We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with stink bathroom”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Ranked #45 of 5,159 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Stay four nights at this hotel. This is the best hotel that I have ever stayed during my past several trips to Shanghai. The hotel is in great location and close to all major attractions. Lots of good restaurants nearby. Subway is couple block away. Great breakfast. Friendly services and all staff speak very fluent English.. Comfortable room with hugh bath. This hotel has an unique feature, which is quest hotline. If you need lotion, soap, etc., all you need to do is to dial customer hotline and the things you need will deliver into your room in few minutes. This is a well managed hotel.

The only drawback is the stinky bathroom, I called the front desk, and housekeeping put a deodorizer and sprayed the air freshener but the sewage smell came back the next day.
Not sure if all rooms like this. If you got a room with no smell then it will be a great deal.

Room Tip: Check if your bath room smells. According housekeeping that room at higher floor does not have this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank davidh285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niels T, Guest Relations Manager at SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear Davidh285,

Welcome to our SSAW Hotel Shanghai TripAdvisor page.
Thank you very much for taking your valued time to give us your honest feedback.

We do strive to offer all our guests an unique experience in Shanghai.
I am thus glad to read you enjoyed our hotel' location and liked our 'Question Hotline' if any further assistance is required during your stay.
During our next meeting I will surely forward your comment regarding the drawback you mentioned in your review. I do hope this did not affect your stay in this beautiful and interesting city.

We appreciate your comment and do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,
Niels Taal
ssawsh@outlook.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,233)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

597 - 603 of 1,233 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in Novembre 2013. The hotel is good, breakfast (not included I think) is really nice with a lot of choice. We didn't try the restaurant, room are quite big, clean and shower is nice.
Few minutes from Subway and Yu Garden !

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Constance B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niels T, Guest Relations Manager at SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear Constance B,

Greetings from SSAW Hotel Shanghai.
I do hope you had a pleasant flight back to Malaysia after a memorable trip.

In addition, I would like to thank you for your comment on our TripAdvisor page.
Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you wish to stay at our hotel again in the near future. If you have time, you can always try our Four Seasons restaurant on the 4th floor with spectacular views of the city.

Warmest regards,
Niels Taal
ssawsh@outlook.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Convenient location (5 minute walk from Line 10 YuYuan Gardens Station), beautiful decor (Thai style), wonderful amenities and lovely rooms. English is spoken at the front desk, but ask for Neils because he is from Holland and speaks perfect English and treats everyone like a VIP. (PS: The Chinese desk clerks sometimes don't understand what you are asking for...) Anyway, I stayed here twice in a two-week period as I had to go to Bangkok and then return. This hotel couldn't be better, and you are getting a 4* hotel for a very reasonable internet price. Do book ahead at least 3 weeks or more to get the best room rate. Otherwise you will get into the 125 to 300 USD per night. I paid $79 a night. Of course you can stay at places really cheap in Shanghai ($40 or less) BUT remember, you get what you pay for! Free minibar (no liquor, but sodas and cookies), free espresso machine and free bottled water in your room. If you want breakfast included you'll pay a higher room rate ($20 USD or more) and I felt it wasn't worth it for me and that's a US restaurant price. You can eat breakfast a LOT cheaper anywhere in Shanghai. (I like tea eggs at the local convenience store down the block for ¥ 1 (16 cents) and a bottle of OJ for about $1.20)
But I digress! I love the rooftop patio garden bar & lounge on the 4th floor of the Ssaw as it affords a beautiful view of the skyline and is very relaxing with sofa seating as well as high-tops and tables for dining if you want more than a cocktail. Although the cocktail menu is VERY limited, you can still get a couple of classic old cocktails at a decent price.
If I return to Shanghai in the future, I will always choose the Ssaw!)

Room Tip: Ask for Non-Smoking, because on my 2nd stay, they mistakenly put me in a lower room with ashtrays an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sofawny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niels T, Guest Relations Manager at SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Dear guest,

I am glad to read your comment on our Tripadvisor page.
Feedback is always very important to us in order to improve our product and services.
We can, for example, prevent the mistake to put our guest on a smoking floor instead of the requested non-smoking floor. Besides this mistake on our side, I understand that you had a enjoyable stay with us.

Thank you very much for your time and efforts to write down your personal experience.
We hope to welcome you back to SSAW Hotel Shanghai again soon.

Best regards,
Niels Taal
nielstaal@live.nl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Book 3 rooms for 3 days for pre-wedding photo session

Pros :
1. 99% clean bedroom + bathroom + hotel + lobby + etc
2. Great Location
3. Big room size (Room 2015 , room 2012 looks little smaller though)
4. Great ambiance
5. Free coffee & tea at lobby :D
6. Free wi-fi, even though we are too busy to use that
7. Comfortable bed
8. Good price
9. Nice staff, even the room service lady is nice, even though i think she do not speak english, but she always greet us when meet

Cons :
1. I do not understand, how to request not to clean my room ?
- already put do not disturb sign, still cleaned
- request at receptionist, still cleaned
- out of option >.<
2. My packaging cartoon box for dresses was clean up, but the room service return that back by request
3. The corridor in front my room quite dark maybe you can put some lights. (room 2015)

In conclusion,
I will recommend this hotels to anyone who require a good place to rest
I will also recommend this hotels to anyone that take cleanness as no.1 category
Since i do not use public transportation i do not know about that

and
I do not recommend this hotel if you like a fancy hotel with good sight-seeing just right outside your room-window

Thanks

Room Tip: i got room 2015 / 215. Very quite room (no noisy) except someone take shower at room above. Bigger s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank climz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niels T, Guest Relations Manager at SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear valued guest,

Please allow me to thank you for such a detailed comment regarding your recent stay with us.
I do hope the photo session in Shanghai was successful.

When reading your review, I am glad to understand you enjoyed our hotel during your busy schedule. However, I will surely investigate why the housekeeping still cleaned your room after your requests to our staff. Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused.
I will also take your suggestion regarding the lighting in the corridor on board during our next meeting.

Please note that the view from your room depends on your reservation. Since our hotel is located in the middle of Shanghai, some rooms have spectacular views of the Pudong skyline or Yuyuan Garden. If you wish to stay at SSAW Hotel again, please do not hesitate to contact me directly in order to assist you with your booking.

Best regards,
Niels Taal
nielstaal@live.nl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This is definitely the perfect hotel in Shanghai for us! Although there were issues with our booking confirmation and transfer to the railway station on our last day, these things became very minor already as compared to our total SSAW experience. Everything else was superbly great. Albeit only badged with 3-4 stars, we can absolutely attest to its 5Star level standards.

Why choose SSAW?
-The hotel is centrally located. It is near YuYuan Gardens and next to a metro station (YuYuan). It's just 2-3minutes easy walk. The Bund is also within the reach (15-20mins walk)
-The rooms are fascinating. The interior design is exquisite without comprising functionality and comfort. Even the hallways are very clean and well designed.
-MiniBar is free unlike other hotels. They'll even replenish the food and drinks daily.
-Breakfast buffet is great! Selection is pretty good. Eating your food at the patio with a view of Shanghai shouldn't be missed.
-Staff can speak good English. Special thanks to the manager (Niels) for being so accommodating to our requests.

After a tiring day of touring around Shanghai, the thought of going back to the hotel is the cherry on top of the cake. For its price, you'll undoubtedly get what you pay for (or actually 'get more'). Clearly, this is one of the best hotels in Shanghai in its range and category.

*Suggestion to the management though is to have their own transportation (van/minibus/car) to complete the package.

Room Tip: SSAW room is great and looks like an executive suite already.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KPbolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niels T, Guest Relations Manager at SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for your kind and detailed comment on our Tripadvisor page.
I hope you had a pleasant trip in Shanghai and Beijing.

We are glad to read you enjoyed our beautiful designed rooms and location. As you kindly mentioned, our hotel is located near major attractions in Shanghai. It is understandable that, after a long day sightseeing, it is very important the rooms are comfortable and functional at the same time.

Additionally, I will forward your suggestion to the relevant departments within our hotel.
Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts with us.

Best regards,
Niels Taal
nielstaal@live.nl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Lobby is nice, Sorta give you the feeling of a boutique hotel. Staffs are friendly, Room is clean, no issues throughout the whole stay, When i checked in to the hotel the room i booked was occupied, so they upgraded my room into a better one without additional charge!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChinYau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niels T, Guest Relations Manager at SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear guest,

Greetings from the entire team of SSAW Hotel Shanghai.
Thank you for your comment on our Tripadvisor page.

It is a pleasure to read you enjoyed our boutique hotel and staff.
I am sure it was a pleasant surprise to be upgraded to better room upon arrival.
Please keep in mind that you are always free to contact me directly if any assistance is required.

Once again, thank you very much for your time and efforts and we do hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
Niels Taal
nielstaal@live.nl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We chose this hotel for a quick overnight rest before catching the plane the following morning. For the price we paid, we were overall very happy with the cleanliness of the room and the friendliness of the staff. Check in and out were hassle free and helping us get a cab in the early morning was done well and quick. A quick thing to note is that the front staff required us to pay a deposit of rmb 200 prior to checking in, so you may want to prepare this amount in advance. We also like the information about the cab charges to and fro airport or railway station that was put up for guests near to the check in counter, we find it very helpful. Location is great, it took approx 10-15 mins to get to pudong (IFC, Zheng da) at less than rmb 20 cab fare.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Reddotz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niels T, Guest Relations Manager at SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for your comment regarding your recent stay with us.
I do hope you had a pleasant flight back to Singapore.
When reading your review, I am proud to read you enjoyed our location and the friendliness of the staff during your one night stay. During our next meeting I will surely forward your kind words.

In addition, I retrieved your booking, made by one of our booking agencies partners where you already paid the full amount prior to arrival. As our SSAW Hotel policy, we kindly ask a RMB200 refundable deposit per night for any additional charges. If you will not use any of our facilities, we will cancel your deposit upon check-out. When paying the amount upon check-out (it depends on your booking agency) , another amount for deposit is required when you check-in.

Once again, thank you for your comment on our Tripadvisor page and we do hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
Niels Taal
nielstaal@live.nl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Old Town
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#7 of 5,159 in Shanghai
1,775 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
#65 of 5,159 in Shanghai
1,770 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund

Address: No.839 Renmin Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200010, China (Formerly Shanghai Narada Boutique Bund)
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 5,159 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: $92 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund is ideally located next to the Yu Garden and The Bund in the bustling Huangpu District. The nearest metro station ‘Yu Garden’, on line 10, is just a two-minute walk away, which gives you access to most major attractions in town. Our hotel is in close proximity to People’s Square, Xintiandi and Nanjing Road and all within 5-10 minutes walking distance. It is located 30 minutes drive from Hongqiao Airport and 45 minutes drive from Pudong International Airport. SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund offers 165 guest rooms, including 17 city view rooms, 12 suites and 14 Family rooms. All air-conditioned guest rooms come with free WIFI access, complimentary drinks in the mini-bar, complimentary coffee/tea facilities, an in-room safe and flat-screen cable TV. To ensure the sleep quality of our guests, all guest rooms are equipped with a black-out curtain and comfortable‘King Koil' mattresses. Comfy comfort awaits at our hotel lobby where guests can enjoy complimentary Italian coffee and tea in our hotel lobby and get free bottled water from our fridge. Chinese and English books are free to borrow from our library. In order to ensure guests enjoy their stay at our hotel, all in-house guests may enjoy complimentary mid-night snack between 10PM and midnight. If you reserve either our Executive City View room or Executive Suite room, you also enjoy a complimentary afternoon tea buffet from 1:30PM until 4:30PM. On warm days, guests can enjoy their breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea or dinner on our outdoor patio with stunning skyline views. Gym access is provided for in-house guests and massage services are available upon request. Guests may use our special laundry service (surcharge) or complimentary use our newly equipped laundry room for washing, drying and ironing. Children will have an enjoyable time in our children’s playground. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing