We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
Ranked #39 of 5,206 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at this Renaissance hotel. It's very well located in the Yu Garden area. The service was impeccable and the public rooms are very luxuriously appointed. We were greeted by our names and a recognition of our Elite status. We also had access to the Lounge with its magnificent view of the city. The food and drink provided in the Lounge had both Chinese and Western choices with excellent service. The rooms were very comfortable and quiet. Everything was luxurious and top notch at this hotel. I would recommend it to anyone and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CruiserHoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,584)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

792 - 798 of 1,584 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

We had newly acquired Gold Elite status which got us a room upgrade and free WiFi. The hotel was lovely and the service was fantastic. The lobby/bar area has an amazing view of the city - with a very prominent view of the World Financial Center right in the middle. The breakfast was very good with a large variety of both Chinese and Western foods. The close proximity to Yu Garden was convenient for us as it was one of the places we wanted to visit.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tigtraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

As a frequent traveller to China, it is fair to say that most hotels i have stayed at have lacked a service driven mentality. This hotel, and in particular the Guest Services Manager(?) Stephan were absolutely on the ball always! Most of my needs were pre-empted and the attention given in the lobby and dining rooms was attentive without being intrusive. Will make this my regular hotel from here on in.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I had the opportunity to stay at the Renaissance Yu Garden Hotel and am extremely glad that I choose this hotel. It was easy to find. I checked the maps and saw that line 10 stopped outside the hotel but instead got off at people's Square and walked to the hotel. It was a nice day and the walk from People's Square is only about 10 or 15 minutes. I like to walk in Shanghai so it was a natural choice.

The hotel is not hard to miss from a few blocks away as it is a 22 story building with an R on the top.

At check in I was helped by a very friendly girl named Eileen ( or Ellen) and she was super efficient and smiled the whole time. Check in ( and check out) was quick and hassle free.

The hotel staff at the front door always greeted me upon entering or leaving the hotel. And of course with a smile.

The room was on the 9th floor and had a great view of The Bund and surrounding areas. As expected the room was immaculate and very clean. King sized bed with 6 pillows. The room also had a work station for a computer, fridge, nice tv, central air conditioned, and a nice assortment of lighting options. it seems so many rooms in China have poor lighting but not this one.

The bathroom had a separate tub and show and was stocked with towels and enough toiletries. Hair dryer and a small power voltage transformer were in one of the drawers.

I swam in the pool on the top floor and used the hot tub. Both were very clean and had the correct mixture of chlorine. There is an exercise room next to the pool. Of course the attendant at the pool was very friendly and towels were provided for pool guests. Nice towels too! Not crappy towels.

Overall this Marriott hotel exceeded my expectations and I am happy that I stayed there. On my next trip to Shanghai I will definitely choose this hotel. The location is great - close to the Yu garden attraction and close enough to Nanjing Road and People's Square where you can walk to either in a short time.

Thank you to the nice staff at the Renaissance Yu Garden Hotel!

By the way, because of my schedule I didn't get to eat at the hotel so I can't comment about it.

Room Tip: High floors have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MonteBurns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The Good
- Location is near Yu Garden and Old Town. A short, cheap taxi ride from anyplace. The metro is right outside the door.
- Lots of shopping and restaurants nearby.
- Great views from the hotel's upper floors. You can see the Bund, the river and more.
- The rooms are large and spacious although we got upgraded to the Club Level so I cannot comment on the average rooms.
- The breakfast buffet and even the breakfast served in the lounge are really nice with plenty of choice of Western and Asian foods including cooked to order.
- The Lounge served cooked to order eggs in the morning and cooked to order pasta, noodles or spring rolls in the evening. No need for dinner after the free happy hour (all drinks and food are free). They serve afternoon snacks as well.
- The staff are all friendly.

The Average
- Service in general was just so-so and not good. Many times there was no door-man to get a taxi for you.

The Bad
- The wireless Internet was horrible. I know that the China Internet is monitored and filtered but this hotel takes real patience. The computers in the lounge are OK but the Internet in the room and wireless thoughout was painful. My advice is not to pay for Internet here, find yourself a coffee shop nearby.
- The lounge staff, although friendly were hopeless at recommendations or giving directions. They all need to be trained or get more experience outside of the hotel. My gut feel is that they are junior staff which is not a good idea.
- When asking directions or help booking events at the front desk, they always directed you to the shows they wanted you to see and not those recommended by TA. I suspect they get commission on what they recommend. It made it quite difficult to get directions and tickets to what was recommended on TA.
- Even though we were on the 17th floor, we could hear the constant honking of car horns on the street below. It is relentless so take the highest floor or a room at the back of the hotel, if possible, to avoid the noise.

Room Tip: Take a room on a very high floor or the back of the hotel away from the street to avoid the constant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hkloban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Great location, attentive staff, english was never a problem at this hotel. Elegant and modern decor. Right next to the Yu Garden and shopping area....close to the metro but cabs are so cheap, it's almost easier to do the cab. (Did the City Sightseeing Bus tour one day....worked out to $5 USD per person....great way to see the city, get on and off at different sights all for one price.) If you get desparate for home food, there's a McDonald's not too far from the hotel. =)

I'm a gold member with Marriott so we had access to the concierge room....spectacular views of the Bund, Pearl TV Tower....just amazing!! Pictures actually turned out nicely from the windows. Delicous food every night and drinks, the staff was amazing. The nice concierge lady was the one the researched the city sightseeing bus for us, pulled up the route, and found us the closest place to get on the bus. super sweet and friendly, great english.

Do not miss the Urban Planning Building. I was not keen on going but now seeing it, it's amazing and I'm glad i did not miss. Check out the movie on one of the upper floors. it was like being at Epcot.

Fabulous pool and gym!

Room Tip: top floor to get a good look at the city and Yu garden next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelprosc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at the Yu Garden Renaissance several times. The location is ideal, especially if you want to explore and shop the area of Yu Garden, or take a walk on the Bund.
The subway stop is one block away, with a direct line all the way to the airport.
The hotel is elegant, with spacious and comfortable rooms.

Room Tip: Excellent views from the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grandpa284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Old Town
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#36 of 5,206 in Shanghai
2,830 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
The Bund
The Westin Bund Center Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel

Address: No.159 Henan South Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200010, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#23 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#36 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#39 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#67 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range: $111 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel A Marriott Luxury & Lifestyle Hotel located downtown near the famous Yu Garden and Old Town, the new Renaissance Shanghai Yuyuan Hotel is just minutes away from the Bund, Xintiandi and other tourist attractions. Whether staying for business or leisure, you'll be right at home at the Renaissance Shanghai Yuyuan Hotel. Our accommodations feature contemporary guest rooms and suites with luxurious bedding, high-speed Internet, safe, mini-bar and refrigerator. Top-notch facilities include a business centre, four event rooms and banquet halls, and a 17th-floor Club Lounge with expansive views of the city skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Shanghai
Shanghai Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing