We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund
Ranked #45 of 5,203 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed for a week at the beginning of June in an Executive City View room.
The hotel itself is very central, 2 min walk to the Metro and walking distance from the Bund (15 min).
We loved our room, which was really big, very clean and the TV had a good selection of English channels. The only disappointment was breakfast, which was very varied indeed, but had almost exclusively Chinese dishes.
Hotel staff is extremely welcoming and helped us out with everything we needed. Most of them speak good English. The restaurant serves good Chinese dishes and there is a nice terrace where you can relax after a long day of walking.
Definitely value for money, would stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the executive room with city view and loved it. Not very much of a view, but really spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank miruna_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niels T, Guest Relations Manager at SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us here at SSAW Hotel Shanghai.
I am glad to read you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed our outside terrace on the 4th floor.
Your feedback about the selection of breakfast will be shared with the team to improve our services.

In case you have any further questions regarding your stay or would like to make a new reservation, please do not hesitate to contact me directly. I will be pleased to assist you.

Best regards,
Niels Taal
nielstaal@live.nl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,265)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

670 - 676 of 1,265 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

This was one of the best hotels we stayed in china. Hotel staff where great, the rooms huge, clean and spacious, and walking distance to the old quarter.
We booked the room with the round bathtub. It really is priceless to see shanghai skyline at night while relaxing.

Breakfast was good and breakfast area was really nice.

definitely, a great hotel.

Room Tip: If you can, pick a room with the round bathtub over viewing shanghai skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cvivasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Friendly staff, with two people speeking Dutch!
Nice, clean and comfy rooms. Loved the shower and the rooms looked very modern to me.
The mattress was soft and comfy, european style.

The mini bar was free and always supplemented when empty. We had a room with the view towards downtown Shanghai. Great to see Shanghai waking up in the morning. The breakfast isn't included but worth the money.

Location was perfect with a subway station at the and of the street, and YuYuan Gardens around the corner. Nothing else than good memories!

Room Tip: Ask for a city view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BolT2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niels T, Guest Relations Manager at SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear valued guest,

Greetings from SSAW Hotel Shanghai.
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with all Tripadvisor users.

Your positive feedback will be shared to the team as part of our commitment to service excellence. I am delighted to read you liked our rooms and the beautiful sights of Shanghai. When waking up early, you will be able to see locals doing their 'tai chi' practices on the streets.

It depends on your reservation if your breakfast is included. If you have any questions about your recent booking, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

We look forward to see you in Shanghai in the future and thank you again.

Best regards,
Niels Taal
nielstaal@live.nl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

A Great hotel in a great city

Clean renovated hotel with spacious rooms and seating area , nice bathroom with tub and shower

Staff areat your disposal at all times and special thanks to the manager and his assistant
from Holland who have great way to welcome guests in the great chinese hospitality culture.

location of hotel is great middle of all the fun few metro stops from nanjing lu, xintiandi and
other top shanghai locations

Thank you ssaw you have shown the best of Shanghai

I give a strong 4 stars to this hotel and i strongly recommend if you care for yoru comfort
during your travel to Shanghai

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ahmadchehab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niels T, Guest Relations Manager at SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your kind words on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at SSAW Hotel Shanghai. I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay with us.

Indeed, our hotel is located in the middle of Shanghai close to many touristic attractions. In these months of the year the weather in Shanghai is hot and humid. We always suggest to use the subway to avoid the strong sunshine and traffic jams. In addition, I would like to thank you for the personal compliment. I will forward your comment to my Dutch colleague. Together as a team we are doing our best to make everyone's stay comfortable.

We are looking forward to welcome you back again. Said so, do not hesitate to contact me directly for any questions or reservations.

Best regards,
Niels Taal
nielstaal@live.nl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Nice hotel in a great location near the Bund area (shopping, food, attractions, subway). Great lobby presentation and some English speaking staff are available which is a big plus. Living areas of the rooms are rather small but clean with fluffy beds and bathrooms are large and very comfortable, which is a great choice in use of space. Housekeeping was wonderful and friendly. Clean & pretty comfortable for the price, but....... for a higher rated hotel our in room coffee machine was not performing (down to the lobby every day) and the A/C in the entire building was obviously limited (hallways and elevators very hot, rooms severely limited for Western standard) to an uncomfortable level which was disappointing considering the cost.

Room Tip: Stay away from the lower floors at street levels as this hotel is located on a major roadway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justhetw0fus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niels T, Guest Relations Manager at SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear valued guest,

Greetings from SSAW Hotel Shanghai. Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our lobby, hotel location and some items of the rooms. I will surely forward your kind words to the housekeeping management about the service they offered you.

In addition, sometimes our guest have difficulties with the coffee machines in the room. I would like to know why your coffee machine was not working well. If you did not inform our staff about this, I kindly ask you to send me a private message with more detailed information so we can repair the coffee machine, if necessary.

Once again, thank you very much for your comment to improve our services. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
Niels Taal
nielstaal@live.nl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. This hotel is very close to being excellent. The staff, location and room sizes cannot be faulted. The hotel could do with a bit of t.l.c. The staff were extremely helpful. They are good at recommending things to do etc and arranging taxis. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aberkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We have stayed twice at this hotel and have enjoyed both stays. The hotel is an excellent hotel. Modern with wonderful rooms. The suite we stayed in was excellent and had a view of the financial district. The guest relations manager was very helpful with all enquires and arrangements. Other staff were helpful and friendly. Our stays at the hotel have been wonderful experiences and we wouldn't hesitate to book this hotel again if we were to visit shanghai another time..

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paul_smith55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Old Town
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
Shanghai Railway Station
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#5 of 5,203 in Shanghai
2,000 reviews
People’s Square
Central Hotel Shanghai
Central Hotel Shanghai
#51 of 5,203 in Shanghai
879 reviews
People’s Square
Shanghai Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund

Address: No.839 Renmin Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200010, China (Formerly Shanghai Narada Boutique Bund)
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 5,203 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range: $86 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund is ideally located next to the Yu Garden and The Bund in the bustling Huangpu District. The nearest metro station ‘Yu Garden’, on line 10, is just a two-minute walk away, which gives you access to most major attractions in town. Our hotel is in close proximity to People’s Square, Xintiandi and Nanjing Road and all within 5-10 minutes walking distance. It is located 30 minutes drive from Hongqiao Airport and 45 minutes drive from Pudong International Airport. SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund offers 165 guest rooms, including 17 city view rooms, 12 suites and 14 Family rooms. All air-conditioned guest rooms come with free WIFI access, complimentary drinks in the mini-bar, complimentary coffee/tea facilities, an in-room safe and flat-screen cable TV. To ensure the sleep quality of our guests, all guest rooms are equipped with a black-out curtain and comfortable‘King Koil' mattresses. Comfy comfort awaits at our hotel lobby where guests can enjoy complimentary Italian coffee and tea in our hotel lobby and get free bottled water from our fridge. Chinese and English books are free to borrow from our library. In order to ensure guests enjoy their stay at our hotel, all in-house guests may enjoy complimentary mid-night snack between 10PM and midnight. If you reserve either our Executive City View room or Executive Suite room, you also enjoy a complimentary afternoon tea buffet from 1:30PM until 4:30PM. On warm days, guests can enjoy their breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea or dinner on our outdoor patio with stunning skyline views. Gym access is provided for in-house guests and massage services are available upon request. Guests may use our special laundry service (surcharge) or complimentary use our newly equipped laundry room for washing, drying and ironing. Children will have an enjoyable time in our children’s playground. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your SSAW Boutique Hotel Shanghai Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing