We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do yourself a favour and stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
Ranked #46 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Do yourself a favour and stay here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

We went to shanghai very nervous about the area this hotel was in and also concerned with how we would get by not speaking any mandarin but the hotel has such a fantastic location and staff go out of their way to try and help! The hotel itself is beautiful and very christmassy at this time of year and the rooftop bar had amazing views of the bund, better than we saw when we actually went down there and we were able to stay warm! Yuyuan garden was so close, we wandered down frequently and while we were always vigilant we always felt safe!
Room service was always tasty and the buffet brekky is well worth it.
I would stay here in a heart beat! One of the best overall hotels I've stayed in recently. The staff really helped us fall in love with shanghai.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebbecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    595
    492
    135
    28
    14
See reviews for
202
307
97
393
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
103 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

Too often one encounters hotels that are 'over-rated' (a three star hotel that is promoted as a four star). In this instance, Marriott lists this hotel as a three-star, but it deserves better. We stayed here five times in since mid-November and we were never disappointed. Johnny Du, Director of Rooms, made sure that we were comfortable and goes out of his way to help guests. The same observation applies to Morgan, the concierge located one the first floor near the door. He is also extremely helpful. Both deserve an award for great service from Marriott. For example, when Mr. Du learned that we would go to Hangzhou for a couple of days and stay at the JW Marriott there (another nice property), Johnny telephoned them and asked them to take good care of us. I call that service!!! The rooms are clean, the executive lounge is nice and the hotel is convenient to the Bund and almost inside Yu Garden. There is a subway station located across the street. If you need to use an elevator to gain access to the subway (traveling with luggage, etc), ask Morgan or another on the first floor to show you how to find it. The subway is a major convenience as it is a direct shot to the Hongqiao Airport and Train Station (no changing subways required). Please note that I said Hongqiao Airport (which handles primarily domestic travel--this is NOT the same as the huge Pudong airport). So, we stayed here twice on business and three times for vacation (using our Marriott points). In ALL cases we were very happy with the hotel.

Room Tip: Views of Yu Garden are Nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fayaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

We stayed on business and this is a neat and tidy hotel. The staff are really helpful, friendly and will give assistance for you with transport and directions. Whilst I didnt get the time to do any tourist activities it is in a food position for tourists. The rooms are comfortable and modern but very small. If you have a modern suitcase that opens in half, there is no place to put it except on the floor which you trip over because of the small room. There is a buffet breakfast which is a mixture of Asian and western food. This is a very good hotel for business and I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room - we were supposed to have been upgraded so I would hate to think how big the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rocket64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

We spent two nights at the hotel after 3 weeks of travel throughout India & Nepal. We couldnt wait to get to our room and close out the noise, chaos and travel warry. The room was very comfortable overlooking the lights of Yu Yuan Gardens. The STAFF were fantastic. They anticipated needs instead of waiting for you to ask. The front desk answered questions thoroughly, the dining was excellent and the best was the extra mile of allowing us to keep our room late for our late night departure from Shanghai. This was an excellent example of extra mile service and thoughtfulness in hotel staff. THANK YOU for our comfortable stay!

Room Tip: We had a corner room, windows on two sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kwdestinations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for three days in July. We had a corner suite on a high floor that overlooked the Bund and the gardens. My review is therefore limited to comments about the suite. I have no knowledge of any other rooms in this hotel. The room was very spacious. The suite is divided in two by the unit holding the large flat screen television. On one side is a good working desk, a sofa and an armchair. On the other side; the bed. The bathroom was clean and well equipped and the room had a walk in wardrobe. As part of the price of the suite guests are able to access the hotel club lounge. This is located over two levels, one with floor to ceiling windows and one upstairs where there are quiet palces to sit realx, chat and watch televsion if you like. Apart from providing excellent service, the club lounge is a great place to sit at night and watch the tourist boats on the river. The lounge provides breakfast, afternoon tea and an evening canapés and wine service. The hotel was well situated for our purposes being close to both the Bund and the gardens. We walked to the museum from here - bit long in blistering heat, but it can be done. We had lunch in one of the hotel's informal dining rooms and found no faults with the service or the menu – apart from the local beer being almost as much as the lunch itself. Overall the hotel provided us with excellent service, the room was great, the lounge service was great and we would certainly consider returning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluebiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

Stayed in this hotel last week for 3 nights. MRT #10 Yuyuan station is right opposite to the Hotel entrance, very convenient to travel to every corner of Shanghai. Yuyuan is just about 3 minutes walk from hotel.
My room is of reasonable size and clean/quiet.
The downside is the service quality of the front desk staff. While I checked in and asked for a twin bed room which I requested. The porkerface gentleman told me that the hotel didnot have my request in their record and could only arrange a double bed room for us. When I said maybe it was me who made the mistake and strangely the gentleam responded: "Maybe".
Still have no hestitation to recommend this hotel to tourists.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vwong4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
455 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

As a frequent traveler, and Marriott Gold member, I have been to many hotels. This hotel is wonderful!

The moment we arrived, the staff couldn't take our suitcases in quick enough, offered us hot tea, and made us feel at home!

The views were very nice. The rooms are well appointed, functional, and modern.

The staff are truly top notch, and want to ensure a remarkable and unique experience.

The breakfast offers a nice buffet with a variety of options.

The location is next to the YuYuan Garden, accessible to many local attractions on the Pu Shi side of the Bund (not the new financial district side). It is very close to the famous pedestrian mall- Nanjing Road. We walked there from the hotel.

The concierge was very helpful, and gave us some information on touring the area.

The hotel is in a very good location, offers a very good value, great staff, and nice rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a Bund view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark42139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
The Bund
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel

Property: Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
Address: No.159 Henan South Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200010, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#23 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#36 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#46 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#71 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel A Marriott Luxury & Lifestyle Hotel located downtown near the famous Yu Garden and Old Town, the new Renaissance Shanghai Yuyuan Hotel is just minutes away from the Bund, Xintiandi and other tourist attractions. Whether staying for business or leisure, you'll be right at home at the Renaissance Shanghai Yuyuan Hotel. Our accommodations feature contemporary guest rooms and suites with luxurious bedding, high-speed Internet, safe, mini-bar and refrigerator. Top-notch facilities include a business centre, four event rooms and banquet halls, and a 17th-floor Club Lounge with expansive views of the city skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Marriott, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Shanghai
Shanghai Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing