudong, Shanghai, close by Shanghai New International Exhibition Center, and Lujiazui CBD. Right on Metro Line 2 stop, you have an easy access to all major tourist and business locations in Shanghai.Fitted with 275 spacious and elegantly designed guest rooms, 4 Chinese and international dining and beverage outlets, more than 1000 square meters of function and meeting space, full size gym with swimming pool and SPA facilities. With our professional team, we will help you to get things done on your terms.As a part of Wyndham Hotel Group, backed by more than 70 years of hospitality experience worldwide, we are determined to exceed your expectation for all your travel, dining, function and meeting needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Zhanxiang Yueting Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Shanghai
Shanghai Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing