We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location. Friendly staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Casa Serena Spa & Hotel
Ranked #1,502 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Vladivostok, Russia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great location. Friendly staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Like such type of hotels. Not overcrowded, nice location. Convenient to reach both Pudong and Puxi by taxi. Just 1 block from Xintiandi and not far from Taikanglu. Service is good and very friendly. Have spa and good Spain cafe near by. Next time stay here for shure once more!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dmitry_Smirnov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    11
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
2
6
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
manila
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

It seems that this hotel (formerly Lapis Casa Hotel) is now run by new management. After reading several reviews, we booked the hotel based on its proximity to Xintiandi and the French Concession. The hotel has great potential to become a boutique hotel since it only has 18 rooms. However, we found that the upkeep of the hotel as well as the service was not up to par. We didn't expect luxury, but we at least expected friendly service and a warm atmosphere. The rooms were very dark and lacked proper lighting, the sheets were not fluffy and soft but were made of rough material, the bathrooms were moldy, there were exposed cables under the television, the amenities were in cardboard boxes, breakfast was very poor which included half a slice of sandwich and 1 piece of bacon or ham, and there was a foul smell in the room. Also, the lady at the front desk was not very friendly and seemed to raise her voice at us at times when we asked for directions. Service was really lacking and I hope management can improve on the service of their front desk. It's a pity because the hotel has great potential.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chefmo1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert C, Front Office Manager at Casa Serena Spa & Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear guests:
Thank you can stay in CASA SERENA hotel, in the face of the problem you proposed, has made great improvement, we strengthen the training, such as services to enhance the staff's service consciousness, and at the same time improve the quality of the service, the decoration of the room lights we also do the appropriate adjustment,we are looking forward to your visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

We stayed here for 2 days as we were here for a friend's wedding. Superb location - you can't really beat that for the cost which amounted to about USD 190 for 2 nights. However I found the rooms very very dark. So for ladies out there who needs to dress up/do makeup for a special event while in SH, the poor lighting would give you some problems. I would probably check out similar boutique hotels in the area next time I am in SH.

Room Tip: not sure if you can request for a brighter room?
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank auroracoralsHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert C, General Manager at Casa Serena Spa & Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your advice, about the room looks a bit dark apologized the inconvenience, we are positive to solve this problem, recently, together with the engineering department to adjust the brightness of the light, will be installed in the room can control the brightness of the switch, and sincerely hope you can stay in our hotel again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2010

Not that this room is haunted or anything...it's right above the hotel's kitchen. I was hearing workers cleaning their pots and pans from dinner at 12 midnight, lots of banging and chopping....they started preparing breakfast at 3am and cooking at 4am. I tried to call up the front desk but no answer. Abit tiring in the next morning when I had to fly to another city. When I complained to the front desk, the answer I got was that, "so sorry, we will check the air-cnditioning in your room" !

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank min32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert C, Front Office Manager at Casa Serena Spa & Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
First of all thank you very much for your comments on our proposed, is next to the sound of a Taiwanese restaurant kitchen washing the dishes, our management has been negotiating with the restaurant's management, try to reduce the noise in the evening, now has been largely put an end to this phenomenon, to apologize for any inconvenience caused for your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2010

at around $150 per night, in one of best areas in Shanghai, walk to everywhere this hotel is to be highly recommended. In typical Chinese style breakfast is a big disappointment but rooms are clean and staff are very freindly, managed by Angela who is always helpful and speaks great English. rooms are very different so if your not happy ask to see another.
Also its very quiet, unusual in Shanghai. free internet 24 hours also!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert C, General Manager at Casa Serena Spa & Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest

This is the warmly greeting from the Casa Serena Spa&Hotel Shanghai,.

I'm very glad to you can give such a high evaluation,We are looking forward to your visit again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taiwan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2010

We booked a suite room in Lapis Casa in June. I was a little bit disappointed when I arrived and found that it was under some minor construction. The rate was 260USD per night for a suite room so I was expecting a better room and service. However, the room was plain and dark. The television in the room was not functioning normally (there were lines on the screen). I requested train ticket service but the tickets they got for me are not the departure time and arrival time I requested, and therefore I could not have breakfast in the morning in order to catch the train. If the price is lower I might think that it is a cute little hotel. (I have got way better experiences in other hotels at this price range or even below this price range.) But with its high price and relatively poor service, I am disappointed with this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank breeze1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2010

The hotel is extremely well located. The staff is very helpful but very few understand English!
For a holiday it is not appropriate. But if you are a business traveler it is worth a try.
The breakfast is very typical Chinese and the staff does not understand your needs at all. There is a Fish restaurant on Premises and the strong smell is very dissuading.
Rooms are comfortable but higher floors are better. There are no other amenities.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita2054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Former French Concession
Pudi Boutique Hotel
Pudi Boutique Hotel
#177 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
People’s Square
Ascott Huai Hai Road Shanghai
Ascott Huai Hai Road Shanghai
#132 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Xintiandi
Andaz Xintiandi Shanghai
Andaz Xintiandi Shanghai
#25 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jing'an
Pei Mansion Hotel
Pei Mansion Hotel
#1,357 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Xintiandi
The Langham Shanghai Xintiandi
Former French Concession
Hengshan Moller Villa Hotel
Hengshan Moller Villa Hotel
#154 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Serena Spa & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Serena Spa & Hotel

Property: Casa Serena Spa & Hotel
Address: No.68 Taicang Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Xintiandi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#120 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Serena Spa & Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Serena Spa & Hotel is hidden in an old alleyway next to stylish Xin Tian Di and in the centre of CBD. As you enter the courtyard, you could heard the sound of water, Moorish design arch doors and glass windows, a Spanish restaurant nestled inside an Shanghai Skikumen environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Serena Spa & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lapis Casa Boutique Shanghai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing