We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my 2nd visit and will return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Ranked #46 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“my 2nd visit and will return”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

this was my 2nd stay with the hotel. arrived late at 9pm and found that we got upgraded to a junior suite room at a price of cny 400 was a great feeling :) the room was beautifull and spacious and got its own coffee maker. breakfast was good and has outdoor area where you can enjoy breakfast. different thing was now they had a staff in the reception area who speaks fluent english. which was very helpful. the location was superb walking distance to yuyuan garden, metro line 10, and walkable to the bund and east nanjing road. also close to the food street area. taxi is also easy to find even at late night as 10pm when we need to go to airport. staff is very helpful in helping us called taxi. will surely return for my next visit as the price value is very good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niels T, Guest Relations Manager at SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for the time and efforts to write down your comment about your recent stay at SSAW Hotel. We are so pleased that not only did you elect to stay with us on your second trip to Shanghai but that you enjoyed it so much that we might have the pleasure of welcoming you back upon your return to this city.

Please feel free to contact me directly if you have any question or inquiry. I will be glad to assist you. Once again, thank you for your kind words and hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
Niels Taal
nielstaal@live.nl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    498
    96
    32
    9
See reviews for
146
455
83
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
132 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

My husband & I spent five comfortable nights at this hotel. Our room was lovely & spacious, with a good-sized, comfortable sitting area adjacent to the bedroom. There was a fine, roomy, spotless bathroom. An unexpected pleasure was the shower! It had a choice of water coming out a regular shower head or from a rain shower opening that was high up on the ceiling, a fun option. The large TV could be viewed only from the bed, which was fine with us, as we used the sitting area for reading & chatting. We watched news & an occasional movie on the English channels, & we enjoyed surfing through the Chinese language channels. Breakfasts in the hotel dining room were wonderful: there was a great variety of dishes every day, from cereal, milk, eggs & bread to steamer trays full of vegetables (my favorite: steamed pumpkin!) to rice to meats to sushi. For nice days, there was outdoor seating with cages of singing birds among the plants. The hotel was in a great location: it's a short walk to the subway, & a farther (still enjoyable) stroll to the market & the Bund. I asked the concierge about the hotel name: "SSAW" stands for "spring, summer, autumn, winter" -- a hotel to stay in at any time of the year!

Room Tip: We were given a room on the second floor, which surprised us, as we had requested a higher floor. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SECh694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niels T, Guest Relations Manager at SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear valued guest,

It was a pleasure to read your review of our boutique hotel in the heart of Shanghai.
Did you have a pleasant flight back to the US? We truly hope you enjoyed your time in China.

I am glad to know you liked the room we gave you on the second floor. We always do our best to assign rooms according to the guest' preferences. I will share your comment with the team to show we are 'on the right track'.

SSAW stands for the four seasons indeed. If you have any plan to return to our hotel to experience another season in Shanghai, you can contact me directly. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comment with us.

All the best,
Niels Taal
nielstaal@live.nl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed for a week at the beginning of June in an Executive City View room.
The hotel itself is very central, 2 min walk to the Metro and walking distance from the Bund (15 min).
We loved our room, which was really big, very clean and the TV had a good selection of English channels. The only disappointment was breakfast, which was very varied indeed, but had almost exclusively Chinese dishes.
Hotel staff is extremely welcoming and helped us out with everything we needed. Most of them speak good English. The restaurant serves good Chinese dishes and there is a nice terrace where you can relax after a long day of walking.
Definitely value for money, would stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the executive room with city view and loved it. Not very much of a view, but really spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miruna_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niels T, Guest Relations Manager at SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us here at SSAW Hotel Shanghai.
I am glad to read you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed our outside terrace on the 4th floor.
Your feedback about the selection of breakfast will be shared with the team to improve our services.

In case you have any further questions regarding your stay or would like to make a new reservation, please do not hesitate to contact me directly. I will be pleased to assist you.

Best regards,
Niels Taal
nielstaal@live.nl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

This was one of the best hotels we stayed in china. Hotel staff where great, the rooms huge, clean and spacious, and walking distance to the old quarter.
We booked the room with the round bathtub. It really is priceless to see shanghai skyline at night while relaxing.

Breakfast was good and breakfast area was really nice.

definitely, a great hotel.

Room Tip: If you can, pick a room with the round bathtub over viewing shanghai skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cvivasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nieuwegein, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Friendly staff, with two people speeking Dutch!
Nice, clean and comfy rooms. Loved the shower and the rooms looked very modern to me.
The mattress was soft and comfy, european style.

The mini bar was free and always supplemented when empty. We had a room with the view towards downtown Shanghai. Great to see Shanghai waking up in the morning. The breakfast isn't included but worth the money.

Location was perfect with a subway station at the and of the street, and YuYuan Gardens around the corner. Nothing else than good memories!

Room Tip: Ask for a city view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BolT2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niels T, Guest Relations Manager at SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Greetings from SSAW Hotel Shanghai.
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with all Tripadvisor users.

Your positive feedback will be shared to the team as part of our commitment to service excellence. I am delighted to read you liked our rooms and the beautiful sights of Shanghai. When waking up early, you will be able to see locals doing their 'tai chi' practices on the streets.

It depends on your reservation if your breakfast is included. If you have any questions about your recent booking, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

We look forward to see you in Shanghai in the future and thank you again.

Best regards,
Niels Taal
nielstaal@live.nl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

A Great hotel in a great city

Clean renovated hotel with spacious rooms and seating area , nice bathroom with tub and shower

Staff areat your disposal at all times and special thanks to the manager and his assistant
from Holland who have great way to welcome guests in the great chinese hospitality culture.

location of hotel is great middle of all the fun few metro stops from nanjing lu, xintiandi and
other top shanghai locations

Thank you ssaw you have shown the best of Shanghai

I give a strong 4 stars to this hotel and i strongly recommend if you care for yoru comfort
during your travel to Shanghai

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ahmadchehab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niels T, Guest Relations Manager at SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your kind words on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at SSAW Hotel Shanghai. I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay with us.

Indeed, our hotel is located in the middle of Shanghai close to many touristic attractions. In these months of the year the weather in Shanghai is hot and humid. We always suggest to use the subway to avoid the strong sunshine and traffic jams. In addition, I would like to thank you for the personal compliment. I will forward your comment to my Dutch colleague. Together as a team we are doing our best to make everyone's stay comfortable.

We are looking forward to welcome you back again. Said so, do not hesitate to contact me directly for any questions or reservations.

Best regards,
Niels Taal
nielstaal@live.nl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Nice hotel in a great location near the Bund area (shopping, food, attractions, subway). Great lobby presentation and some English speaking staff are available which is a big plus. Living areas of the rooms are rather small but clean with fluffy beds and bathrooms are large and very comfortable, which is a great choice in use of space. Housekeeping was wonderful and friendly. Clean & pretty comfortable for the price, but....... for a higher rated hotel our in room coffee machine was not performing (down to the lobby every day) and the A/C in the entire building was obviously limited (hallways and elevators very hot, rooms severely limited for Western standard) to an uncomfortable level which was disappointing considering the cost.

Room Tip: Stay away from the lower floors at street levels as this hotel is located on a major roadway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justhetw0fus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niels T, Guest Relations Manager at SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Greetings from SSAW Hotel Shanghai. Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our lobby, hotel location and some items of the rooms. I will surely forward your kind words to the housekeeping management about the service they offered you.

In addition, sometimes our guest have difficulties with the coffee machines in the room. I would like to know why your coffee machine was not working well. If you did not inform our staff about this, I kindly ask you to send me a private message with more detailed information so we can repair the coffee machine, if necessary.

Once again, thank you very much for your comment to improve our services. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
Niels Taal
nielstaal@live.nl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Old Town
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#47 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shanghai Railway Station
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
#61 of 4,998 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,635 reviews
People’s Square
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund

Property: SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Address: No.839 Renmin Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200010, China (Formerly Shanghai Narada Boutique Bund)
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 4,998 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Narada Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund is located in Shanghai, a 5-minute walk from Yu Garden. It features a 24-hour front desk and air-conditioned rooms with a flat-screen cable TV. Free internet is provided. Narada Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund is a 10-minute walk from the Bund and People's Square while it takes 15 minutes from Shanghai Railway station by car.Shanghai Pudong International Airport is 41 km away. Rooms at Narada Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund comes with modern interiors and a seating area by the large window. Each is equipped with a minibar with free drinks and private bathroom with shower facilities. With a 24-hour front desk, the hotel can arrange for car rental and airport shuttle services. Laundry and ironing services are also available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing