We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor bedding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lakeside Holiday Inn
Ranked #1,856 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor bedding”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2011

We booked a family suite but was given a room without windows. The add-on bed was just a board bed with a thin layer of bed sheet as mattress. When we asked for a blanket, we were given the excuse that each room is limited to 1 set and there's nobody to man the reception should she leave to send the blanket to us. This hotel is obviously understaffed and has poor service. I will not recommend this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joannebam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    57
    54
    18
    5
See reviews for
9
20
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2011

Within a few minutes' walk from MRT from Nanjing Road East. Able to walk to Nanjing Road and the Bung, and other attractions by MRT. Nice view of the Souzhou River and bridges if you have a river view room, otherwise the Pearl Tower lit up at night on the other side. Good internet access in rooms. Can do with a bit of renovation, give the breakfast a miss. Cafe 85 down the road has nice coffee and baked goods. It is still good value.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HCM-Hanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2010

hotel is nicely located near the bund and the metro line. It's also very close to Nanjing Road where all the shops and restaurants are located. I had a room with a view at the lake. The room was ok, wired internet free of charge, complimentary 2 bottles of water. Breakfeast provide but it was chineeses style and not very tasty (no coffee or even tee).

Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank playmix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2010

I booked this from Australia based on good reviews received by my travel agent. The room was small with a window that looked out onto a wall. The bathroom was OK, but only just. It was noisy in the morning. The included breakfast was Chinese-style, which is OK by me but might not appeal to all westerners. So it was OK, just, but overpriced when compared to the other hotel I stayed in in Shanghai (the Nanjing).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheEchidna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2010

My sister,10yr old son and myself stayed here for 4 nights.It was ok,but nothing special.Spare bed was as hard as a table literally,we had to pile a duvet and blankts on it so my son could sleep.No fridge in room.Location wasn't great,but was walking distance to Manjing road or to the market which was the other way but when we came back to Shanghai after a visit to Beijing we changed hotels and liked it a lot more.Internet in lobby,breakfast was pretty awful,air con was good.OK but wouldn't stay there again

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wattleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Chun Shen Jiang Hotel
Chun Shen Jiang Hotel
#188 of 4,998 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
People’s Square
24K International Hotel Shanghai Nanjing East Road Pedestrian
24K International Hotel Shanghai...
#2,438 of 4,998 in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
The Bund
Shijia Hotel
Shijia Hotel
#2,524 of 4,998 in Shanghai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
7 Days Inn Shanghai Nanjing Road Pedestrian 2nd
7 Days Inn Shanghai Nanjing Road...
#1,015 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Shanghai Fish Inn Bund
#79 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
The Bund
Jinjiang Inn Shanghai Waitan Binjiang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Holiday Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Holiday Inn

Property: Lakeside Holiday Inn
Address: No.445 South Suzhou Road, Shanghai 200001, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,856 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lakeside Holiday Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanghai Lakeside Holiday Inn is a modern business hotel, newly opened in March 2006. The hotel is located beside the South Bank of Suzhou River, within 5 minutes' walking distance to the famous Bund, and the nearest subway station line2 is also within five minutes' walking. It is a quiet place in the down center. Staying in this hotel, you can enjoy the Suzhou River view just out of your window,enjoy the easy reach to most attractions around the city. It owns a lot of 70 kinds of rooms, including 22 lake viewer rooms and 5 Luxurious suites and all equipped with computer, broadband internet access, Domestic call and satellite television. The restaurant on the lobby level provide simple breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lakeside Holiday Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Holiday Hotel Shanghai
Holiday Inn Shanghai
Shanghai Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing